We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the right size and close to 5th Ave”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Reef Coco Beach
Ranked #103 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at this resort for two weeks and were not disappointed! Our checkin was quick and our room was clean and bed was comfortable. We got our king bed as requested. There wasn't a coffee maker in our room when we arrived but just asked the front desk and had it within the hour. Anything we needed we just asked and we got it promptly.Our room was on the main level facing the pool(all rooms do actually) with a balcony. Bathroom has a tub and shower with hot water There is a mini fridge stocked with beer pop and water daily if you want more just ask the water boy. Just outside of our room is a water cooler with purified water so if you needed extra water its readily available. There is an electronic safe in the room which cost about $20US which is worth it to us. We loved the size cause you walked out the resort and everything is right there-a few steps to the pool, beach,snack bar, buffet and disco. So if you were at the pool and forgot something you could easily go back to your room to get it so good for those with mobility issues. We were very satisfied with the food at the buffet and they had a very good variety with plenty of fresh fruits and vegetables. The snack bar at the pool made to order sandwiches,fries, ribs, wings and pizzas with soft icecream. They had shows nightly we just went to the mexican show and if you needed to find out what activities they had going on at the resort the schedule posted on a stand by the door to the pool. If you wanted to use a kayak or snorkel gear you just walked out towards the beach and the resources were to the left. They had pool activities every day with dance lessons and volleyball and yoga. We really had fun at the pool bar cause they have a menu of drinks-no watering them down either-you can always ask for grande ron!!We really made use of the bikes they had cause its free. All you do is go to the entertainment desk and ask and they will get you to sign it out and give you a lock. They are one speed california cruisers with the brake on the pedal.You have to ride them on 10th Ave which has a designated bike path and make your way to 5th Ave. You are not allowed to ride on 5th ave so we just found a pole on 5th and locked up our bikes and walked around then rode our bikes back. Its very safe to ride around town. We booked our excursions at the excursion desk.The ala' carte you have a choice between mexican and italian and we loved that you didn't have to make reservations! We went to the Italian 2x loved it best! If you want specific wine you need to pay extra.We bought a bottle of white Zinfandel for $13.99 which we usually pay at home. The boats are always in the front of the resort but walk a few feet down the beach you can find some big waves to play in. There are NO VENDERS on the beach to bug you they are all on 5th ave. One downfall at this resort is no free WIFI -which I needed to keep in touch with the kids back home so I wish the hotel would change this! There is a computer in the lobby to use for a fee!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank beach120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear beach120,

It is nice to hear that you had such a nice stay with us. We appreciate you emphasize in your comments the great value the hotel offers. We are glad to know you enjoyed our food’s variety and our different shows & activities.

As you kindly mentioned we are located near the 5th avenue, just a 10 minutes’ walk. It is right that the safe has an extra charge, but is just 2 usd per day.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family once again at The Reef Coco Beach.

Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,089)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,259 - 1,265 of 4,089 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

my husband and I arrived on Sunday and stayed until Thursday morning.

first, the negatives because there are some. the place desperately needs
attention or it will be closing very soon. just things like sweeping the
hallways. I never saw anyone sweep on our floor and it showed it.

No alarm clock in room or hairdryer. these are pretty basic.

the mixed drinks are horrible. the bartenders at the pool bar are rude
and tipping doesn't make a bit of difference. not once did we see anyone
else tipping. we tipped nearly every drink, the one bartender would not
even wait on me and this place was not busy. very disgusted.

however, there is also a lot of good here. some of the people, Karla,
Brenda, Ziola, Omar, Juan, Miguel, Teresa, Hilda and Wilberth make
this place. what an outstanding group of people. Fantastic service from all
of them along with the entire crew at the Miramar buffet.

Kudos to the chefs. we have stayed at many places much more expensive,
DREAMS, Iberostar, Occidental resort and have never had such good food.

you are in Mexico, not the United States, appreciate that this is a small
resort and they can't offer as many choices as the larger resorts. this
restaurant is very clean.

our room was adorable, but showed signs of age, the patio was very dingy
and uninviting. the room was very clean, bed was ok, plenty of towels
and lots of hot water for showers.

a little sprucing up and attention to detail, this place could be awesome.

the beach is so nice.

all in all, for the price paid, I consider it to have been a good value. no,
it's not the Ritz, but nor is the price tag. It is a very affordable place
that is nice for couples wanting rest and relaxation or families with
young children. The pool was very clean.

Security was available and visible constantly.

if you are traveling on a shoestring budget, I would recommend.

We felt in spite of the poor drinks, all else was pretty ok.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stevann0817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear stevann0817,

We are really sorry to hear you experienced some inconveniences during your stay and we would like to express our most sincere apology for this.

We are happy to inform you that we are preparing already for some nice renovations, including a facelift in the rooms and some other areas in the hotel.

We appreciate you emphasize in your comments the great value the hotel offers like the quality of our food.

We look forward to welcoming you once again at The Reef Coco Beach.

Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We just spent a week there and were really dissapointed. This is not a 4 star hotel as they advertise it. The location is great , but the hotel desperately needs updates everywhere. The rooms are old, standard rooms, as they call it, don't even have coffee maker, ironing board, and , believe it or not, a clock. For such "luxuries" you have to upgrade the room or pay extra for it. We got the clock and the coffee machine after four days of complaining to the front desk and the management. Hotel is seriously understuffed, management is trying to save wherever they can. Food was same every day for a week. Beer was not available one night in the sports bar, no mojitos in the lobby bar. The only place you can get coffee in the morning if you don't have the machine in your room, is the buffet restaurant. So dress first thing in the morning and walk there to get your coffee, because they don't have it in the lobby. Entertainmant and activities during the day are almost non-existing. it is a dead place, no music even. Non-motorized sports should be included in all-inclusive package, but there is nothing there; we asked for kayaks one day because they advertised it, but they didn't have them- "Maybe next week" was the answer. Housekeeping and ground maintenance are doing really good job there though. Front desk personnel is rude, terrible attitude. Pool and lobby bartenders are unfriendly and so slow that people give up on their drinks. I guess it is another way to save money. Beach lounge chairs ( cabanas) are not free, you have to pay $40 a day to use them, so they are empty all the time.We heard so many complaints from the guests there, and I am really suprised with some good reviews here. Makes me wonder if those people ever went to any other hotels on Riviera Maya or anywhere else for that matter. For the same money, or even less, you can book a great hotel with excellent service and experience a real Mexican hospitality. I consider this a waste of money and time and will never return to Coco Beach. Do yourself a favor and avoid it, go somewhere else and have a nice vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 45como
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear 45como,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

We are really sorry to hear you experienced some inconveniences and we would like to express our most sincere apology for this.

We are currently renovating the hotel little by little in order not to disturb the guests in house. The changes include a facelift of all the rooms within in the next three months. The Rooms will all have an iron board standard in the room and the coffee maker and extra amenities will be included in the superior package rooms.

The hotel offers a variety of food each day in our main buffet restaurant, thematic nights such as Mexican, Italian, Caribbean and Tex Mex are available at the Miramar buffet and also an Italian A la carta restaurant is available and you do not need to make reservations and our guests can go as many times as they want. It is a challenge to offer something to like for many different people and we are sorry we could not satisfy you.

We would like to mention that many of our happy travelers mention the great value you receive for money the hotel that you pay. We are sure that if you would do a comparison to find the same value for money, it will be a challenging job. We would like to offer you something special for your future travels. Please contact us directly.

Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was our first time at the Reef Coco Beach.......and we LOVED it!!! We have stayed at the Reef Playacar twice and we really liked that, but I think that this hotel trumps it! Now let me say that there were a few things that I think could be improved upon......the beds for one! yes, they are hard...but hey.....we didn't stay in them that long so they were fine.......and I will say that the food variety wasn't my favorite......the food was good, don't get me wrong, it just got kind of "the same" after staying 10 days!........but things we LOVED about his hotel......the size for one! we have stayed at several "mega"resorts where you have to take a 10 minute walk just to get to the pool or beach......at this one, no matter where your room was, you were only a minute or two away from the action! this was so nice when you forgot something in your room, needed to run to the restroom, etc...... we also enjoyed all the activities offered at the pool! I now that my family always seemed to have something to do! I loved that you didn't have to get to the pool at 7:00am to a spot under an umbrella! there were plenty of chairs to go around for everyone! and the pool......loved, loved, loved it!!!! we always hung out in the "activities" portion of the pool!....loved that there were little ledges around the interior of the pool that you could sit and read a book or watch the kids (and adults) play water polo! :) .......also loved that check in was so simple and we weren't immediately pressured into taking a "tour" to buy a timeshare! (we did get a note the morning after we got there, but we just ignored it and went about our business!) ....so bottom line is this......is this a five star hotel....NO!, but is it a nice, clean hotel that is a good value.....YES! is this resort family friendly.....YES!! would we go back.......I PLAN ON IT!!! :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank amarillomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Dear amarillomom,

It is nice to hear that you had such a nice stay with us. We appreciate you emphasize in your comments the great value the hotel offers.

On your next visit we recommend you to try our Italian restaurant a la carte and our Marina’s activities such as kayaks and motorized activities.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family once again at The Reef Coco Beach. We will surprise you with our Special Repeat Customer's Amenities.

Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was the second time we had stayed at the Reef Coco Beach. We love the location, right on the beach away from the hubbub of downtown and 5th Avenue but a short walk to everything. We also like the size. I believe they have around 200 rooms or so, so it's less crowded and hectic than other all-inclusives that we have stayed at. The rooms are simple but very clean and well maintained. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The food was plentiful and varied and they featured a different theme every night. Since I live in Minnesota and far from the tropics, I try and eat as much fresh fruit and fish as possible. I was not disappointed. One word of advice: it would be worth it to upgrade to an ocean view room. Our room was directly over the lobby and bar and it could get very noisy. Thankfully things seemed to calm down around 11. All in all, a great value for the money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear James T,

We are glad you had such a nice stay with us. In fact, we have 204 rooms! It is nice to hear you enjoyed our staff’s attention and our food and also thank you for pointing our the great value you get for the money you pay.

We look forward welcoming you and your party once again at The Reef Coco Beach.

Kind Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Had a few issues, it's Mexico don't expect a 5 star resort. We booked an ocean front room and had a hard time getting it, had to take regular for the first night and when we did get oceanfront the room had issues. Not as clean as I hoped but excursions were great and food and drinks were free. Not kept up as well as other places I have visited for sure. Rooms had dirt under the beds, some appliances don't work, had multiple rooms and at least one in each room that didn't work like the AC, TV, outlets...

Room Tip: 2401 is right near the night club, if you sleep before 2AM this is not the room for you, that's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Chris,

We are really sorry to hear you experienced some inconveniences during your stay and we would like to express our most sincere apology for this.

Be advised we always work with our guest’s comments for our improvement. The Management is currently planning room updates during the rest of the year, to make sure our future clients will not experience this.

We wish you happy future travels.

Kind Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My friends and I stayed at this hotel last week from 8/4 thru 8/11 and had a wonderful time. It is located about 8 minutes from fifth avenue but it has everything to spend the day enjoying the activities the hotel offers or simply enjoying the beatiful beach. There are different shows at night every day, I'm sure you will love them.

The hotel has the buffet restaurant, a Mexican and italian too (only for dinner after 6:30PM). Food is fairly good. Do not expect a lot as they repeat the menu every other day.

Taxi costs about $50 pesos/$4USD to go to 5th avenue if you take it outside the hotel, but if you walk a few blocks to the 10th avenue, you pay $30 pesos only. The drivers always drive in different directions to get you there and to seem that is far but in reality it is extremely easy to get there even by walking.

At the hotel there is a guy named Jorge "Luigi" from cocobongo selling tickets to that place. I highly recommend it if you want to see a 4 hr show pretty similar to what you see in Vegas. No need to spend the $120USD VIP tickets, you can buy $44USD tickets and access around 11:30pm and will not miss the show, will have all the drinks you can have and will be standing as the rest of the people that pays $80USD.

Most importantly, be prepared with $1USD bills for tipping. Eveyone there make their living from that as their salaries are very low. You will be treated as a king or queen if you do it, believe me.

Room Tip: Rooms on 2nd floor between 2331-2361 (right above the spa). There is a sports bar on the other side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Sandra,

It is nice to hear that you had such a nice stay with us. We appreciate all your comments!

As you kindly mention our resort is located just a few steps from 5th Avenue, a short 15 minutes walk and all of our guests can enjoy the shopping area or nightlife.

Has been a real pleasure to hosting you at the reef coco beach, do not hesitate to contact us for future stays.

Kind Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
2,842 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#22 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,608 reviews
0.9 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#41 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
#98 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
845 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Reef Playacar
The Reef Playacar
#92 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4,919 reviews
5.1 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#70 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
13,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Coco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Coco Beach

Address: Costera Norte S.N. Lte. 1 Mza. 7, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#52 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#59 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#70 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $163 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Reef Coco Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 30 miles south of Cancun, The Reef Cococbeach is the perfect compliment to the white sandy beaches and turquoise waters of this world renowned tropical paradise. Just a short walk from the picturesque town of Playa del Carmen, you will enjoy our personalized service, the privacy you desire in a resort destination and the entertainment of one of the best night life's the Mayan Riviera has to offer.Our location provides easy access to the many attractions the Mayan Riviera has to offer such as Playa del Carmen's famous 5th avenue, Playacar's Bird Sanctuary, Playacar Golf Club, Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Tulum and much, much more.The hotel offers 196 comfortable rooms Caribbean style, our pleasant rooms consist of one king size bed or two double beds, terrace or balcony, air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini fridge, TV,hair dryer, vanity mirror, telephone and bath room with bahttub and shower combination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Reef Coco Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Coco Bay Mexico
Grand Coco Bay Playa Del Carmen
Grand Coco Bay Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Coco Bay Riviera Maya
The Reef Coco Beach Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing