We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cockroaches, cover-fee for all-inclusive restaurant, break-ins”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Reef Coco Beach
Ranked #104 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cockroaches, cover-fee for all-inclusive restaurant, break-ins”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

What a nightmare of a vacation. Room was a pit. Cockroaches killed daily in room. Standing water in bathtub. Floods during rain. Sewer backed up daily outside hotel so it smelled like a dirty toilet near the front every day. Day 2, someone broke into the room and hotel staff didn't care ("well, at least nothing was missing" was all they could say). Food in buffet was nasty. McDonalds would have tasted better. Half-way through the week they started charging $6/person 'cover charge' to All-Inclusive restaurant. They let scammers in to sell fake deals to guests around the pool area (guy sold a couple discount tickets to Coco Bongo and told them to meat him at front at a certain time that evening only never to show up; he was a regular around the hotel apparently).
I would not consider paying more than $39/night for this trash heap.

Room Tip: try a different hotel (Playacar area is best).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Danny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    974
    1,469
    696
    345
    259
See reviews for
991
1,498
99
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Very nice stay and friendly staff. Could use more entertainment, better shopping and more food selections. Luckily it's nice and close to downtown playa, lots to do there. Great place to sit and relax.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aaron36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Director General at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write regarding your recent stay with us. We really appreciate your nice comments about the great location and the friendly staff and will take into consideration your suggestions for the food and entertainment.

If you decide to come back to our resort please let us know directly, we count with a special program for our returning guests.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed at the reef coco Beach from December 28 thru January 4 and I can confirm what most people are saying about the nice beach (Boats in front are no big deal), clean rooms, nothing to complain about the premises, however our hotel selection is greatly influenced based on the animation and activities reviews, since we have teenagers . This was a great disappointment, we have been to many All inclusives and this hotel falls way short compare to other hotels in the area. The animation staff led by Anderson and the others would do the strict minimum (if you’re lucky). We asked them about the absence of activities and they replied they all appeared on the board next to the pool. Activities that usually did not take place and had to be pushed by vacationers themselves. Hence, I do not recommend this hotel to people who expect to be a apart of activities, in a lively environment since the animation staff is nonexistent.

Room Tip: Like other people mentioned, the rooms facing the ocean, on the right side of the hotel are noisy be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We loved the Reef Coco Beach hotel. We have 3 kids and they all had a great time. It is about a 10 minute walk to 5th Ave. The rooms were clean and attended nicely. We had ground floor pool front rooms with hammocks which we all used and loved. It is a smaller hotel but very secure. The staff in the lobby were great and friendly. Victor the bell boy was great. He met us at the front with champagne. My daughter and I walked to 5th Ave (very safe) in the rain. We turned back and he met us at the front with umbrellas for us to take with us. My daughter ended up with an ear ache from diving and they staff was great about getting us a doctor and Diana even ordered the medicine and had it delivered to the hotel for us.

The food was pretty good in the buffet. There are two restaurants, Italian and Mexican. No reservations needed. The food in both was great the service slow. Go knowing it will be a while but the food was very good.

The beach at the resort was wonderful. It is a small beach but always plenty of chairs. The sand is fine and soft, very nice. It is not rocky, there are boogie boards you can use. You can walk down the beach to downtown if you wish.

We would stay here again!

Room Tip: There are not many ocean front rooms. The only king size beds are on the corners or the resort. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rlgiffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We booked it late on November for travel on late December/ early January.
All the excelent hotels in Playa del Carmen/ Rivera Maya were sold out so we decided to give it a shot despite its average reviews.

Overall the hotel is outdated. It needs renovation. There is a private night club next to it that operates until 4/ 5 am. The music is really loud. Don't stay on the right wing of this hotel!
The food isn't tasty from 1 to 5, I will give it 2.5. If you are in a diet, this is the place to be.

Drinks are not well prepared. I asked for a margarita, the worst I ever had.

The beach is beatiful but there are several small boats anchored on the shore and every time they turn their engines there is a strong fuel smell!

Service is very inconsistent. There is very polite staff but also rude ones specially those located at the bars.

The pros that I found to these hotel is that it is close to the shopping area of Playa del Carmen and given that it is a small hotel it is easy to move around with small kids.

I learned my lesson. I will never stay in an all-inclusive unless it is a solid five star hotel!

Room Tip: Do not stay in the right wing of the hotel. Next to it there is a third party nighclub with really l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelgp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I laugh when I read some of the reviews when people expect a 5 star experience for a 2.5-3 star price. We booked The Reef for the price since it was just my fiancé' and I traveling and we explore and don't hang at the resort 24/7. When we arrived (early, 10:30 am), we were greeted by Victor. He was friendly and eager to help with our bags. We knew our room would not be ready, but we were invited to change and use the resort until our room was ready.

Staff: Always friendly and ready to help. We had a small issue with an electrical outlet in the bathroom and it was handled within 30 minutes. Victor was always helpful with information, calling for a cab, an umbrella, or whatever else you needed.

Pool: Always clean and inviting.
Beach: Small, but very nice and clean. Plenty of chairs. Trust me, the boats are no big deal.
Restaurants: Always plenty of food. May not always have been what we liked, but much to choose from. I think we become selfish and forget these places are trying to please people from all over the world, so variety is necessary.
Rooms: Clean and Beds were comfortable.

The only negative was the disco next door. The resort can not control what they do. But of the 4 nights we stayed here, the disco was open 1 of them. And YES it was awful. The base from the music penetrated every wall in the place. You couldn't sit out by the pool or on your balcony. This started about 3 in the afternoon. The staff did move us to the other side of the resort, and it did help alittle, but not enough. This went on until past 4am!!!! Again, the resort does not control the disco, but for this reason alone, I would probably not go back.

Finally, let me add one last thing. Yes, this is an all-inclusive resort. But for God sakes people, you are spending thousands of dollars to go on vacation. Go to the bank and get a hundred or two of one-dollar bills. If someone carries your bags, give them a few. If someone brings you drinks to your chair on the beach, give them one or two. When you go to the restaurant, leave a few on the table. You will be surprised how much better your vacation will become. Quit walking around thinking you are owed everything!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Itravellots66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The hotel grounds, pool, etc were very nice and clean. The staff was amazing! Carlos in the restaurant, Sergio at the bar, and Bety in the spa were over the top helpful and fantastic! Manuel at the dive shop probably helped us out the most. He was very knowledgeable and set us up with several day trips. The Majestic Tour in the jungle is a must: you ride 4-wheelers through the jungle then snorkel in the cenotes. Absolutely one of the best things we did!!! This all inclusive resort is not a big resort so everything was easy to find. There was always a place to get drinks and food.
There are a few cons: no wi-fi. You have to buy a card that is only good for 24 hours. Apparently none of the resorts offer free wi-fi. We were unable to use our cell phones the entire time or receive email. The rooms need to be updated. We only received one english tv channel.
Overall, we had an amazing time and would return. We would make prior arrangements with our phones and ipads so we would be able to use them. Again, can't say enough about the staff. They work very hard and care about their jobs.....and it shows!

Room Tip: There are a few new/updated rooms closet to the beach. I would request one of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Love01281969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.0 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#58 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
638 reviews
25.0 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#18 of 23 in Akumal
1,937 reviews
14.0 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,425 reviews
23.5 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,228 reviews
16.4 mi away
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Coco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Coco Beach

Property: The Reef Coco Beach
Address: Costera Norte S.N. Lte. 1 Mza. 7, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#51 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#59 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#70 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Reef Coco Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 30 miles south of Cancun, The Reef Cococbeach is the perfect compliment to the white sandy beaches and turquoise waters of this world renowned tropical paradise. Just a short walk from the picturesque town of Playa del Carmen, you will enjoy our personalized service, the privacy you desire in a resort destination and the entertainment of one of the best night life's the Mayan Riviera has to offer.Our location provides easy access to the many attractions the Mayan Riviera has to offer such as Playa del Carmen's famous 5th avenue, Playacar's Bird Sanctuary, Playacar Golf Club, Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Tulum and much, much more.The hotel offers 196 comfortable rooms Caribbean style, our pleasant rooms consist of one king size bed or two double beds, terrace or balcony, air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini fridge, TV,hair dryer, vanity mirror, telephone and bath room with bahttub and shower combination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Reef Coco Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Coco Bay Mexico
Grand Coco Bay Playa Del Carmen
Grand Coco Bay Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Coco Bay Riviera Maya
The Reef Coco Beach Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing