We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again!”
Review of Playa Maya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Playa Maya
Ranked #105 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Hotel staff was friendly. Rooms are very plain but super clean and ours came with a beautiful view. We never got hot water but didnt really matter to us since we were coming in from being so hot outside. The hotel restaurant has great food & a pretty good breakfast which is included in the stay. The location couldn't be better. We could walk out onto the beach and were also a short walk from 5th Avenue. Definitely a great place to stay during your trip to Playa!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CChitwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (670)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 670 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2012

My husband and I just returned from our first stay at the Playa Maya and I guarantee we will be back. On our three previous visits to the area we stayed at a nearby all-inclusive and while we enjoyed our stays there, this was a completely different experience in so many ways.

By staying at Playa Maya, we were forced to branch out in search of food and drink and we discovered so many great places to eat and just hang out with a drink or two. The Playa Maya, located directly on the beach, was also a popular spot where locals would stop for the day and it was enjoyable to watch their little ones at play in the sand and water.

The staff of the Playa Maya went way above and beyond to make our stay remarkable. Yuls, Marie and Pablo at the front desk were always cheerful and ready with helpful advice or just a hello, good morning, how was your day, etc. The guys on the beach were eager to help, beginning with breakfast, followed by drinks or munchies enjoyed under our umbrella on the beach. It doesn't get any better than this. The hotel was very clean, our room spacious and we didn't want for anything the entire week. Like I said, we will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank KcDoglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I read the reviews for this hotel assiduously before I booked, and had high expectations. Needless to say, Playa Maya lived up to the reviews, and I have only praise for the staff and management, for making our holiday so fantastic. The deluxe balcony room was spotless, spacious and had everything we needed. The shower was wonderful, there were free drinks in the fridge and bottled water was provided daily. My daughter and I both had special towel art creations on our birthdays, which were a really lovely touch. The food was really good, great breakfast every day and excellent lunch choices.
I knew the hotel would be fantastic, the only thing we were nervous about was the beach, as several reviews had been critical of the location, mentioning noise, fumes, access etc. Well, each to their own, but the fact that the area directly in front of the loungers was a bit rocky was not a problem, unless you are incapable of walking 20 feet to the right or left to get into the water. Somebody mentioned the seaweed as being a problem, but failed to mention the fact that groups of men rake up all seaweed into piles and bury them, several times a day, leaving the beach spotless. I have only praise for the way the beach is managed, and wish that people would accept that sand is washed in and out, and this means that some days there is more beach than on others. We never found it a problem, the sun loungers were extremely comfortable, and it was a joy to be able to sit in such a prime location.
In conclusion, we loved every minute of our stay at Playa Maya. It's a fab little hotel and we would love to come back someday soon.
Thank you, Stephen Ryberg and the team, for making our holiday so utterly memorable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank KB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

What can I say other than I LOVE THIS HOTEL. This was our 2nd stay & it was just as wonderful as the 1st. The top 3 things anyone should look for in a hotel is cleanliness, good customer service & safety - this hotel exceeds all 3 & then some. Not only does this hotel have the best location on the beach, but the staff is even better - yes they are that great! Breakfast with your toes in the sand cannot be beat. We would follow breakfast by grabbing a beach chair & watch the city go by. I love being able to run up to the room when necessary & it's just a few steps away. & in the evenings, you are just a short walk away from many fabulous restaurants & nightlife. We will be staying at Playa Maya again & definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a fabulous vacation in Playa Del Carmen. You will NOT be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Solful1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I thought , after our third stay at Playa Maya, that I would find someplace else I liked better by virtue of location, etc. Well, I talked to several people and looked around a lot over the last three years and no one could tell me anything to make me think there is a better place for me. This is absolutely the biggest bang for the buck if you want a great location AND beachfront. We now plan on making our once a year trip into a twice a year trip. What I miss most upon returning home is the wonderful (included) breakfast every morning under the palapa, toes in the sand, listening to the waves. Following breakfast we enjoyed the complementary (and comfy) beach loungers with and without an umbrella while watching the beautiful Caribbean and people strolling by. One of the strengths of this place is the staff. The same wonderful people are there to serve you year after year. The service is always friendly, professional and efficient. Our room (301) was similar to other rooms we've had there. It was spacious, spotless and has everything you need. There is ample cabinet and drawer space for storage. Even our luggage was tucked-away and out of sight. There are 80ish cable channels on the wall-mounted flat screen TV. Most are in Spanish but several have English sub-titles and a few are in English. There's a mini-fridge for beer, water, etc. The room safe gave us some piece of mind, but really this a very safe place. There is only one way in and out and there is always someone there to see who is coming in and going out. We took a day trip and came back 10 hour later to discover we had not completely closed our room door. NOTHING was missing. Thanks to all the staff for another great vacation!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RedfishDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

We spent one week at the hotel and we had a fantastic time: you access the hotel from the beach and it is just perfectly located in playa (we couldn't find a better spot in playa). The staff is so friendly, helpful and they would really make sure you have a good time. Breakfast is good too... And specially nice to have it in front of the sea. I would highly recommand it if you want to have a good time in Mexico !!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sabrina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Just came back from an 8 night stay in the Family Suite. Rooms were great, both balconies with ocean view and nice to have shade over the balcony, otherwise you can't sit out in the blazing sun. Rooms were immaculately clean, spacious, light and airy. AC worked great and bathroom was nice size. Food was consistently great. I had fish tacos everyday for lunch...YUM! Nice breakfast everymorning and the staff would set up our table so that we all directly faced the ocean...they would do this each time we would have breakfast and lunch...they were amazing. Others stated that the location is in the middle of the most crowded beach but it was great becuase we practically sat about 10 feet from the water all day. I can imagine that in high season its much more crowded but in June it was perfect. You can't really swim right in front because its rocky, you have to walk over a bit, but not far. I liked this because we always had a clear water view rather than a bunch of people in the water. When we had a problem with the car rental and they did not show up on time, Dr. Charly offered us his truck for the whole day for free! The car eventually came but we sure did recognize his generosity and caring.

We are planning on returning to Playa next year and would stay nowhere else. We absolutely loved our trip and would highly recommend Playa Maya to anyone who wants a small boutique hotel experience rather than a resort one. It's small, simple and familial experience. Just wonderful.

Room Tip: High floors have great ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank matise01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#18 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
565 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach C...
#71 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
478 reviews
0 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#50 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#27 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,928 reviews
3.9 mi away
THE FIVES HOTEL & LUXURY RESIDENCES
THE FIVES HOTEL & LUXURY RESIDEN...
#116 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#10 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Maya

Address: | Zona FMT entre calle 6 y 8 Norte, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#74 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $147 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Maya is right on the beach and centrally located, just 1 block from 5th Avenue, the heart of activity in Playa del Carmen. Our unusual off-street location and beach-only entrance make us a very tranquil base from which our guests can easily explore all the shopping & nightlife of Playa, along with the other wonders of the Riviera Maya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Playa Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playa Maya Del Carmen
Playa Maya Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing