We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service but Buyer Beware”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Ranked #38 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Service but Buyer Beware”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This was our first stay at a Secrets resort; however we have stayed at Dreams Vallarta, one of the sister resorts, twice before. The service and friendliness of the staff was great; overall the resort was very nice, food was good, etc. I say "buyer beware" for one reason: the location of our room. We reserved a preferred oceanfront jr. suite, which is one of the most expensive options. The room we got was on the north side of the resort (room 157); it was extremely disappointing. Yes, the ocean was right there outside our door, but there was hardly any actual beach area, there were no huts with chairs like on the other side, and unlike the rest of the beach, the seaweed on the beach was not cleaned up daily. On top of that, looking to the left from our patio was a view of the equipment rental storage area for the resort next door; it looked trashy. We would have been better off saving our money and going with an oceanview room. We arrived late, so spent the night in the room. The next morning we went to the front desk and nicely expressed our disappointment, and thankfully were able to move to the one available oceanfront jr. suite (room 116) on the south side; now that was the kind of oceanfront room we were expecting! I don't know when the arial view photo of the resort shown on the website was taken, but it does not accurately reflect the resort on the north side; on that pic you see plenty of beach and huts with chairs on both sides of the resort - that is not the case! Other than that, the resort was very nice. The staff works hard to keep the place, including the beach, clean, and they are very friendly.

Room Tip: Get oceanfront south side room or go with oceanview room to save some money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DHolland63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,139
    2,175
    674
    266
    156
See reviews for
615
6,441
133
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,379)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glenshaw, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Our trip was awesome. We stayed at secrets Capri for 7 nights. The staff was excellent, rooms beautiful, nice beach, great entertainment. We will be back without a doubt. I have told many friends seeking a beautiful all inclusive that this is the place to go.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

All I can say is that I have spent 5 weeks this year at Secrets Capri and will go back every chance I get. Everything was excellent. No complaints. They must keep their superb staff...Israel, Rita, Montsera, Oscar, Juan, Carlos,Ana, Felicida, everyone. They make us feel so welcome and make us what to come back. If you want to have the best vacation ever please go to Secrets Capri. You will not be sorry you did. Miquel makes sure everything is ready for you when you arrive just the way you like it,

Room Tip: best room 114.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubbabares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We arrived at the hotel and were greeted with champagne and chilled lemon clothes to refresh our hands and face. Every detail for the entire week excelled. We had a 14 course meal one evening, dinner on the beach one evening with our own butlers. All of the restaurants were delightful and the service was outstanding. One evening we entered our room to find a path of rose petals leading to large heart on the floor and another on our bed. We had wine, fruit and cheese delivered to us one evening unexpected. I have traveled to many places but have never had such personal service. We will return on our first anniversary if not before!!!

Room Tip: Request not to be over the dance lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frogey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This was the third time my wife and I went to the Secrets Capri .I thought things would seem odd going back for the third time ,but from the moment we got out of the shuttle from the airport it was like visiting a great friend .The first thing they do is greet you by your last name and being it was our third time thier firsts words were "Welcome Home Mr and Mrs C and it did feel like home.All of the staff does thier best to call you by your last name and by the second time we were there ,they had no problem knowing our names . All of your wants and needs will be fulfilled by any of the staff .There are mixed reviews about this resort ,and yes it does need some updating but ,service and friendly staff is one thing that cant be improved

Room Tip: Rooms on the side with the Cabanas are better as well as that is the quietier side of the Resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank william c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I have seen a lot resorts around the world during business trips as well as my vacations (Singapur, Hongkon, Maledives, Hawaii, Indonesia, Malaysia, etc.). I always stay in 5 star resorts. That is why I was a little bit sceptic before departure but after all I was impressed.
This resort is not as big as others are but still big enough. It is absolutely clean and all staff members are really friendly. Food, drinks, rooms and service are great!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank da s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Went here for 7 nights on our honeymoon in the second week of September.

The rooms are exactly as pictured and so is the pool. Beds are big and comfy and I wish I could have taken the bathroom home with me it was so nice. Food was pretty good overall - we tried everything except the hibatchi restaurant. Loved the steak house and the Italian place. Buffet was good for breakfast but I wouldn't recommend it for other nights unless its one of the outside poolside special nights.

Had to book last minute through air transat because of work commitments. Had a few hiccups because of this. We never had our honeymoon or my birthday recognized. Not a deal breaker but it would have been nice, especially because they were reminded three times by the booking agent, the onsite agent, and ourselves.

We also had tiny ants in our room that would come out and snack on our room service food. Wasn't a problem until we accidentally left a plate with one lone strawberry on the bed; I was devoured for the next three nights by ants. Tiny little random bites on my arms and legs.

Some tips for those who go there:
1) tip immediately in advance so you can get great service when you want drinks
2) sit closer to the manatee bar when pool side then you'll get faster and more frequent service
3) eat dinner right when the restaurant opens. Food is better prepared (not as rushed) and the waiters can attend to your needs more
4) participate in the entertainment options if you can. They're pretty good and if you don't, you may be ignored during your trip in favour of those who do. If you want to be left alone - then you also know how to do that too!
5) plan one day for a fun trip in advance. Xel-ha was amazing and worth spending the entire day there.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
6.0 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#53 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
650 reviews
2.0 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#59 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,393 reviews
17.1 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#44 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,405 reviews
18.9 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,594 reviews
7.7 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#33 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun

Property: Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Address: Carretera Federal 387, Chetumal | Cancun Km. 299, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#40 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, a proud unlimited luxury resort has received special recognition from the esteemed readers of Condé Nast Traveler Magazine in Mexico and AAA as a Four Diamond Award resort. Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun was awarded the Best for Romance and Best Luxury-World by the 2008 TripAdvisor Travelers' Choice Awards. Only TripAdvisor's hotel awards represent the opinions of millions of travelers. The winners were determined by a combination of the highest traveler ratings and the TripAdvisor Popularity Index, a measurement of overall traveler satisfaction. Situated five minutes from exciting Playa del Carmen and a short 35-minute drive south of Cancun International Airport, the world's second largest barrier reef lies just offshore, while underground rivers, caves and jungles lure adventure-lovers. Bordered by sugar-white beaches and the brilliant, crystal clear Caribbean Sea, this Preferred Club, Unlimited-Luxury, adults-only oasis truly embraces beauty and splendor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Mayan Riviera
Secrets Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Maya
Secrets Hotel
Secret Hotel
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun Hotel
Secrets Playa Del Carmen
Riviera Cancun
Hotel Secret
Capri Riviera Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing