We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place in paradise!”
Review of Playa Maya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Playa Maya
Ranked #98 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Bucks County, PA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Perfect place in paradise!”
Reviewed September 1, 2009

We completely and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this lovely property and hope to come back on our next trip to PDC. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Playa Maya to anyone. The room was perfect and we couldn't believe how beautiful the view was from our unexpectedly upgraded room, absolutely amazing!

Our vacation was everything we had hoped for and more. Playa Maya’s staff were friendly and accommodating, always handy when we needed something but never hovering or intrusive. The property itself is very charming, and one of the most well kept and cleanest hotels we've seen in a long time. The included breakfast was more than continental; I’d say it was a full breakfast with juice, coffee and choice of entrée. Food at the restaurant on the beach is terrific…coconut shrimp are a must try! After breakfast most mornings we simply walked the 10 short steps to the beach chairs and umbrella set up by the staff for us. The beach in front of the hotel is beautiful. I cannot honestly think of anything negative to comment on at except we thought it would be nice if the bar area were open in the late evening, as he would have enjoyed a quiet drink there once in a while rather than venturing up to Fifth Avenue.

As for activities, we did absolutely nothing on this trip...it was perfect! We've been to the area several times in the past and have done plenty of tours and such...this trip was for relaxation and I have to say it was a very successful trip thanks to Playa Maya! Our biggest excursion was a walk to El Fagon for tacos one day, very good by the way. We also tried Babe's Noodle Bar and, while the frozen drinks were very good, we did not enjoy the food at all. We had dinner one night at 100% Natural where the food was good but service a bit slow. I have a feeling our food was ready but not served promptly as it was not hot when it arrived. Mosquitos were plentiful in the garden area at 100% Natural especially since we went after dark and after there had been some rain. Certainly can't fault the restaurant for that, just mentioning because and we were sorry we hadn't brought insect repellent. Our favorite restaurant, as usual, is Carboncitos. We have always enjoyed the food there and the dining room has A/C..a definite plus in August!

This was definitely one of the most pleasant relaxing vacations we've enjoyed in a long time. I'm sure we'll be thinking of those days quite often when the cold winds are blowing and the snow starts falling!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BLH613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    123
    25
    11
    12
See reviews for
110
304
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, CO
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2009

I would recommend Playa Maya to anyone visiting Riviera Maya. I learned several years ago how much more interesting it is to stay in a small hotel in Playa del Carmen rather than a generic all inclusive resort but my kids (21, 19, 13) were not convinced. That is until we crossed the short distance of beach and entered Playa Maya. They loved it from that moment on. The hotel itself is clean and very nice. The staff are great and the beach is the place to be. The included breakfast selections are ample and all of the food is very good.The location relative to 5th avenue, the ferry area, 12th (where the bars are), etc can't be beat. The other amazing thing is that it is quiet! That is hard to accomplish that close to 5th Ave.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank shellseeker1319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2009

Once again we stayed at Playa Maya, our third time this year, and found the hotel and staff to be every bit what we are looking for when we come to Playa del Carmen. We love the fact that you have to walk in the sand to get to the hotel (they will help you with your bags), and once there, the staff is so accomodating and helpful and so much fun, too. Every room is different, and each has its pluses, depending on what you're looking for. Once we stayed on the third floor and enjoyed a great view of the ocean. The last time we stayed in a bungalow by the pool that has a kitchen. We never used the kitchen however, because the food at Playa Maya is so good for breakfast and lunch. Can't beat it for the price in terms of a small hotel on the beach.

Helpful?
4 Thank SandyNewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2009

We stayed in the economy suite the week of July 11-18. We have always done big resort style hotels and wanted something smaller. Hotel is very clean with hard working employees always giving great service. Food was good and reasonably priced. Breakfast is included which was a bonus - especially while being served with your feet in the sand. Main drag is one block away - albeit with aggressive vendors. Restaurants plentiful - but if you search a little further out - price is lower and drinks stronger. Only negative is the beds are ROCK HARD! Xel-ha was great - ADO bus service a breeze to use and collectivos on Calle 2 and Avenue 20 a great alternative to taxis. Our favorite was Akumal beach for the snorkeling and turtles. Would stay here again. Thanks Playa Maya.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ThreeStripesPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2009

This hotel is totally awsome for a small beachfront place and the rooms are so clean and reasonably. Aide and Pablo at the front desk are so helpful and nice. They can both speak english very well and can tell you where to go on day excursions. You get free breakfast and the cook is great. We checked out other hotels while we were there walking the beach but Playa Maya was the cleanest and best priced. The only thing I did not like was that the beds are hard but I did not wake up sore so all was good. At night you can walk to the bars that have fire shows and bands but when your done you just walk back to the peace and quiet.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chewbacca2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2009

I have to start off by agreeing with everyone else that the customer service was excellent. Steve went above and beyond in helping us book our last minute trip. The location is great - right on the beach and steps from 5th Avenue. However, it is definitely a no frills hotel and my biggest complaint was the bed was REALLY hard. New beds would do them wonders.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GatorKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicagoland, IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2009

Our stay at the Playa Maya (for our 20th anniversary) was our first in Playa Del Carmen and, before we left, we were already planning a return. The hotel was classy but definitely unpretentious. I appreciated that our room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. Playa Maya is located right on the beach and it's in easy walking distance of restaurants, shops, spas, and outfitters. All of the staff were friendly and personable. Many spoke English, but we all enjoyed conversing in our less-than-perfect Spanish. All at Playa Maya truly made efforts to make our stay pleasant and memorable. We both highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gar-fisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#70 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.0 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#43 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Hotel Mimi del Mar
#128 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#19 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pelicano Inn
Pelicano Inn
#144 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#35 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Maya

Property: Playa Maya
Address: | Zona FMT entre calle 6 y 8 Norte, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#67 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Maya is right on the beach and centrally located, just 1 block from 5th Avenue, the heart of activity in Playa del Carmen. Our unusual off-street location and beach-only entrance make us a very tranquil base from which our guests can easily explore all the shopping & nightlife of Playa, along with the other wonders of the Riviera Maya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Playa Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playa Maya Del Carmen
Playa Maya Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing