We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The VIP Treatment - Treated like royalty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Reef Coco Beach
Ranked #104 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The VIP Treatment - Treated like royalty”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

The VIP Treatment - Treated like royalty

First off we have been to the Reef Coco Beach many times and it just gets better and better with each trip. We have brought our son and his wife a few times and last summer our oldest daughter and her family joined us. The youngest daughter been a several times also.
The front desk staff is just tremendous!! Alfonso and Zoila we talked with daily, Manual and Alermo in the evenings. They are very helpful to all the guests with any questions they would have. It’s always nice to see people who really like their jobs.
Rafael is a kind and generous manager.
Need to get around town? Ask Victor or David the bellboys. They can tell you the hot spots and get you a cab if you don’t want to walk.
The buffet is your normal buffet. There are enough choices that you shouldn’t leave hungry. I must say breakfast is my favorite meal of the day. Made to order omelets, fresh beans, and fruit and I am set. It’s by far more choices then my table at any meal at home has!!! Makes me hungry.
The restaurants upstairs are delicious also. Just need to dress accordingly. Samuel and Miguel will take excellent care of you. The wait staff is always running the whole night.
Bartenders sure can make you a drink!! We are from the “mile high city” and yes the drinks can get you a bit tipsy. I have read people think they are watered down… I wish that had been the case one morning when my head was hurting. Ha ha
Edwardo is excellent at refilling drinks around the pool. Makes me wonder how many steps he takes in a day.
All the hotel staff is busting their butt to make your stay the best they can. We have stayed at a 5 star before. So we do have the experience of high rating hotels. We go on vacations to rest, visit with friends and make new friends. We leave this resort with a new friend or two each time. My opinion is the Reef Coco Beach is top notch!!
We will continue to return!!! This is MY 5 star resort!!
See you all in 200 days with the kids and grandkids!! Save us a room!!!
P.S. remember to tip all the servers. They really do appreciate it. : )

Thank You Rafael and Alfonso!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank captaincmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    948
    1,442
    674
    340
    258
See reviews for
962
1,462
97
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coldwater, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We didn't read reviews before we booked our trip. I read them after we booked and before we went. I was afraid when I got to the resort - literally - I had read so many bad things. It wasn't bad at all - it was nice...clean - staff were friendly.. that is just to start. We stayed at Coco Beach from the 18th to the 25th of January. We travelled with another couple. Being from a very small town we were all more than happy with the size of the resort. And our needs for fancy fancy aren't large and we did not pay for that so this resort is a perfect fit. The pool was nice and it was clean and if it did get cluttered from leaves and such there was a supervisor steadily watching to call staff in. The rooms were done daily - you had to make sure to put your card on the door....the rooms did have some items that needed repair - we switched our room once - and the staff were more than accommodating - it took a day or two but it happened. If your travel agency rep is stationed there - ie Sunwing - then they will help you deal with anything that you are not happy with - so don't forget that. There were small issues with the rooms - as in drawer in dresser stuck and shower nozzle did not move properly but as this resort changed hands a year or so ago I believe that repairs will happen bit by bit by priority and customer demand. The restaurants - buffet - it was good - and so many said it wasn't on comments. The food mix for evening meals could stand to be changed up a bit more however - like anything - if you eat at a buffet or a restaurant night after night you come to a point that you just get tired of it period and it all of a sudden isn't that good. So...we changed it up - we went to the Italian restaurant on site. The meal was good - service a little slow - they were always full....compared to the Mexican restaurant that charged an extra 6.00 per person - the food was great there also - service was top notch - if they were to even it up with 3.00 per restaurant it would probably round things out. If you go - do pay the 6.00 and go to the Mexican venue.

What was really good was that this resort suited us. The drink staff were great - we had to get up and get our drinks a few times and not be waited on - that was fine. The rec staff was fun. Pool bingo was a blast. The disco / sports bar - is small but fun - karaoke was great. The tour company that operates within the hotel was very helpful as were the Sunwing reps stationed closer to the pool area. When you book excursions ensure that you are prepared for 45 minute and up ride in most cases as a lot of them are in Cancun area. You are a short walk to 5th avenue either by beach or by street....it is only a 7.00 cab ride to the far end of the street and you can walk it all the way back. If you don't have patience for the street vendors you may want to stay away from this area :). The front staff are very good also for getting you cabs and helping you out with coming and going. We didn't have to leave for the airport until 4 so we checked out at noon - and they held our luggage for us.

This was a long winded comment but I feel kind of sorry for all the bad rap that this little resort is getting. It is honestly pretty good. Other guests if you can speak same language are easy to get along with. The disco next door goes on now and then but not every night and it isn't Coco's fault that it is there - they do actually have good drinks and a nice restaurant during the day if you want to venture out and pay.

We will go back to Coco Beach Resort and we will bring friends. It was a great experience!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

I went with a group of 6 family members and it's safe to say we all enjoyed our selves and have nothing but positive things to say. The staff were all very friendly and quick to assist you. The rooms were clean and always well stocked. The food was good, no one went to bed hungry, lol! The pools were clean and not overly crowded. The beach, while narrow, was clean and almost always had loungers available. No 6AM towel games like at other bigger resorts, yah! The activity staff walked around and tried to include everyone in one event or another every day. Even BINGO games at the pool bar:) While I'm used to having a room safe included, $14 for a week isn't bad. Wish all the rooms came with coffee pots, but we came prepared, and brought along our own instant. Hubby and I stayed on the 3rd floor and had a nice view of the grounds from our large patio. Perfect for people watching:) We did have allot of late night lobby noise in our room, but I'm not faulting the staff. And hey, can't blame the guests for having some fun. All in all, great stay!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank always_on_thin_ice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Heights, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We just returned from a 4 night stay. There is not one bad thing I can say about this resort. The Hotel is very clean and so are the rooms. The food was good and the service was awesome. The staff is very accommodating. William at the pool bar was great. Milton at the sports bar was a great bartender, he made the best drinks. Julio was very helpful and always made sure we had everything we need. Victor the bell boy was awesome!!! We did upgrade to the premium bracelet. It was well worth it. The boats in the water at the beach were really cool to see. I enjoyed watching the locals coming and going. This hotel is a short walk to 5th street and there is a lot of security along the way. I will defiantly return to this hotel. It was a great first stay in Mexico!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wi.
Level Contributor
125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We had our travel agent book this resort for us 5 months ago, to ensure our other family members would get the time off. A few weeks before we left we anxiously began reading reviews and grew a little worried. Our fears were unfounded when we arrived on Jan 15th. Had champagne on arrival, hubby got a full glass because he tipped the staff doing the serving LOL. We stayed in room 2125 on the 1st floor. A nice corner garden view with a larger than average patio. This worked out good for early morning family gatherings. We were able to drink coffee before it was time for sunrise pictures. At the time of booking we were of the understanding that all rooms came with coffee pots. We found out we were wrong. We requested one at the front desk and it appeared in a short while. Front desk was always helpful, along with the rest of the staff. We liked the fact that this was a smaller AI, not a big mega resort where nobody's happy. Our rooms were spotless, always had clean linens, lots of towels and instant hotwater. Waiters and bartenders were always friendly. Eduardo was our favorite bartender, he always found us whether we were at the beach or pool. These people work about non-stop. Tipping goes a long way. We were very pleased with the buffet food for breakfast and supper. We considered it adove average. We also enjoyed the snack bar for mid-afternoon munchies. Have no comment on the Italian & Mexican restaurants as none in our party used them. The beach area is small, but when we wanted loungers there it wasn't a problem. If you have a physical disability you may have a problem getting down the steps to the beach area. Once down you can walk for miles in either direction. Boats parked in the water are really no big deal. Never heard a peep from the beach club next door. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank relics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Heights, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We just returned from a 4 night stay. There is not one bad thing I can say about this resort. The Hotel is very clean and so are the rooms. The food was good and the service was awesome. The staff is very accommodating. William at the pool bar was great. Milton at the sports bar was a great bartender, he made the best drinks. Julio was very helpful and always made sure we had everything we need. Victor the bell boy was awesome!!! We did upgrade to the premium bracelet. It was well worth it. The boats in the water at the beach were really cool to see. I enjoyed watching the locals coming and going. This hotel is a short walk to 5th street and there is a lot of security along the way. I will defiantly return to this hotel. It was a great first stay in Mexico!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Upon arrival in the open atrium lobby I was pleasantly surprised! The entryway is modern but tropical with attendants always available. We were happy to find out the staff spoke very good English and greeted us with a champagne arrival. We were escorted to our ocean view room on the third floor. The room was clean spacious and modern. The room had all the amenities refrigerator, hairdryer but no clock. The pool area is probably the best part although the snack bar leaves a lot to be desired, which brings me to the food at this all inclusive hotel... breakfast is really the only thing worth it, the Italian restaurant was pretty gross, the Mexican restaurant was never opened however during our stay they had a dinner buffet and show night celebrating a Mexican holiday which was wonderful! I ate tons and the show was great we really enjoyed it. All in all I would return. The staff was wonderful with the exception of one of the snack bar cooks and were pretty attentive. Tip on the area tab a cab to 5th Ave it’s a bit shady looking to walk, there are tons of restaurants, shops and art galleries.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mnatalia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.0 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#52 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
25.0 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#18 of 23 in Akumal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
14.0 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,303 reviews
23.5 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,200 reviews
20.0 mi away
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Coco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Coco Beach

Property: The Reef Coco Beach
Address: Costera Norte S.N. Lte. 1 Mza. 7, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#51 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#59 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#70 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Reef Coco Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 30 miles south of Cancun, The Reef Cococbeach is the perfect compliment to the white sandy beaches and turquoise waters of this world renowned tropical paradise. Just a short walk from the picturesque town of Playa del Carmen, you will enjoy our personalized service, the privacy you desire in a resort destination and the entertainment of one of the best night life's the Mayan Riviera has to offer.Our location provides easy access to the many attractions the Mayan Riviera has to offer such as Playa del Carmen's famous 5th avenue, Playacar's Bird Sanctuary, Playacar Golf Club, Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Tulum and much, much more.The hotel offers 196 comfortable rooms Caribbean style, our pleasant rooms consist of one king size bed or two double beds, terrace or balcony, air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini fridge, TV,hair dryer, vanity mirror, telephone and bath room with bahttub and shower combination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Reef Coco Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Coco Bay Mexico
Grand Coco Bay Playa Del Carmen
Grand Coco Bay Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Coco Bay Riviera Maya
The Reef Coco Beach Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing