We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Playa Maya fabulous service, hotel and LOCATION LOCATION”
Review of Playa Maya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Playa Maya
Ranked #104 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were a group of 6, 4 adults and 2 children aged 7 years. Playa maya was superb in every way. The service was amazing, the hotel exactly how we like it, and the food sensation. The staff at Playa must be recognized as being super friendly, accommodating and wickedly amusing.
The location is second to none, 5th avenue being 3 minute walk, the beach beautiful and activities readily available. We loved Playa Maya and wished we were still there. Would go back in a blink of an eye

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank monollyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (670)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 670 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

Fabulous little hotel. I stayed here with my boyfriend and another couple, all of us loved it. We were only meant to stay for 5 nights but extended our stay for another week.
Service was great, all the staff were lovely and our rooms were always cleaned beautifully with different towel art to look forward to every day! Food is delicious!!! and beach service top notch. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone staying in Playa Del Carmen.

Room Tip: I don't really think it matters too much what room you stay in as most days you're out on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 484SarahF484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I don't care what people say about Playa Del Carmen, the beach is absolutely beautiful! The town is still very touristy but much less so than Cancun. More low key and less crowded. Playa Maya is right on the beach and is priced right. The location is super close to both the ferry to Cozumel and the bus station for exploring Tulum, Coba, and other places in the Yucatan. The Playa Maya proved to be an ideal location for enjoying the beach at Playa and exploring the region. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Bennett C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I was fortunate enough to stay in Mexico at Playa Maya from 9/23/13-10/1/13. The staff ALL of them seem to truly care about you as a guest and your stay being the best it can be. For me I had two stand outs- My room lady Angelina so sweet and attentive to detail and then Pablo at the front desk who always asked how our stay was & gave us great advice on local places to see and eat at and was genuinely was just a pleasure to see and talk with. The location of the hotel is on the beach but the life of the city is literally on the street right behind the hotel so you never need a cab. We loved walking and being submerged into the local culture... If you want to stay in a place that is about culture this is it! Very clean huge rooms even larger beds...breakfast lunch and dinner if you choose on the beach in the sand. So amazing!!! I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: I had room 203 and it was large and had a king size bed and small balcony with ocean views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Penny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Playa Maya was a cute little hotel that we thoroughly enjoyed. It is beachside, with no street entrance - this was a bit difficult on our first night as the sign wasn't too easy to see so we almost missed it as we dragged our suitcases along the sand (they reccommend you send one of your party to get them to pick up your suitcases, but it was quite late at night when we arrived and neither of us felt comfortable hanging around in an unfamiliar place alone.)

The view of the ocean is great. It was always nice looking at this over breakfast on the beach. Great proximity to fifth avenue and the like... throughout my stay I couldn't work out why so many people stayed in the resorts away from the action, when they could be staying on the beach! The staff was excellent and very friendly. And we were so impressed with the towel art every day!

Only problem we really had was that the shower didn't work very well when we arrived. We asked at the front who said they'd get onto maintenance... I don't know if they ever did, but it took 2 days for it to start... somehow slowly getting better. Honestly for the first 2 days the hot water tap would only turn slightly and would barely work, and then it started slowly getting better every day, so really not sure if maintenance were advised or not - we asked a few times but we were concerned there might be a language barrier. Nonethless by the end of our stay we had a fully working shower, just wished it had been like that from the start!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elebel82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We enjoyed a 14 night stay at Playa Maya and just cannot fault it. We were in room 301 which had a fantastic view of the ocean, the balcony was just perfect for 'pre-5th Avenue' evening drinks. Our room was very large, the bed also very big, plenty of cupboard space and the bathroom was lovely. The hospitality that all the staff showed was exceptional- every day the rooms were immaculately cleaned and reception staff were always happy to help. Breakfast every day on the beach is just idyllic and again the staff who served us each day were very helpful, polite and couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast was lovely each day, fruit platters were beautifully fresh and the cooked American breakfasts were also a delicious treat, always with a Mexican twist to them!
The location is great-just a minutes walk from the 5th Avenue and obviously situated right on the beach. The loungers that the hotel offer are perhaps the most comfortable of the whole holiday, although we found that some days we wanted to avoid the rocks/seaweed that is infront of the hotel-we only needed to walk 50m either left or right to avoid this.
We would definitely recommend this hotel and would love to return!!

Room Tip: Room 301 had a fantastic view of the ocean and a lovely balcony for 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Hannah17484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were there in May, and we can't wait to go back. We are actually trying to book as we speak. This time we are bringing friends and our son. The people who work at this hotel make this hotel Different, they actually seem to enjoy working. Breakfast every morning on the beach is paradise. We were so comfortable in the rooms we felt at home. Good air conditioning and clean. We hope to be booked for January. I am almost tempted to keep this hotel to myself but the manager and staff deserve the praise.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Yvonne5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#18 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
566 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach C...
#74 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
479 reviews
0 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#49 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#28 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,929 reviews
3.9 mi away
THE FIVES HOTEL & LUXURY RESIDENCES
THE FIVES HOTEL & LUXURY RESIDEN...
#116 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#13 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Maya

Address: | Zona FMT entre calle 6 y 8 Norte, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#74 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $145 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Maya is right on the beach and centrally located, just 1 block from 5th Avenue, the heart of activity in Playa del Carmen. Our unusual off-street location and beach-only entrance make us a very tranquil base from which our guests can easily explore all the shopping & nightlife of Playa, along with the other wonders of the Riviera Maya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Playa Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playa Maya Del Carmen
Playa Maya Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing