We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem of a hotel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Playa Maya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Playa Maya
Ranked #95 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A gem of a hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

This hotel was right on the beach, and was everything it advertised itself to be. Low maintenance, clean and just lovely. Breakfast on the sand each morning was a real treat. Filtered water provided each day. You don't often find hotels like this anymore so this is a real gem!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank happine55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    120
    25
    11
    11
See reviews for
106
300
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

When we initially looked at staying at Play Maya, I was suspicious whether the positive reviews were real. After staying for a week at the end of April, we can say that for the most part, the reviews are accurate. There’s nothing fancy about the hotel or accommodations. You get a clean room, excellent maid service with be bed art, a beach chair, and excellent food/bar service. The food was very good, the drinks delightful, and all for a fair price. Even the largest balconies are rather small and most views are somewhat obstructed by the restaurant/bar and adjoining structures. But still beautiful. The beach comes and goes depending on the ocean current, some days sand and some days rocky. If it’s a rocky day, you walk 50 feet up the beach to get in the water. Not a big deal. The biggest asset of the hotel is its location. A short walk to the 5th avenue and lots of open air restaurants/bars with various music playing into the night. We would definitely consider returning.

Room Tip: Try to get a room nearest the ocean. Recessed baconies tend to be right outside a vented bathroom w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oh2Bretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Very relaxed & laid back place. Beach chairs only ones on beach padded. Super nice friendly people. Great walking distance to things.
Room: Small but comfy rooms with good beds and AC. Stayed in 302. Liked being high. Small fridge in room. Filtered water available.
Food: Great moderately priced food. Coconut shrimp to die for here plus the seafood tostadas. Shrimp nachos & tacos also yummy.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raven_Lenore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sour Lake, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Playa Maya is a little hard to find but well worth the search. This hotel has excellent service, rooms are very nice and beds are very comfortable. A short walk down the beach from 8 th. Street brings you to their lobby. Would highly recommend to any visiting Playa del Carmen.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel great service a little hard to find but if u go from 5thave. And 8th take a right at the end of 8th on the beach look to right and you will find it only has beach access good bar good drinks 12 checkout time early check in is available comfy beds cold a/c nice good working showers

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Acmoore_5742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloha, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Our 6th trip to Playa, but first time to Playa Maya. The small size, the cleanliness, the staff that got along with each other as well as with us, the incredible food, and impeccably cold cervesas made for an awesome vacation. Room 303 could not have been better. The view, cleanliness, and overall condition of the buildings made it even better.
I will not consider anywhere else to stay in PDC. The Playa Maya makes the destination
worthwhile just by itself.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PDXTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

You just don't find places like this anymore! Wonderful little hotel, right on the beach, smack dab in the center of Playa Del Carmen. Amazing food, great drinks, welcoming staff. My cousin and I stayed in a standard room that was quite large with a small balcony. The room was kept immaculate throughout our stay. Most patrons of this hotel come back year after year, and now I understand why! In a word: Love!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hshepherd99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.0 mi away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#79 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#25 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
0.0 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#40 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Hotel Mimi del Mar
#126 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pelicano Inn
Pelicano Inn
#135 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colibri Beach
Hotel Colibri Beach
#122 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Maya

Property: Playa Maya
Address: | Zona FMT entre calle 6 y 8 Norte, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#66 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Maya is right on the beach and centrally located, just 1 block from 5th Avenue, the heart of activity in Playa del Carmen. Our unusual off-street location and beach-only entrance make us a very tranquil base from which our guests can easily explore all the shopping & nightlife of Playa, along with the other wonders of the Riviera Maya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Playa Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playa Maya Del Carmen
Playa Maya Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing