We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Reef Coco Beach
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Fifty Suites(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pueblito Luxury Condohotel(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel 52(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mahekal Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Portea Hotel(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Real Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,289)
Filter reviews
4,289 results
Traveler rating
1,148
1,659
813
378
291
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,148
1,659
813
378
291
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboats anchoreditalian restaurantsmall resortlobby barentertainment staffnachoscab ridepool viewrecommend this resortall inclusive resortfifth avenueglass of champagnesister resortspecialty restaurantsnight lifea great vacationplenty of chairs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,374 - 1,379 of 4,289 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Our rooms were filthy, bugs, stains on beds, chairs and walls. Balcony door would not lock, room (non-smoking) smelled of smoke, broken drawers, shower head. Phone did not work, reported but never replaced. Some in our group placed in room just above disco/bar. Music made it impossible to sleep. All inclusive food and drinks of the lowest possible quality. Precooked hamburgers and hot dogs, nachos. Pre mixed drinks that the lowest quality alcohol is added to. The service was the worst I have seen in Mexico. Servers, front desk have no interest in addressing any issues and are openly hostile to guests. I would not return to this hotel if it were free!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StealthTraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear StealthTraveler5,

On behalf of the Management we would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Be sure all your comments will be addressed in order to pursue our improvement.

We are very sorry we were not able to meet your expectations and we wish you happy future travels.

Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

This is my first day, I'm still here. Staff and service is great, everybody is friendly and attentive. All inclusive has been great, good food and drinks. Location is phenomenal, and pool is great. Cons, hard bed, missing iron, hot water went out, cable went out, but when it was reported, it got fixed following day.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sergio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Sergio,

Thanks for choosing The Reef Coco Beach for your current vacations, we hope you will be able to enjoy all hotel’s activities as well as restaurants & shows. Remember there is a special coffee time from 4 pm to 6 pm next to the Lobby bar. We are really sorry to hear you experienced some inconveniences but happy everything got fixed inmediately.

Please let us know if you require further attention. Karla Herrera is our Guest Service Manager and avaible in the lobby area.

Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

travel a lot and that place is nice ,good situation near the 5th avenue,upgrade ocean front room with the sunbed make the difference for us, beach close to our balcony 2267 one king bed
comfortable, hamac on the balcony good maid service ,no beers in the fridge only complain did not filled up every two day,s the soft drinks,food was good but cold a bit sometime beach is the nicest place in playa no waves,clear water,the staff are friendly,thanks to omer and vencia at the reception to manage my upgrade and Victor welcomed us who take care of our things,2 dollars a day charge for the safe could be free be better,drinks were ok but water down a bit beer was better,at night pretty quiet ,but the 5th close and all the action until the morning if you want,,security is good guard at the beach 24hrs,good things about that resort it is small not to many walking,everything close beach,restaurants,pool was clean and nice do recommend
the reef coco beach and will return

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank meli10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Meli,

It is nice to hear that you had such a nice stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you and your family once again at The Reef Coco Beach. Please contact the hotel directly before your next stay so we can make sure you get our Special Repeat Customer's Amenities.

Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Me and my wife got the deal from Living Social and traveled there for our 7th anniversary in May 2013. When we arrived to our room, the lamp fixtures were broken on both sides of the bed. We went to the front desk immediately and they sent someone over to fix them but it took 2 hours for them to fix it. The second night we were trying to sleep but were kept awake by people near the pool making noise. The night club was right across our room and didn't close until 2:00 A.M. On our last day, on the morning of our anniversary, my wife and I were sleeping and the toilet pipe broke. We woke up on our anniversary day to find our room was flooded with toilet water and smelt real bad!! Both our suitcases, shoes, clothes everything was wet. We went to complain to the manager but he ignored it and offered only to help us dry our wet clothes. We told him that the suitcases are wet and we have to travel to our next location and he didn't care. We wanted to report this matter to living social as we had bought the tickets through them so we asked for a written statement of what happened, but the manger Alfonso wouldn't give it to us. He said its not in our policy. When we asked him to show us the policy, he said its not here. He would not help us at all and said its a minor issue that happened, an accident. We asked him to reimburse us for our stuff that got damaged and he thought it was a joke and said we don't do that here. At the end, we asked him to write a memo of what happened and he did but in Spanish which we did not understand. Coming back to US we asked our Spanish friend to translate that and the memo written stated that the customers (us) were asking for money back and we were harassing him (seriously??) ! Fortunately we took pictures of the damage when we were still in the hotel so we could show it as a proof to living social. Alfonso the manger even got mad at us for taking pictures. He called the cleaning lady so she could clean the area ASAP so we could not take pictures. We reported this to living social with the pictures and the letter from Alfonso. Even the staff from living social tried to reach the hotel but the hotel staff would not respond to them. Finally we told living social that we were going to report this matter to better business bureau and then we got the refund. Living social is the only one who listened to us after making 10-15 calls but still we thank them. As far as the hotel is concerned all I would say is that they spoiled out anniversary day. I would pay 50-or 100 bucks more but not go through this mess ever again!
Now I am really surprised that this Coco Reef deal is up on Liv Soc again in July 2013. But its cheaper than before but seriously you get what u pay for. Check out my pics. I would not recommend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Superna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Superna,

We are really sorry to hear you experienced some inconveniences during your stay and we would like to express our most sincere apology for this.

Our main concern at that time were your belongings apparently wet or damaged. We formally invited you to make your complaint through the Agency to determine whether there would be some kind of refund for what happened according to your request.

We have reviewed our records and still do not have some kind of refund request by the Agency.

We appreciate your comments.

Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We enjoyed our trip to Playa del Carmen last week at the Reef Coco Beach. Overall, it had everything we were looking for- it was a great value for the amenities provided and we only had a few issues. I actually really liked the fact that it was a smaller resort- it was at a great location and still had all of the amenities we wanted. We loved the beach and had no issues getting lounge chairs- after getting pretty burned the first day we opted to sit under the umbrellas the next few days and had no trouble getting one even mid-morning. The only drawback from the location is what other reviewers have mentioned that there are a lot of boats parked out front of the resort in the water. The boats actually come up to the shore to drop people on and off, so I was a little nervous swimming. If you walk a bit farther down the beach you can swim in open water, but then you're a bit farther from the drinks! Our room was nice and overlooked the pool, but the bed was definitely rock hard. We got over it and enjoyed the room and the balcony, although at night we could hear music coming from somewhere that was kind of annoying. We just turned up the fan to drown it out and slept OK. The food was pretty good; we ate mostly at the buffet which had a pretty good selection. I was always able to find something to eat. We ate at the Mexican restaurant upstairs one night but weren't crazy about the food or the service so we opted to just do the buffet. The food or service in the restaurant wasn't bad necessarily, just that we felt it wasn't worth dressing up for at night and we liked the casual buffet better. The drink selection is good, and we definitely received better drinks after we tipped the bartenders. Overall we had no issues getting drinks or snacks in a timely manner from the pool bar and snack bar. We never had to wait long at either. The resort didn't seem packed, so it could have been due to this as well. I did see some reviews complaining about the weak drinks, but I honestly thought it was probably better that way because we were drinking pretty much all day and would have been in trouble if the drinks were strong! They had all different kinds of liquor and a few drinks that I had never tried before, so overall I was happy with the bar service.

The staff were pretty great as well. I thought the bartenders and restaurants staff were all very friendly and attentive. The housekeeper did a great job- I think we tracked a ton of sand in our room (no where to wipe off) but every day the housekeeper got rid of every single grain!

We did have a couple experiences that we weren't too thrilled about, but didn't let it ruin out trip. The night before we left a fuse blew in our room and the air conditioner and outlets went out. Not a big deal- we called the front desk and it took almost two hours to get it fixed and the room was really hot! The balcony didn't have screens so we were leery about opening it and letting bugs in the room. Finally it got fixed, and we went to bed. Then about an hour later someone started pounding on our door and it was a bartender with some champagne and a bottle of vodka, when we explained it wasn't ours and they left. We went to bed again, and then just as we had fallen asleep, someone called our room and when we answered said "Hola" and hung up. We were pretty frustrated that night because we had to get up early the next morning.

The other thing we didn't like is that the Concierge kept trying to get us to go over to their sister hotel down the road- sounds like a nice offer but she was very persistant and pushy. First she offered us $25 and then $100 to go to this resort for the day and it made us very uncomfortable. I'm not sure why they wanted us to go so bad, but we were both kind of weirded out.

I think that those few issues were flukes and I didn't get the impression that that kind of stuff was the norm. I would definitely recommend that people give this resort a try, as we had a very nice relaxing time which is what we were looking for. I think that if given the opportunity to return we would, but maybe next time we'll check out another resort just to see what's out there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank viajeravoyageuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear viajeravoyageuse,

We appreciate your comments and we would like to thank you for choosing The Reef Coco Beach for your recent vacation.

Unfortunately we cannot do anything about the boats on the sea because they have the Government permission to be installed in there.

We are glad you tried our food and our drinks variety, next time we invite you to try the Italian restaurant and our Mayan coffee at the “coffee bar” on the lobby from 16:00 to 18:00 pm.

We are really sorry to hear you experienced some inconveniences with the A/C and our bartenders confusion during your stay and we would like to express our most sincere apology for this.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family once again at The Reef Coco Beach. Please contact the hotel directly before your next stay so we can make sure you get our Special Repeat Customer's Amenities.

Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews