We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Ranked #38 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Napoleon, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Late Honeymoon”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We just got back from a 7 night stay at Secrets Capri. Over all we had a great time.This is for sure a resort for couples and not singles. The staff was very very nice and the breakfast buffet was very good. It was nice that we could order room service at no extra cost at any hour. The Japanese & Steak house were our favorite dinners. The drinks are not made with top shelf unless you ask, so we just had to ask every time we got a mixed drink. The entertainment staff was amazing, Jesus was by far the funniest and nicest person at the resort, he remembered our names after the first night and made it a point to come and talk to us every day! The quality of the food was so so, and not much to do but relax but we were ok with that for the first few days. We actually did not take the $20 cab to Playa De Carmen, we took the public transportation bus which only was about $1.50 each way per person! Forget the bad things you hear on tv about the city not being safe, we had 0 problems and was an eye opening experience on 5th ave. We were wanting some authentic mexican food, the resort does not have it...which is why we went down town & found it, but watch it because food on the main 5th ave is super pricy because they know tourists will pay it but if you go a couple streets away, by the wal-mart there was a great little 5 table quesidella shack thing that we got the most authentic food for 2 for a total of $7.00 us dollars! We will return to the area in the future for sure!

Room Tip: We stayed on the fifth floor tropical view which was the view of the front of the hotel, not bad but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,139
    2,175
    674
    267
    156
See reviews for
615
6,441
134
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,380)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntley, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have just returned from our second visit to Secrets Capri. Our first visit was good this was awesome. Rolando LPircinda is new and is really doing a great job. Miryam Osung and Oliver in Vip Services also. The hotel is beautiful and the staff is amazing. Anna (Cactus Club) is so nice and waiters Alexander, Alberto, Jamis and Fabian are great. Captains Marco, Augustin and Jose are so profesional. Anna made us fell so welcome and Rolandos attention to detail and special events was great. We have visited other hotels but this one by far is our favorite we will definitely go back. the chefs dinner was so good and the food at the hotel was excellent. Rooms are very nice just the right size. Book it !! you will not be sorry. Ken and I loved it and have recommend it to our family and friends.

Room Tip: they are all very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lynneken36156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCRE-Concierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing Secrets Capri for your return visit, I can see that you had a great time with us and for your information it only gets better each time you come.

We appreciate your comments and most of all for taking the time to review our property, can´t thank you enough for your support.

We invite you to come and visit us again, when you do make sure you contact us at info.secrc@secretsresorts.com.

Thank you again.

Jose Luis Alvarez Espino
E-Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mitchell, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel is perfect for the couple that likes adults only and a small intimate environment, The food was very tasty. The entertainment staff great. The pool was very nice. A lot of shade on the beach but the beach itself wasn't the best. The staff constantly cleaned the seaweed. The week we were there the water was cloudy but we did see a lot of fish.
All of the employees were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The rooms were kept clean and towels replaced twice a day. We did have an episode of the a/c leakin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sallymarquette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W.G
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is our 3rd yr in a row visiting our "Home away from Home " Our ocean view room was decorated for my b-day with Champagne and fresh fruit platter and to say the least we are more and more impressed by the graceful hosts, hostesses and friendly staff members. Sergio Abraham from the Rivera restaurant greeted us with a warm smile every morning and his service and his kind friendship was so appreciated and vauled. We miss him!! Food,(Portifino Italian Rest..YUM) Entertainment( Mexican Independence holiday)(Newlywed game-Hysterical!! also Fireshow-Wow!) Poolside service was Excellente!!! We have already planned our next trip back and ready to go thanks to (poolbar)Juan,Oscar, (poolside) Benjamin,Quarteyl,Alvin(entertainment)Carlos, Jesus and Carolyine,(conceirge),Maliena,and Rolando! We have nothing bad to say because each time we go it gets better and better. It's nice to see people actually enjoy their job in 90 degree weather,I don't know how they keep a smile while wearing heavy uniforms so as they say they say "It's Tequila Time"
We can't wait to go back

Room Tip: Always pick a ocean view room, you can watch the sunset every morning..no matter what location..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank niki j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnston, RI
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Great vacation destination for sure. Great all - inclusive resort. Bartender Aaron in Desires lounge was our favorite! Clean facilities, good food, flowing drinks and a very relaxing atmoshere!! Book it!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This was our first stay at a Secrets resort; however we have stayed at Dreams Vallarta, one of the sister resorts, twice before. The service and friendliness of the staff was great; overall the resort was very nice, food was good, etc. I say "buyer beware" for one reason: the location of our room. We reserved a preferred oceanfront jr. suite, which is one of the most expensive options. The room we got was on the north side of the resort (room 157); it was extremely disappointing. Yes, the ocean was right there outside our door, but there was hardly any actual beach area, there were no huts with chairs like on the other side, and unlike the rest of the beach, the seaweed on the beach was not cleaned up daily. On top of that, looking to the left from our patio was a view of the equipment rental storage area for the resort next door; it looked trashy. We would have been better off saving our money and going with an oceanview room. We arrived late, so spent the night in the room. The next morning we went to the front desk and nicely expressed our disappointment, and thankfully were able to move to the one available oceanfront jr. suite (room 116) on the south side; now that was the kind of oceanfront room we were expecting! I don't know when the arial view photo of the resort shown on the website was taken, but it does not accurately reflect the resort on the north side; on that pic you see plenty of beach and huts with chairs on both sides of the resort - that is not the case! Other than that, the resort was very nice. The staff works hard to keep the place, including the beach, clean, and they are very friendly.

Room Tip: Get oceanfront south side room or go with oceanview room to save some money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DHolland63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenshaw, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Our trip was awesome. We stayed at secrets Capri for 7 nights. The staff was excellent, rooms beautiful, nice beach, great entertainment. We will be back without a doubt. I have told many friends seeking a beautiful all inclusive that this is the place to go.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
6.0 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#53 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
650 reviews
2.0 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#59 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,393 reviews
17.1 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#44 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,407 reviews
18.9 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,596 reviews
15.5 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun

Property: Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Address: Carretera Federal 387, Chetumal | Cancun Km. 299, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#40 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, a proud unlimited luxury resort has received special recognition from the esteemed readers of Condé Nast Traveler Magazine in Mexico and AAA as a Four Diamond Award resort. Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun was awarded the Best for Romance and Best Luxury-World by the 2008 TripAdvisor Travelers' Choice Awards. Only TripAdvisor's hotel awards represent the opinions of millions of travelers. The winners were determined by a combination of the highest traveler ratings and the TripAdvisor Popularity Index, a measurement of overall traveler satisfaction. Situated five minutes from exciting Playa del Carmen and a short 35-minute drive south of Cancun International Airport, the world's second largest barrier reef lies just offshore, while underground rivers, caves and jungles lure adventure-lovers. Bordered by sugar-white beaches and the brilliant, crystal clear Caribbean Sea, this Preferred Club, Unlimited-Luxury, adults-only oasis truly embraces beauty and splendor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Mayan Riviera
Secrets Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Maya
Secrets Hotel
Secret Hotel
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun Hotel
Secrets Playa Del Carmen
Riviera Cancun
Hotel Secret
Capri Riviera Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing