We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff, could do with an upgrade”
Review of Playa Maya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Playa Maya
Ranked #101 of 210 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location and staff, could do with an upgrade”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed for 2 weeks at Playa Maya in a top floor room with balcony and sea view. It really suited our needs for pure relaxation, being right on the beach and so close to so many bars and restaurants.

The staff were very efficient and courteous, be it serving breakfast, putting out sun-loungers or cleaning the room (with much-pictured towel animals!). The room itself was clean, with a big comfy bed and good air-con, with fridge provided and unlimited drinking water on tap.

Main room for improvement would be to upgrade the internet and tv - internet was very unreliable and slow at best, while the tv lacked for english-language channels among the 80+ available.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    124
    25
    11
    12
See reviews for
110
306
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We came back to our vacation "Home" for the second straight year for all the reasons many others have mentioned before. We want to personally thank Stephen for a seamless booking and the superior staff he has put together that made our 1 week stay the 1st of October another memorable experience. I know I am leaving a few folks out but I have to thank Maria, Pablo and Julianna at the front desk, Juan and Fidel in housekeeping, and last but not least Luciano and Carlos and Alberto at the restaurant and beach for doing everything they could to make us smile.

Room Tip: Try a full body massage 1 hr $25us
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dnicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

I write this from Room 301, not from the lovely balcony, but in comfortable air conditioning, as the early November morning sun shines directly on the front of this beautiful little gem. Getting up at 6 am to see the sunrise from your balcony as the waves lap at the sand directly in front of you is one of the many benefits you get by staying here. Others include an extremely friendly and attentive staff, a mighty decent breakfast, comfy beach chairs, and a nice oasis from the buzz and rather frantic pulse that is Avenida Quintana, the main drag in these parts. My husband and I loved returning to Playa Maya in the evening: strolling down 8 Ave Norte, the trees twinkled from the lights entwined around them; the ocean that we could not see but hear beckoned. Standing there on the sand in the darkness, you see the lights of Cozumel in the distance and an amazing blanket of stars above your head.  Sure, your feet are sandy as you leave or arrive to this place, but who cares? Sure, wireless access is not dependable, but who wants to be connected to the world when you're less than a hundred steps from the ocean? 

Some practical notes: Stephen was very easy to correspond with to get the room we wanted. I think the prices are quite reasonable. The room we had was spacious & comfortable and super clean. It's not totally silent, but no noise that was bothersome. There's a little fridge where they give you a liter bottle of water every day. The hotel does not give change, but the bar will do their best to help you. The restaurant serves a full menu, and while we didn't take full advantage of it, the food we had was good and we could charge it to our room. Beach chairs are free for guests, and each guest gets a towel pass--just turn it into the front desk & they will give you one. They're nice sized towels too.

If you arrive by private transfer/taxi, etc. the driver will have to drive all the way to the end of 8 Ave Norte. They might want to know the cross street--it's the beach! Tell them to drive until they can't anymore. The Hotel Alhambra is on your right. You have to walk on the beach, around the Hotel Alhambra's restaurant and through Playa Maya's restaurant to get to the front of the hotel. One of the awesome wait staff will help you with your bags. Once Maria or Pablo shows you your room, get ready to relax and enjoy yourself. I know you will!

We hope to come back and enjoy more breakfasts with our toes in the sand.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank ToeKneeRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkadelphia, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

For our 25th Anniversary we booked a Deluxe Suite . The view of the beach is limited since you have tall walls on both sides of the hotel. The room was great, bed very comfortable, but the bathroom is small. Frig, and coffee maker in rooms was perfect. Very quiet hotel. Breakfast is included and very good. Pablo at the front desk is the best. Loved him. The girl during the day at the desk is also excellent. All the waiters were fantastic, but slow on serving you on the beach. One day I had to go in the bar area to get our own drinks. I would recommend this hotel, but thought the price was over priced for the rooms.

Room Tip: FYI, our bathroom windows opened up right above the balcony of the smaller suites. And the next roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alicejujubee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My girlfriend and I have been visiting Playa since 2006. The first years, 2006 and 2007, we stayed at the big resorts. They were ok since we really didn't know the area well. In 2007 we started exploring the downtown hotels, and with the help of Tripadvisor, we found the Playa Maya.
Our first stay was in 2008, and from the start we knew we had made the right decision. The location is great, the staff is super friendly, rooms are spacious, and the ocean is right outside the door. We always stay in the Jr. Suite with kitchenette. We also like that a nice breakfast is included with the room. What we really like is that the staff has remained pretty much the same throughout our visits. It's nice to see familiar faces. Everyone is so nice and helpful. We're looking forward to our 6th stay in a row March of 2013. The Playa Maya is definitely the best small downtown hotel in Playa.We look forward to returning every year.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ghbeatle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We just returned from a 3 days stay at the Playa Maya hotel. The owners, do everything possible to see that you have a wonderful stay. The hotel it is quiet and peaceful. Great value, great people and we hope to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This was our second visit to this hotel. We returned because of the service, the location and the price. This hotel is right on the beach. There is no street access, but the staff is always present to help with the luggage and there is no street traffic with which to contend. Breakfast is included in the cost of the room. The outdoor setting provides a wonderful atmosphere to eat breakfast and sip your coffee. Lunch is not included in the cost of the room, but the food is delicious and it is very convenient to lounge on the beach, under your umbrella, and have the staff bring your lunch and drinks. The hotel is close to everything in Playa del Carmen. The staff is extremely accommodating and friendly. They helped with our booking several excursions (Tulum and Chichen Itza) with excellent results. Because we left for the excursions before the kitchen opened, they provided boxed meals for us to take. We like the deluxe balcony rooms, worth the extra expense!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank browns_1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colibri Beach
Hotel Colibri Beach
#119 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
209 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pelicano Inn
Pelicano Inn
#147 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Los Itzaes Hotel
Los Itzaes Hotel
#78 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Hotel Mimi del Mar
#139 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kinbe Hotel
Kinbe Hotel
#104 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
637 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an
Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an
#87 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Maya

Property: Playa Maya
Address: | Zona FMT entre calle 6 y 8 Norte, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#70 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Maya is right on the beach and centrally located, just 1 block from 5th Avenue, the heart of activity in Playa del Carmen. Our unusual off-street location and beach-only entrance make us a very tranquil base from which our guests can easily explore all the shopping & nightlife of Playa, along with the other wonders of the Riviera Maya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Playa Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playa Maya Del Carmen
Playa Maya Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing