We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we miss playa maya, the beach and the wonderful staff”
Review of Playa Maya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Playa Maya
Ranked #102 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“we miss playa maya, the beach and the wonderful staff”
Reviewed February 2, 2011

We are back home in Denver now, cold weather and all. My husband and I had a wonderful week-long vacation in Playa del Carmen at Playa Maya. I found the hotel on tripadvisor and read all the reviews. Our room was on the top floor, had amazing views and was very clean! I liked the bathrooms a lot - they had pretty tile, updated shower and granite sink and the sounds of the surf came thru the window. Our small refrigerator served our needs and the complimentary beer on the first day and water everyday was very thoughtful. We became attached to all of the staff. They're the best! Loved the big breakfasts on the beach and couldn't find a reason to leave for lunch. The lunches were awesome! We loved the chicken nachos and fish tacos (split between the two of us) and the pico de gallo was the best we've had. Drinks were large and cold. A real treat. The only downside is they don't serve dinner, so we had to walk a few blocks into town for that. :) We loved the location, price, cleanliness, service and will definitely come back. Next time we will bring our teenagers! Warning - it is really hard to leave Playa Maya...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lwspilates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    123
    25
    11
    12
See reviews for
109
305
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2011

Just returned from this nice little hotel in the middle of vibrant Playa Del Carmen. Wife and I were first timers to Mexico and chose Playa Maya as our home base for a week in late Jan.
Centrally located ON THE BEACH and one block off of bustling pedestrian fifth ave, this family atmosphere, cozy hotel has charm to spare. Value comes in bunches here. Booking with Steve exclusively through email was different but simple. He's never more than a few hours max to return any questions. Paying without actually talking to someone was a first for us. Clean, spacious rooms, beautiful ocean views, free wi-fi everywhere, and ample breakfast daily with your toes in the sand is all included. But it's the staff here that completes the perfect vacation equation. Nora, Mary, Othman, Pedro, Luis, and Fidel deserve particular mention for their warmth and helpful ways. Everyone wears a permanent smile and has a helpful response to your questions. We enjoyed fine massages with chiropractic adjustments on the beach here too. Two people, one hour was $50usd. We used their laundry service mid week also. Quick, clean, and really affordable (We're bringing half the luggage next time!). We took the ADO bus to/from the airport (4 blocks away) and used collectivo's (6 blocks away) to travel around the incredible local area safely and with ease. With so much to do around here, why would anyone ever want to stay stuck on an all inclusive resort??? The beach bar has perfect fishbowl margaritas and the food is freshly cooked and presented well. They don't offer dinner here but there must be 50 or more wonderfully different restaurants to experience within walking distance. What a fun town!
Look elsewhere for expensive luxury rooms, isolated seclusion, over the top hand and foot service from snooty staff members. This is not your place. But for us average "pooristas", it's paradise found!
Thanks Playa Maya! We'll be back again someday!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joeshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

Most of the pluses of this small hotel in Playa del Carmen have already been deservedly swooned over by previous reviewers; but, having just returned from a week's stay there, we just had to add our compliments to the others. For a laid-back time with toes in the sand at brekkie (included), your lounger & umbrella steps from the Caribbean and a myriad of restaurants on 5th Ave. this is definitely your best bet.

The friendly & helpful staff were marvelous. Plus, we have never stayed in a cleaner beach hotel. As for the food - great - from breakfast to the wonderful coconut shrimp and much, much more.

If you - like us - are not lucky enough to have a cousin to stay with in Playa del Carmen then this is the next best thing. Can't recommend either highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin-Christie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2011

I spent lots of time searching hotels around Playa Del Carmen area in Mexico, based on the good review, we finally chose this hotel. So my expectation is high. The hotel is good, there is nothing wrong. But it is also not a dream vacation as some reviewers said.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hxxallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2011

Wanted to take my wife and kids (9 & 6) to somewhere warm and with great beaches. Playa Del Carmen was great. What made the trip even better was staying at Playa Maya. What a fabulous small hotel on the beach! Incredible service. GREAT food. Clean rooms. Quiet evenings (good sleep). RIGHT ON THE BEACH. Pedro, Nora, and Maria in the front desk are awesome. Always willing to help you (they even helped me retrieve my lost phone in a taxi). The restaurant staff is outstanding as well. Luiciano, Sergio, Padro, Jesus, Carlos, etc were all excellent. Always having a smile on their face and providing excellent service. Breakfast is included in the room rate. This is not a toast and jelly breakfast - it is a eggs, bacon, pancakes, fresh fruit, etc type breakfast. Great tasting coffee too. My kids loved eating breakfast on the beach and when done going out and playing while my wife and I finished eating (we could always see them because you eat on the beach!). Pool is small but you do not use it due to the Ocean (which was warm by the way). I highly recommend Playa Maya. Booking with Stephen was easy. They help you when you arrive, clean rooms, and great food & location. Tip the workers well - they deserve it. By the Way - My wife and I always felt safe the entire week there. Note: Playa Maya is probably NOT the place for you if you are looking for some hard partying, etc. Probably need to hit Cancun for that. Enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Teddison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

Stephen, the hotel manager, is an absolute gentleman in the finest sense of the word. When emergency surgery forced our family to cancel our New Year's trip to Mexico, we knew that our hotel costs for the holiday week (over $2000) were non-refundable. Stephen was very understanding and immediately went to work trying to rent our rooms. He assured us that if the rooms could be rented at the last minute, he would refund the appropriate funds. He ran banners on their website offering the rooms at a discount and I got updates every few days. In the end, most of the rooms were rented and the hotel refunded virtually the entire amount to us. Unbelievable Customer Service! When I'm well enough to travel, we will definitely be heading to Playa Maya so that I can shake hands with these wonderful folks.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Donna8708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chciago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

We have been to The Playa Maya many times. This hotel for us is so comfortable that it is like our 2nd home! They exceed every expectation we have every time we are there. There is no better!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CiaoAmico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.0 mi away
Pelicano Inn
Pelicano Inn
#146 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colibri Beach
Hotel Colibri Beach
#120 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Hotel Mimi del Mar
#135 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Los Itzaes Hotel
Los Itzaes Hotel
#83 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
142 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#4 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#24 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Maya

Property: Playa Maya
Address: | Zona FMT entre calle 6 y 8 Norte, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#70 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Maya is right on the beach and centrally located, just 1 block from 5th Avenue, the heart of activity in Playa del Carmen. Our unusual off-street location and beach-only entrance make us a very tranquil base from which our guests can easily explore all the shopping & nightlife of Playa, along with the other wonders of the Riviera Maya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Playa Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playa Maya Del Carmen
Playa Maya Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing