We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel, Great Location, Best Staff”
Review of Playa Maya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Playa Maya
Ranked #95 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel, Great Location, Best Staff”
Reviewed December 20, 2011

We stayed at Playa Maya for 6 days towards the end of November. The hotel's only entrance is off the beach which we thought was pretty cool. We arrived about 4 hours too early for check in so we were given beach towels & grabbed a couple of beach chairs (both included in your hotel rates). Plenty of beach chairs & the staff was very attentive. Having been to Playa a few times, we've rented beach chairs before but would always have to track down a server to help us, but not here! There was always staff around ready to help us with a smile. There are several breakfast choices that are also included. We tried almost every dish & were never disappointed. For lunch I really enjoyed the chicken tacos & my fiancé still talks about the fish tacos. The rooms are cute & beachy, very clean & lots of room. We had a small fridge that was restocked with water every day which we thought was a nice touch. It was easy to get around town, short walk to 5th & a few blocks away from a Walmart & Mega, ferry to Cozumel is a just down beach & plenty of taxi's & collectivo's to take you to nearby places like Akumal & Tulum. We had a superior room with a view of the ocean & it was such a treat to see the sunrise in the morning. We truly enjoyed our stay here & are already planning our return trip in July. Special thanks to Jesus & Angelina, both always very helpful & friendly, & of course to Stephen for making the reservation process the easiest I have ever dealt with & for answering all my questions. Thank you so much! Stay here, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Solful1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    123
    25
    11
    12
See reviews for
110
304
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ny
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

This is right on the beach, and in the middle of everything, but not noisy. It is also convenient to the Cozumel ferry. The room was not luxurious, but spacious, clean and comfortable with good water pressure and ample hot water supply. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fkv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylors, South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

We spent a week at the Hotel Playa Maya in early November. First off, this is not a big hotel. around 20 rooms total. No glitz here. No fancy, big nightclub. Just a hotel tucked away on one of the most beautiful beaches anywhere. You access the hotel from the beach. There is no direct roadside access. On arrival, you take your bags down to the end of 8th St (stops at the beach), and the hotel bell-hops take your bags around the beach into the hotel. Don’t bother renting a car. We didn’t need a car the whole week we were there. The 5th Ave. market is just a block away from the hotel. And there’s a Wal-Mart about 5 blocks up 8th St. from the hotel.
The hotel itself was great. The front desk staff (Pablo, Maria & Yuliana) were most hospitable. They catered to our every need. They were always pleasant & professional to deal with. We had a few mechanical problems surface during our staff, but the hotel staff always accommodated us and usually provided a step-up solution.
We relied on the hotel staff for recommendations on tours, instead of trying to deal with the time-share peddlers on 5th Ave. The staff set everything up for us with no hassle. The rooms were very comfortable and well cleaned. Some rooms had balconies. The balconies are not too big, but do offer a view of the beach. Wireless internet was provided at no additional charge. There is only 3 floors, and no elevator, so be prepared to take stairs up to the upper rooms. The hotel also has a nice restaurant where food & beverage can be purchased. You get a nice, free breakfast – and it is more than your standard continental breakfast. You can get eggs or pancakes if you wish. For the money, this place was a super deal.
The beach accommodations are excellent. By staying in a room, you get access to a beach lounge chair (cushioned) with a large sun umbrella and one large beach towel. Drinks can be ordered through one of the restaurant staff members who keep a tab on the guests on the lounge chairs. Drinks were well made and a reasonable price. A great way to relax for the day.
Early November seems to be one of the best times. It gets busy from January thru June with the European crowd, and of coarse it's busy at the Christmas holiday.
Overall, this hotel is a gem. The front desk, restaurant and cleaning staff were all memorable. Mr. Ryberg (reservations) provided us with some great information in setting up our trip. Can’t wait to go back.

Room Tip: get a lower level if you don't want to climb stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rasalus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tooele, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Playa Maya Hotel. The location is excellent and the staff was vey accomodating and the service was personal. The food at the restraunt was some of the best that we had in Playa. The complimentry (I think) chips and salsa were delicious. My only reccomendation would be for future visitors to bring thier own toileries (shampoo and conditioner etc) and to also bring your own pillow if you are picky about a pillow.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjohns_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

We've been to Playa del Carmen 6 times in the last 5 years but this was our first stay at Playa Maya - it won't be our last, in fact it became our go to hotel. Reservation making was easy, their communication prompt and thorough. Check in was a breeze, we were met at the end of calle 8 and the beach by a group of hotel staff that carried all our luggage into reception at the top of the stairs, finished some paperwork, checked in and they took our bags to our rooms.

Rooms were big and comfortable. Wireless access available all over the grounds, big bathrooms and showers as well. Room had a table and two chairs, bed, small fridge and a flatscreen TV. Wireless was quick enough to be able to stream our home DVR to my iPad for late night TV viewing. Breakfast is included in the rate - choice of pancakes, waffles, eggs and a meat or fruit plate. Juice included too. We had breakfast every day, lunch and snacks on other days and the food was always very good. Beach service was excellent as well. We never used the pool or hottub but they were clean and always available.

The location is fantastic. Right on the beach so off of sometimes noisy 5th ave, but close enough to be right in the heart of downtown.

Rooms were always kept clean, plenty of towels and hot water and of course the towel art each day! Staff was always super friendly and helped with whatever we needed. Look forward to coming back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the ocean view rm 301, our friends in a garden view "studio b". We each go t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BriAnn0921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Playa Maya is a wonderful little hotel perfectly located on the beach, one block from 5th Ave. The staff are friendly, the breakfast is included and delicious and you get to eat it with your feet in the sand, and the beach is fantastic. They stock your mini-fridge with water bottles every day, and their bar/restaurant prices are totally reasonable. On this trip I was with friends and stayed in a standard room with ocean view, which was clean and comfy with wireless access. Next time I go, I will be bringing my husband and kids and getting one of their two-room suites. Loved it. :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TinaSandFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Stayed at Playa Maya for the second time this September. Although it doesn't have the extensive amenities, it has a great rate, free breakfast, and a perfect location. Right on the beach, off of 5th Ave. and in the middle of Playa del Carmen you are not far from anything. I don't think I'd come here for a honeymoon, but I think it's a great spot to get away and be in the heart of everything. I've stayed in a patio room and a room without an ocean view and I'd suggest the ocean view for the little bit more that you pay.

If I return to Playa del Carmen, I'll be staying at Playa Maya again

Room Tip: Connecting room did not have an ocean view. I'd go for the ocean view for the additional money
See more room tips
Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank jdhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#71 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.0 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#42 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Hotel Mimi del Mar
#128 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#24 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pelicano Inn
Pelicano Inn
#141 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#35 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Maya

Property: Playa Maya
Address: | Zona FMT entre calle 6 y 8 Norte, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#66 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Maya is right on the beach and centrally located, just 1 block from 5th Avenue, the heart of activity in Playa del Carmen. Our unusual off-street location and beach-only entrance make us a very tranquil base from which our guests can easily explore all the shopping & nightlife of Playa, along with the other wonders of the Riviera Maya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Playa Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playa Maya Del Carmen
Playa Maya Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing