We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Reef Coco Beach
Nearby Hotels
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun(Playa del Carmen)
$445
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
$529
$348
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)
$1,323
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla(Playa del Carmen)
$1,852
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Viceroy Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
$509
$411
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banyan Tree Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
$899
$836
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$682
$466
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$1,000
$462
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rosewood Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
$1,125
$806
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$453
$439
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,290)
Filter reviews
4,290 results
Traveler rating
1,149
1,659
813
378
291
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,149
1,659
813
378
291
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboats anchoreditalian restaurantsmall resortlobby barentertainment staffnachoscab ridepool viewrecommend this resortall inclusive resortfifth avenueglass of champagnesister resortspecialty restaurantsnight lifea great vacationplenty of chairs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,410 - 1,415 of 4,290 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This was our first trip to Mexico and we chose Grand Coco Bay because it was a small resort and the Sunwing brochure indicated it was a "Family Recommended Resort". My husband, 12 year and 14 year old sons and I had the most amazing family vacation. We will definitely be returning next year. When we arrived on the April 14th we were greeted by David, who stored our luggage for us until our room was available. Like all of the staff we would encounter throughout our stay he was extremely friendly and was always smiling. The resort was very clean. Staff were constantly cleaning the grounds, sweeping the stairs and walkways, collecting glasses from the poolside tables and snack bar area. Security guards even collected glasses from the beach area. Valeria, Daniella, Carlos and Teotl are very dedicated to their jobs. They worked in the pool area all day doing activiities with the guests and then were enthusiastically involved in the nightly shows. The buffet staff were also top notch. Carlos greeted us with a smile 3 times daily and Daniel, Neider and Theresa provided efficient, prompt service while we dined. My youngest son especially enjoyed the spaghetti prepared by Juan the Pasta man! He always put on an impressive preparation show. We also did a family photo session with Julio and commend him on his professionalism and friendliness. The resort is lucky to have such a great staff.
We stayed in room 2409 and had an awesome view of both the pool and beach area. Other reviews have mentioned the noise of the disco at night, but we heard nothing of the sort. It was very quiet at night.
We were only 3 blocks from 5th avenue and felt very safe walking there to visit the shops. Wait to buy your souveniers here as they are less expensive than at the gift shop in the resort. Be careful of the invitation to visit the "sister resort" to experience the breakfast, get a massage or $100 cash for an excursion. It is a "time-share" seminar. We didn't fall for it, but another couple we met did and wasted a 1/2 day of vacation.
We made many new friends here and started planning our return next year before even leaving on the 21st. Best vacation experience EVER!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trudi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear Trudi F,

Thanks for taking your valuable time to send us your sincere comments that help us in our guest satisfaction and quality service.

We are very happy to know that you liked our hotel and staff; we will send your comments to our entertainment staff, food and beverage service at Miramar, .

We would be very pleased to welcome you in a next visit, thank you for recommends us, please contact us at guestservice1@thereefresorts.com

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

First off, we have stayed at 2 other hotels on the same beach as this one and found this hotel to be poor. The only reason I give this place a poor instead of terrible is because of the entertainment staff. They made our stay worth it by always having something going on. Great people!
There are more cons then pros so we will start with them.

Cons:
No Alarm Clock

A/C plugs for tv, fridge and washroom only not bedside or anywhere near the bed for your phone, tablet, camera or recharging of batteries.

One dim light when you walk in and the other dim light is above the patio door. WAY to dark in the room, almost needed a flashlight to see in the safe.

When we first walked in I was surprised to see how out of date the rooms were, for the price we were paying there should have been pictures, blinds and a tv from this century!

Air Conditioning hardly put out cold air. I asked them to fix it and nothing changed.
It leaked all over the floor a few days later. (They did clean it up right away)

This is what really picked my [--], they wanted to charge us $160 for each device on Wifi for 2 weeks. To get Wifi on all 2 phones and a tablet for 2 weeks it would have costed $480US!!!!!!!! They only let you use it on 1 device only... an extra $160 for another! Scammers!
We walked down the street to starbucks who had Wifi and all you had to do was buy something for the code.

Daily charge for the code to the safe in the closet... Think it was $3 per day. Another Scam!

If you want normal alcohol from Canada or the US you have to pay $18 per day otherwise you get their cheap crap drinks which they use sugar to hide the awful taste. Never seen this at ANY OTHER HOTEL before and it's completely ridiculous.

Pool closes at 9 like any other hotel.. which sucks. FYI after it gets dark do not look in the pool or you will be disgusted by what you see at the bottom lite up by the pool lights. Nasty stuff!

As for diving I seriously recommend you go to Reef Quest Divers who are at the blue parrot beach club, 30 minute walk down the beach from this place... unless you like leaky equipment and I mean a loss of 1000psi in 30min on top of my normal consumption.

Now for the Pro's......

Entertainment staff!!!!!! I love you three!!!!!!!

Food was better here then any other Mexican hotel I've stayed at(4 others), little cold but good!

Security is insane! 9 guards at the front and 2 at the back. We were told the land owner and the hotel owner are fighting.

Always something going on, either games on the beach, pool volleyball or the nightly shows they put on.

Beach is amazing, there is 30 boats off shore(because of the natural break that's further out) but we liked the way it looked. 30 seconds to the left and zero boats so they are not an issue.

Grounds are very well kept.

The workers are much more friendly then the front staff. Especially Mario, Little dude's cool!

And thats that, There are many hotels on this beach and I would sadly recommend you find one elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 300winmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear 300winmag

In the name of all Grand coco bay staff We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your vacations and writing a review in Tripadvisor about your experience among us.
We would like to express you how sorry we are to hear that we could not fulfill all your expectations regarding our hotel facilities and services, especially those related to the extra services which are not part of the all inclusive food and beverage plan.

We apologize for the inconveniences regarding your comments about the maintenance observations you kindly let us know, also I have shared your concern about the cold food at Miramar buffet with our Executive Chef so we can work on this matter.

In case you decide to give us the chance to show you our improvements, please contact us before your arrival guestservice1@thereefresorts.com
Yours sincerely,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

we had an excellent vacation here. The resort was small enough that you didnt have to walk a long way to get anywhere but big enough that it had everything we wanted and needed. The staff was super friendly and accomodating. Carlos , the travel rep at the hotel was great and got us wonderful excursions. I think all 6 of us would return to this resort another time because it was so wonderful. Excellent shopping was just blocks away and we did walk there twice in our 6 day 5 night stay. I would recommend this to all

Room Tip: We asked for 2 quiet rooms away from the bars and activities so we could rest when we wanted and we got the 3rd floor end of the hallway and it was an excellent location.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NanHetzler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear NanHetzler,



First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Grand coco bay for your vacations.

We are glad to hear that your group had such an amazing vacation with us. We thank you for all your comments regarding the service and facilities.

We sincerely hope to welcome all the 6 ladies back in a near future, thank you for recommending us.

Kind regards, the management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Usually the sequel is a disappointment. Maybe because you romanticized the first
one too much in your mind or it was a subject that can't be improved on.
However, our sequel trip to Grand Coco Bay (Reef) blew our original experience
out of the turquoise water.
There are three Distinct reasons we would return for a third stay.
1) Location Location Location !
Located directly on a white sand beach, which melts into a blue lagoon filled
with quaint fishing and diving boats, surrounded by a reef filled with fish.
You could literally sand in te swimming pool and thro a coconut, into the ocean, the main restaurant.
Located at the northern point of Playa Del Carmen. It is away from the crowd
but, only a ten minute walk via beach or street to the incredible night life of
5th Avenue.
2)The staff at the resort put the serve back in the word service! From Karina in
public relations to the front desk you receive 5 star service even before you
are checked in. The animation team is second to none and we have stayed at a
dozen resorts. Val, Teohol and Carlos are especially committed. They work long
hours, treat each person the same and participate fully in each activity they
put on.
3) The Coco is very clean and well maintained. The grounds crew groom the
hedges, and palm trees meticulously. The pool is fresh, with no algae visible!
The meals are creative with a focus on health and nutrition. Fresh fruit and
vegetables are available in good supply at every meal.
With a combination of location, quality staff and clean quality product this
facility is a sure bet for your next visit to the Mayan Riviera

Room Tip: choose a room from the second or third floor. It will cost more bur a pool view is worth it.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank philandkimtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear philandkimtaylor,


Thank you so much for sharing your experience. It seems like you had an excellent 2ndstay and enjoyed what we had to offer. We strive to adhere to our guests every need above and beyond their expectations and we hope this is what you encountered with us.

Thank you again for your review and nice words about our staff.
We hope we can welcome you back soon, for your 3rd stay at Grand coco!.

Best regards, the management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Overall, our stay at the Grand Coco Bay was very positive. It's very secure (for example, it's gated, and when a cab or van picks you up, security takes the plate information so they know where you are), and as many have said, the staff is AMAZING. It's close to everything, the pool and swim up bar are fantastic, and while yes, there are many boats parked right out front, if you literally take twenty steps in either direction, you have clear water. The only downside was the dinner buffet - definitely choose the amazing Italian or Mexican restaurants instead, but overall for an all-inclusive, it was superb. I'd highly recommend this hotel to budget-minded individuals looking for a fun, stress-free vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sapphireambition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear sapphireambition,

We would like to express our gratitude for dedicating your time and attention to share your kind compliments on our hotel; We are more than pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay in Grand coco bay

We especially want to thank you for your positive comments regarding our friendly-AMAZING staff, the hotel location, facilities, and the stress-free vacation you had!
Talking about the dinner food selection, I took note and we really thank you for your observations.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at in the next future.

Sincerely, The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews