We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Reef Coco Beach
Ranked #103 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not bad for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 10 night the food was pretty good the room average .The beach is pretty cool aside from all the boats .LOTS of security so we felt safe .Really close to 5th AVE clubs restaurant's ect.For the price you cant ask for more.Only draw back total family resort so many kids .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Manager at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for writing this review of your vacation in our resort.
We really appreciate your nice comments about the good food the great location and the beautiful beach.
Our hotel has a very broad range of customers and we are sorry that it felt like a draw back to you, that we also have many families visiting.We basically have only many kids in the school vacation, but this will be the same for all resorts. Outside school vacations, it is almost only couples and friends traveling
We would really enjoy to see you back here again soon, so If you would like to return, please let us know directly.
We wish you all the best and happy future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    928
    1,406
    658
    338
    252
See reviews for
935
1,430
93
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here nov.17-23 and had a wonder time!!! The staff was amazing! The entertainment guys edgur and Tao were wonderful,!!!!! We will miss them! There is coffee bar in the lobby everyday 4-6! That we hit everyday for irish coffee and coffee w/friend kalula!! All the dance shows in the theater were fantastic! See the show on mon.nite mexican buffets and Mayan dancers! Some complain the drinks are weak...solution... ask for a shot of rum on the side! Problem.solved! Walk about 2 miles yo the left and see the lagoon! !!! Absulutly beautiful! The resort is what you make of it! Beach, drinks and entertainment! !!!!! We will be back!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank streato1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Manager at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your vacation in our resort. We are very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time here at The Reef Coco Beach.
We really appreciate your stunning comments about our the beautiful area, the amazing staff, the great night shows and our special tea time in the afternoon.
We will also forward your special thanks to Teo and Edgar.

Thank you for your nice words, and if you plan to visit us again anytime soon, please let us know directly, so you can enjoy our special extras for our returning guests.
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed with a group in Early November. Our bed was stiff as a board but there were a lot of pillows. The resort was under extensive renovation with a lot of construction noise in the pool area all day. I did feel sorry for the masseuse Wonderful Bety who tried all week to recruit us but there was no way we were going to relax under all that construction noise. We did go to Sadai in town for massages and it was very nice, at half the price. Cranking up the pool music does not cover up the construction noise but did make it unpleasant to sit on the other side of the pool as well. Wifi - we paid for 2 days individually. It did not reach to our room so we had to sit in the lobby to complete work projects - certainly not the private environment I find at other resorts. Lots of free wifi in town.
We found that if you ran the water for about ten minutes before you wanted a shower it might get hot. Might not! The AC in our room worked but the condensation was very bad leading to puddles on the marble floor, very slippery. We just left a towel on the floor underneath. The temp was set to a permanent 23.5 C no matter what. Our group had private parties each night in the sports bar, unfortunately our room was right there so the noise was horrible until 2 AM but that is not a regular case I hear. The room card said the young man who cleaned every day was named Rebeca. I doubt that but he was very polite and really scrubbed and cleaned everything each day.
Did try the Italian restaurant twice with no upgrades and found the food better than the buffet, service average. Got seated at the Latin restaurant one night when my partner was asleep but never got served so cannot comment on the food. Left after 15 minutes, my comment to the maitre'D was ignored. The buffet always had a large variety of fresh fruits, food was good but not great and did seem calculated not to offend any palate. Nothing spicy as an option. Actually one morning there were some Serrano chilies at the omelet station. Buffet staff is exceptional. I would especially like to compliment Gabriela who dealt with a large and boisterous group in an entirely professional manner and always had a smile. Omar provided excellent service every morning, I enjoyed his European attitude. Eduardo at the buffet bar is also wonderful and remembered our drinks after the first afternoon. All three really made our vacation. I personally felt the service at lobby and pool bars could have been friendlier but nothing specific to comment on either way. It did seem that the people who had upgraded to the premium liquors were complaining about lack of availability. Our group was all adults and I don't think they planned appropriately.
David on the bell staff is wonderful and a real asset. Teotl at the activities center also great. Beach stretching and water aerobics were both fun.
We did not find the boats a problem, there is a large defined swimming area and the boat traffic was a pleasant distraction. There is a few times of day when there is more traffic, not a big issue. Ocean was actually warmer than the pool by a couple of degrees and is very clean in this area. Towel service ends at 5 so if you swim early or late plan ahead. Beach erosion is a problem but there are many chairs just above the beach. Chairs were very dirty. Staff was always cleaning, and a special treat, while we were there they trimmed the coconut palms and the pool bar staff made fun fresh drinks on the spot.
Cabs available at the front entrance. $5 US to cab in to town, $7 US or $70 peso to come back. Get pesos for spending in town. The exchange rate was 13+ at the bank 12.3 at the hotel and 10 to 11 in the restaurants in town. The price for Heineken beer $40-$50 pesos, lots of local beers for $35. Buckets of 5 beer $170 for the local ones only, pretty standard at the 3 beach clubs we visited and the restaurants along 5th Ave. One big block over on 10th Ave are many nice places to eat, go off the main avenue and try the side streets.
They won't post a gate for return flights in Cancun until an hour before take off, no need to get to the airport really early.

Room Tip: Horseshoe shaped building room numbers all start with 2, 2x01 at the NE corner and high numbers at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Enjoyed our stay. Solid 4 star. Construction to improve the rooms is going on right now.
Rooms are basic, clean and a/c very good.
The beach and view are outstanding. Great location.....Playa del Carmen's 5th avenue is a 5.00 cab ride. (5 minutes away)
The best thing about the hotel is the staff. So friendly and helpful. We got to know a few of them really well and would like to send out Thank You's to Raul in the Italian restaurant, and Eduardo who kept out drinks coming at the beach. Francisco and Karla and Gabriella.
Our room was cleaned up very nice every day.
The food was really good. Breakfast buffet was great.....omelets made to order. Snack bar was great for a cheeseburger mid day, and an ice cream machine.
For dinner we ate at the Italian restaurant most nights. It was really, really good. We ate at the Mexican restaurant one night and had good chicken fajita's. Great service in the restaurants.
The resort is small, which makes it even nicer. Good lobby bar for drinks before dinner.
We got a good deal on this vacation which made it great value for the money. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We upgraded to ocean front and had the most amazing view from our room and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

I stayed at this resort two years ago and have always been wanting to write a review beause I absolutely loved it.

I went with my mom and sister and had an amazing time. I went back to mexico last year and stayed at the Grand Riviera Princess where I have had my property stolen and experienced awful service so it made me appreciate this resort even more!

The food was amazing and the staff was sooo nice! They were super friendly and always playing and joking with the guests. It was sad to leave them!

The beach was nice and it was so close to 5th avenue that we went for a dinner and a walk quite frequently. The rooms were nice and the resort was small which made everything close and accessible. I would definitely recommend this resort and I myself with for sure be going back.

The beach is nice but you gotta be there early in the morning (7-8am) to get a spot. Its ok though :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ana b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Manager at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your vacation in our resort.
We are very happy about your nice comments about the delicious food, the amazing beach and the friendly and helpful staff.
We appreciate your nice words about our hotel.
We also have special offers for all our returning guest, so if you decide to come back to visit us any time please contact us directly!
We would be very happy to welcome you here once more.
Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

We booked an ocean view room 6 months before our trip, 2 days before our arrival we were informed that the ocean view rooms were not available and under construction. We were moved to a room that had a private hot tub outside as compensation. The hot was in great need of repair. One jet worked and the temperature could not be adjusted. It completely stopped working on the 4th day of our trip. There were 2 other hot tubs on the property but they never worked the entire 7 days were were at the resort. The beds are very hard. The room was old and dated but clean, it had 3 plugs, you will need to unplug a lamp or the TV is you want to charge your phone or computer. WIFI is by a third party and is spotty at best. Overall the property is run down and needs a good cleaning (except for the rooms, they were clean) pool chairs were filthy. The food was very average, most meals were ok, the 2 dinners we had in the up-charge restaurant were the worst dinners we had. On the plus side, the breakfast buffet is great, the staff were always helpful and the pool is beautiful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Jack C,

We are really sorry to hear you experienced some inconveniences during your stay and we would like to express our most sincere apology for this. We appreciate your comprehension and your comments which help us to improve our service.

We are glad to know you could enjoy our staff service, We arleady took note about your a la carte restaurant comments . We look forward to welcoming you and your once again at The Reef Coco Beach.

Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa del Carmen hotels

Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

We just returned from spending a week at the Reef at Coco Beach and I would NOT recommend it to anyone. The resort is under renovation and Jack Hammering was occurring until 12:30am in the morning some nights. In the specialty Italian restaurant Top Sirloin Steaks were trying to be passed off as Ribeye (and each was a $20.00 upcharge). When it came to ordering dessert they immediately told us they were out of the one all of us wanted AND further after ordering they brought us only two kinds saying that is all they had. We also purchased the Upgraded Premium Package which included "Top Shelf" alcohol, robes in the room as well as a few other things. No robes were ever delivered, the pool bar continuously ran out of Premium Vodka as did the Disco. The disco was missing 3 roof panels and had water leaks on the dance floor. The Hot tub outside of our bedroom didn't work properly. We tried both specialty restaurants and quite frankly the buffet had better food than either of them and I would give the dinner buffets a 2 on scale of 5 with 1 being the lowest. The only two things this place has going for it is the staff in the buffet restaurant as well as the bars and its pool.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joakim1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Joakim,

We are currently renovating the hotel little by little in order not to disturb the guests in house. The changes include a facelift of all the rooms within in the next 15 days.

We are very sorry we were not able to meet your expectations and we wish you happy future travels, We already took note about all your comments, this help us a lot to improuve our services. .

Kind regards,
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.0 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#45 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
25.0 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#18 of 23 in Akumal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
14.0 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,180 reviews
23.5 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,181 reviews
20.0 mi away
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Coco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Coco Beach

Property: The Reef Coco Beach
Address: Costera Norte S.N. Lte. 1 Mza. 7, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#51 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#59 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#70 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Reef Coco Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 30 miles south of Cancun, The Reef Cococbeach is the perfect compliment to the white sandy beaches and turquoise waters of this world renowned tropical paradise. Just a short walk from the picturesque town of Playa del Carmen, you will enjoy our personalized service, the privacy you desire in a resort destination and the entertainment of one of the best night life's the Mayan Riviera has to offer.Our location provides easy access to the many attractions the Mayan Riviera has to offer such as Playa del Carmen's famous 5th avenue, Playacar's Bird Sanctuary, Playacar Golf Club, Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Tulum and much, much more.The hotel offers 196 comfortable rooms Caribbean style, our pleasant rooms consist of one king size bed or two double beds, terrace or balcony, air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini fridge, TV,hair dryer, vanity mirror, telephone and bath room with bahttub and shower combination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Reef Coco Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Coco Bay Mexico
Grand Coco Bay Playa Del Carmen
Grand Coco Bay Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Coco Bay Riviera Maya
The Reef Coco Beach Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing