We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (675)
Filter reviews
675 results
Traveler rating
495
131
26
11
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
495
131
26
11
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoconut shrimpdeluxe balcony roomeconomy suitebeachfront hotelcozumel ferrylove playaocean viewwho cleaned our roomeach morningmother naturecleaning stafftacosthird floorthe wait staffbeach areasandavenue
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 675 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2017 via mobile

We are currently staying at Playa Maya and happily have three more days to go. Great food and service, friendly staff. Room is large, bright and clean with a wonderful view of the beach and the sea. The beach itself is in good shape, weather fabulous and overall atmosphere is awesome. If you want all of the above at a very fair price you can’t beat Playa Maya!

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank tippboyLongIsland_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2017

This was the second time my wife and I stayed here. The location is perfectly located in the middle of everything in Playa. Having beach only access is a bit out of the ordinary but really one of my favorite things about this place. Everything is super clean and well maintained. The rooms are not glamorous put super clean, I think the pictures represent the rooms perfectly. The staff is amazing, the owner took the time to welcome us personally, the food is great and well priced. The hotel is small enough that the staff remembers your name and where you like to lay on the beach and what you drink. The hotels tag line is "Your beachfront home", that is really fitting because that is really the way they made us feel. No question we will be back again next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 203 which had a 2 person balcony with an ocean view, great sunrise.
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tvesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2017

We just returned from a fabulous vacation in Playa del Carmen! Adding to our time was staying for nine nights at this lovely hotel on the beach. We had a double balcony room which allowed easy access to magnificent views of the sea. Love!
The room was comfortable, giving us the essentials. Constant upkeep of the facility showed. Everything was clean and organized.
The layout of the hotel assures a bit of exercise up and down stairs. I personally loved it.The swimming pool is large enough to swim in. Lovely. The hot tub wasn't hot and I didn't try to use it.
Walking into the hotel through the beach was novel and fun, could be difficult for some, but it is known when you arrange to stay there. My sister, who has some mobility issues, was determined to make it work, and did!
The best thing about the Playa Maya was the staff. Everyone was wonderful! The front desk staff was friendly and helpful!
The wait staff was personable and on top of everything. We had a nice breakfast each morning. Very nice to have coffee waiting for you each morning! They also helped us with our Spanish...teaching us and clarifying our language questions.
The man who cleaned our room each day was so nice! We loved the towel animal formations he made each day. The room was kept very clean.
The other staff we came into contact with were all very pleasant.
When after a storm we didn't have hot water, we reported it and it was quickly remedied. Thank you all!

Room Tip: The rooms with balcony facing the sea are what we wanted and the view is gorgeous!
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank EileenRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2017

If you enjoy American style relaxation in another country this is the right place, but there are so many other local beaches, bars, and restaurants that captures the local customs and habitat that I suggest you try. Take a taxi ride or rent a car to visit south point and enjoy the waves on the east coast and quaint little eateries.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank normanf230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2017 via mobile

Not staying at this hotel just using the sun loungers, excellent service from one waiter in particular don't know his name but hats off to him.. Amazing views and good food and swift service. Don't mind paying for use of the loungers as we're not guests but at least it saves the sand going in the cracks haha

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews