We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Listen to the reviews!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Costa del Mar
Ranked #198 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed February 19, 2014

The only good thing about this hotel was that it is on the beach, which is NOT private to the hotel. Anybody walking by can use the beach so if your not on it early you risk not getting a spot. The club next door plays loud, really LOUD, disco/club music until 6 - 7am. I thought when I read this on the other reviews that it couldn't be that bad. Well it is! Even ear plugs can't keep you from hearing the constant beat, it shakes the room! When I mentioned this to the administrator of the hotel she said well your in Playa Del Carmen very matter a fact like, as if that really helps you with the fact that you can't sleep! Not even an apology! They should warn their unhappy guests about that before you pay, which they make you pay for the room when you get there, not when you check out. The rooms are so outdated, the furniture pretty much falling apart. No amenities aside for bar soap and 2 rolls of toilet paper. They obviously don't know that there is such a thing as sound proofing the walls there. It really is a shame if they did sound proof and update the hotel it would really be a nice place to stay. They are charging way to much for what you have to put up with.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelnewb10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Costa del Mar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 118 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed here for two nights $100 per night which we thought was fabulous considering the water view. In fairness, were warned that the front room would be noisy because of the Blue Parrot nightclub, but thought it'd be fine anyway as we would be out those nights ourselves. In honesty, our warning was an understatement, and it did not matter which room we were put in, the noise from the club was much worse than we realised it would be. This hotel should really be $60 per night at the absolute most in comparing other hotels around with the same facilities but without the noise.
We found much nicer hotels a couple blocks down, cheaper and on the same block as the water. I really recommend not staying anywhere within 2 blocks north or south of the nightclub.
Other than the nightclub noise, this is very basic lodging. Kind of a shitte hole really. No Wifi either. Shop around first theres plenty way better options.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peta12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Since this hotel is right on the party scene the noise wont let you fall asleep unless you go to bed at 7 am. The rooms are quite dirty and poorly kept. It all depends on whether you mind the noise and the dirt. Good option if you are to stay for one or two nights and plan on going out late. The staff was friendly. Don't even think of putting a finger inside the pool because you might catch something.

Room Tip: Loud music from the clubs anywhere you stay till 7am or so.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Migueloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, the hotel outside looks pretty, small, colorful and few steps from the beach and from the 5a Av, this is TheParty Place to Be, if you are planning to go to sleep after 4am, because it's located almost next door to the biggest party places in town, If your are looking for a cheap hotel and sleep during the day time this is the hotel for you!
Besides that, rooms are old and dirty, our room was dirty and smelly, we even had to chase a cockroach inside the room and around the bed when they gave us the room !!
And same as most of the reviews I read before.. they didn't have our reservation, until a few screams and calls they "found" It !!
Not Good ... It's worth what you pay for. I Do Not recommend iT!

Room Tip: there aren't any good rooms here!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MEgRRolfes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

This is the worst "hotel" I've ever seen!
We were supposed to stay here for two weeks but allready the first meget we checked in to a hotel next door! The room wasn't cleaned, there were fungus in the shower and also a glass of water with mold in it! I actually cried when we arrived. We would probably get chlamydia or something worse if we used the bed sheets. We changed hotel the next day, no matter what we had to pay!
To rate this "hotel" with the character 1 is actually too generious!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ellie_snow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The biggest problem we had is that it was IMPOSSIBLE to sleep because of the really loud music. I understand that it's expected due to its location (very close to clubs) but they could've mention it in their site or something. The music stopped around 6am everyday. To make things worse, there were some repairs been made in the hotel and they were also very loud, around 9am. I couldn't get some decent sleep during our stay. I had to take naps during the afternoons.

Second complain is that the TV was small and almost all channels had static, so you couldn't watch almost anything.

If you're a traveler that plan to stay up all night in clubs and want something cheap, then it might suit you. For us, it was terrible, because we wanted to relax and have fun.

Room Tip: Don't come to this hotel if you plan to get some sleep.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Pablo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Been there in march, the website was very deceiving and the place looked pretty on the Internet...I was surprised that agoda recommended that! As soon as I entered the room we were hit and almost killed by the stinking smell coming from the toilet! We were exhausted but the shower was soo filty and he towels were stained with blood-like stains... We couldn't even wash our teeth because the water coming from the tap was dark brown, the bedding Watson disgu stung that we slept in our own clothes and had to put some clothes under our heads... The was no management on site and we were welcome by a very drunk and dodgy person who just pick our keys and took us to this awful place in the middle of the street. The hotel was very noisy and could only recommend it to teen pack packers who don't mind sleeping rough or on the floor. Indeed sleeping on the beach have been the best bet! We run away the next day and ended our holiday in wonderful Kimbe just few blocks away! Do not go there!!!

Stayed: March 2012
8  Thank Barbara Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.2 mi away
Caracol Suite Hotel
Caracol Suite Hotel
#185 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
116 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Colibri Beach
Hotel Colibri Beach
#117 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
212 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Hotel Mimi del Mar
#142 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel All Riviera
Hotel All Riviera
#188 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
276 reviews
1.3 mi away
El Patio Hotel & Suites
El Patio Hotel & Suites
#141 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
37 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pelicano Inn
Pelicano Inn
#150 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa del Mar

Address: Calle 1 Norte Entre 10 Y 12, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#95 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $49 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Costa del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Costa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Del Mar Hotel
Costa Del Mar Playa Carmen
Hotel Costa Del Mar Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing