We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Nearby Hotels
$293
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$227
$191
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$587
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
$331
$217
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
$423
$240
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
$401
$289
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
$1,434
$753
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
$438
$349
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$562
$472
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$973
$450
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveler rating
52
73
35
9
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
73
35
9
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall kitchenettenight stay at hotelprivate parkingbasic hotelpico de galloocean viewthe location is perfectrecommend staying herebus stationbeach barbeach servicecevichegreat drinkssandaverenefridge
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 182 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2010

Nice and cozy little hotel. We were very pleased we didn't stay at some of the all inclusive-luxury-hotels at the River Maya -area. Here you can really see the Mexican lifestyle.
The staff were extremely friendly.
The location is perfect. Only minus is the sand which spreads everywhere because the hotel really is _on_the_beach.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2010

We decided to try Playa del Carmen for part of our honeymoon, and I'm glad we're only here for 2 nights. The place is very loud because of its exposure to a large bar next door and its poor insulation. The thatched roof is real and provides no protection from all the racket outside.

Our room also seems to have a gnat problem, and the bathroom is badly built with bare bones toiletries. If you're used to staying in decent places I would stay away from this place. It is close to being the worst hotel we have ever stayed in while traveling and a terrible price for what you get.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VolksFrei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Mimi in January 2010. Fortunately our arrival date just happened to be a week after the beach restoration was completed. The restored beach was beautiful. We enjoyed our 4 night stay. The hotel is right on the beach, yes you do have to drag your bags across the sand, near the center of town and the ferry dock. We originally were shown a room on the 3rd floor but requested a lower floor because the stairs were tricky. The room was plain but clean and a good value considering the location and price. The free breakfast was very good and lunch on the beach was just fine. The staff was friendly and helpful. We will be returning in January.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeedotLexington_KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Last week we came home from Playa. I cannot say enough good things about MiMi. The staff was wonderful. Location was AWESOME. We did stay in the superior room. The ocean view was perfect off the balcony. My husband thought the bed was a hard, but it was fine for me. VERY short walk to the beach and very quiet at night and a short walk to the shops & restaurant. Playa has gone through alot of changes (for the good) since our last trip 5 years ago.

A separate thumbs up to Pancho. He was great. It was soooo hot everyday and he made sure we were taken care of and comfortable.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank 2Kids70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

We were on vacation from June 11-25, we only spent the 18-25 at the Mimi del Mar, we really wish we would have stayed here the whole vacation, but unfortunately we made the mistake of booking at a local All-Inclusive in advance and couldn't get out of it. The Mimi del Mar was a far better hotel. The service was awesome, the location, the people, everything. The restaurant has great drinks, beer and food and the best waiters on the beach!!! Love, Love Raul and the other waiter they work hard all day! This place has lots of beach chairs, umbrellas & towels. There is bottled water and the rooms have really cold air conditioning and great showers. I had some fish fingers at the restaurant those are fantastic, the chips and salsa are always fresh and delicious too with a bucket of icy cold beers, you just can't go wrong here. The Mimi is located close to everything within to walking distance so don't hestitate to get out a walk-about. We had free wi-fi, had some trouble with it, but was able to be on the web everyday. My only negative was the bed it was a little hard for me.But everything else was great. It was our 17th Wedding Anniversary thanks Mimi del Mar, we will be back next year!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews