We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“grand Coco Bay Review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Reef Coco Beach
Ranked #104 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“grand Coco Bay Review”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

First time to Mexico (March 14 th - March 21st ) Was very pleased how warmly we were welcomed at Grand Coco Bay. We were offered a glass of champagne at the front desk upon arrival. Our room was quickly assigned to us by OMAR and our bags were taken up promptly. This is a small resort close to everything including 5th Avenue ( for shopping and entertainment ) We walked there and did not worry about anything but, you could also take a taxi for ($5.00) The food was excellent also the a la cart, snack bar and the buffet. We would like to acknowledge Carlos at the buffet for being very welcoming to please his customers. On our last day he remembered that we were leaving and he treated us very graciously. For excursions you need to see the Lomas travel agent in his office in the lobby. We booked a trip with them to Chichen Itza and were treated like VIP. Our maid Griselda was superior ( always smiling) and remained there when our TV was replaced in our room that was not working properly. We have travelled before to Cuba, Domician Republic, Barbados and a beach is a beach but, it is always the people you meet and their desire to make you feel welcome in their country that makes the difference. WE WILL BE BACK.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 901Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear 901Anne,

Thanks for taking your valuable time to send us your sincere comments that help us in our guest satisfaction and quality service.

We are very happy to know that you liked our hotel and staff, We will send your comments to Omar, Carlos and Griselda, they will be very glad to read your opinion .

We would be very pleased to welcome you in a next visit.

Kind regards, the management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,014
    1,525
    724
    354
    268
See reviews for
1,052
1,547
102
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2013

So I just recently got back from Grand Coco Bay today & was really sad to be leaving. When we first got there, the staff were VERY welcoming & super nice. They greeted us with lots of smiles. I also met David who is very handsome and his gorgeous eyes caught my attention! (; David helped my family and I through out our stay and so did many other staff. Everyone there was suuuper nice! They helped us to our rooms and were very patient with us. My sister and I had our own seperate room from our parents & our room wasnt all that. The fan was broken, but we had it quickly fixed. The toilet also got clogged but they worked fast to get that fixed too. The maids do a great job of cleaning and were there to make your room whenever you needed. The pool was amazing and really relaxing. I didnt spend much time at the beach but I did get a chance to take a few walks and the view was beautiful!! The snack bar was my favorite because we got delicious food. Francisco was super nice & friendly. He also cooked amazing food at the snack bar. 5th avenue was also close by so my family and I took a walk down there to shop around. The entertainment staff was very energetic and had many shows around 8pm almost every night. The place overall was just sucha great and fun experience. I almost cried when we were leaving. I seriously did not want to leave. We stayed there for about a week. & I wouldnt mind staying longer. I wish I did stay longer and get to know people better. But I had such a great time and would love to go back anytime!! (: I would recommend this place to anybody whose looking for a good get away.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baobaiixox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Baobaiixox,

Thank you for choosing Grand coco bay for your vacation in Playa del Carmen We are grateful for such a detailed review of your stay at our resort. We really enjoy reading your comments about you enjoying the friendly and professional service of all our staff. Your positive words regarding our hotel amenities are much appreciated.

We truly appreciate all guest feedback as it provides inspiration to our team and allows us to continuously strive to achieve the utmost level in customer satisfaction.

We hope to welcome you back in a near future and have the pleasure to host you!

Kind regards the management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Don't believe all the hype about Time Share Agents. We didn't encounter one of them. We arrived in our room only to find the bath tub and sink both plugged. It took three days to get the problems solved. The towels were stained and torn. The pillow case had blood on it and wasn't changed. The patio door lock was broken and would not lock. When we asked for a second face cloth and toilet paper, on both ocassions we were told "Later!". The dining restaurants and buffet, had reasonable selections, and the entertainment were good. The Lomas travel agent steered us in the right directions. I still can't believe we counted 16 security people outside in the front of the hotel and another two or three in the rear at the beach on a daily basis. We did see one of the lobby attendants cleaning ash trays with her bare hands on a couple of ocassions and then not washing up after. The odds are not in favor of another stay at the Grand Coco Bay Hotel, perhaps at the Iberostar or Playa Paraiso.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sampaguita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Sampaguita B,


We appreciate your valuable comments and would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are deeply sorry to read that you experience some inconveniences during your stay at our resort as we strive for each and all of our guest's entire satisfaction and comfort.
We sincerely hope to have the privilege of hosting you back in a future, this in order to improve the expressed impressions and provide you with our exceptional service and characteristic hospitality.

Regards the management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa del Carmen hotels

Lake Elmo, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We were there from 3/15-3/24. We arrived early in the day (before check in)and the room I had reserved was ready and a glass of Champagne! Nice surprise! The front desk was very helpful and the bell man wonderful! We had an ocean front room on the second floor on the south side of the building(2267). The view was fantastic! It is true that the club next door can be VERY loud. It was only on Sat and Sun night although the following weekend it wasn't? Although the resort is dated it is very clean. The pool area is nice and kept clean. It can get pretty windy and of course there will be leaves and such in the pool-by next morning it is clean.
I was worried slightly about some of the reviews I had read. I feel that our experience was great! We felt the security was fine...in fact I appreciated that when we left in a cab the security took down the plate number and name of the driver along with our room number. When we came back same thing. Although after a few times we just walked to 5th Ave and felt very safe!
The food was OK which I think most inclusive resorts are after day 3 it all seems the same. At the pool the food was good loved the cheeseburgers! We did not try the Mexican ala cart-we did try the Italian-not a huge fan. The pasta night at the buffet was much better!! :) The Spanish coffee in the lobby was great with a show!!
The beach was beautiful and loved that we could walk forever up or down and feel completley safe and never bothered by solicitors.
ALL of the staff were wonderful. I would go back. The price was right and the location could not be beat!
The day before leaving Katrina was very helpful with getting us checked in with the airline and printing our boarding pass.
My only suggestion would be to up the price slightly and include the safe and premium liquor!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SB1012-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear SB1012-2012,


All Grand coco bay staff would like to express our gratitude for dedicating your time and attention to share your kind compliments on our hotel; We are more than pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay in Grand coco bay, especially want to thank you for your positive comments regarding our friendly and helpful staff.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at in the next future.

Sincerely the management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnprior, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We were there the first week of March 2013. I was there wIth three budies for a "guys" getaway. We all really enjoyed the fact that there was only 200 rooms. We could see the Lobby, Pool, Buffet, and Beach from any balcony. We did not spend more than 5 mins going
to any place within the resort. This is a nice change as compared to the "MEGA" resorts we had been staying at. True that you will not have the big selection of food at the buffet. We actally ate 3 dinners in town on 5th Ave. The Blue Lobster was our best pick to eat with the Tequila Barrell as our best place to sit down with a beer and people watch. We were only a 15 min. walk to 5th Ave. or a $5.00 cab ride. Great location and met many great/fun people. Staff were excellent. We would go back in a flash.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ArnpriorBobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear ArnpriorBobby,

We appreciate your kind comments and would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to learn that you had a wonderful stay at our beautiful resort and will be very honored in welcoming you back in a near future (flash).

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

My wife and I just returned on March 16th from our 7th visit to GCB. We first went in 2006 as our first trip as a couple and returned this time for our honeymoon.

We travelled through Funjet using the hotel only option given that we flew using frequent flier miles. The rate for a standard room amounted to about $200 per night. Prior to leaving I sent an email to the hotel requesting a room with a king size bed on a top floor in a quiet part of the hotel. I was promptly sent a reply that my request was forwarded to the front desk.

We arrived late on Friday evening and were given room 2435 which is on the 4th floor tucked into a corner near the front of the hotel on the south side. We initially were concerned about the room location because we had never stayed in that part of the hotel before. We usually stayed in rooms about midway in the hotel which overlooked the pool and were closer to the ocean. When we woke up the next morning however we were quite happy with our room. We had a clear view of the ocean and the balcony was larger than most as well as being very private. I should also mention that when we arrived to our room that there was a bottle of champagne chilling in an ice bucket in honor of our honeymoon. Another bottle of champagne showed up the next night as well.

The resort has gone through many transitions since we first start coming. Back then the resort was in a more desolate area of town but now you see more and more growth in the area which in my opinion makes for a safer environment. The many mentions of the extensive security in prior reviews should not be of a concern. As it was explained to me, there are two sets of partners vying for control of the resort. As a result, each time management changes they bring in their own security as well as other staff. It appears that they have given up on all the shifting and just keep both security teams there.

There have been some nice improvements since last there 3 years ago. There's been new lounge chairs added. The option of renting day beds. We particularly enjoyed the Spanish / Mayan coffee served in the afternoon. It's also nice that you no longer need to make reservations for the specialty restaurants. The buffet could use a little work as it can get pretty monotonous after about day three.

We like this resort because it's small and comfortable. Nothing fancy but we don't need fancy. Just someplace that is clean, comfortable and convenient. The staff are the best with everyone as accommodating as possible. Many thanks to our favorite bartenders Gilberto at the lobby and Abellardo at the pool. These 2 guys have been there forever and always remember us when we return. We met Carlos who was running the show at the buffet and was always a pleasure to talk to.

All said and done we will continue to visit GCB when traveling to Playa and look forward to our next trip

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fletch511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Fletch511,

We would like to express our gratitude for dedicating your time and attention to share your kind compliments on our hotel; we are more than pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay in Grand coco bay

We especially want to thank you for your positive comments regarding our friendly and helpfull staff.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at in the next future.

Sincerely, the management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This resort is great for the price. We booked a last minute Christmas vacation here, and we were a bit apprehensive upon reading some of the reviews. Its by no means a 5 star, but it is great nonetheless. The accommodations are adequate, the drinks are great, and there is lots of great food to choose from. You can't beat the location which is a 15 minute walk along a busy stretch of beautiful beach to 5th ave. The resort is on a small stretch of beach and sometimes hard to get a chair in the morning. Would return to this resort if this price is right!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Sandy C,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. It seems like you had an excellent stay and enjoyed what we had to offer. We strive to adhere to our guests every need above and beyond their expectations and we hope this is what you encountered with us.

Thank you again for your review and nice words about the resort location.
We hope we can welcome you back soon.

Best regards.
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.0 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#50 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
664 reviews
15.8 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,370 reviews
25.0 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#18 of 23 in Akumal
2,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,653 reviews
20.5 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
15.6 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Coco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Coco Beach

Property: The Reef Coco Beach
Address: Costera Norte S.N. Lte. 1 Mza. 7, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#51 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#60 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#71 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Reef Coco Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 30 miles south of Cancun, The Reef Cococbeach is the perfect compliment to the white sandy beaches and turquoise waters of this world renowned tropical paradise. Just a short walk from the picturesque town of Playa del Carmen, you will enjoy our personalized service, the privacy you desire in a resort destination and the entertainment of one of the best night life's the Mayan Riviera has to offer.Our location provides easy access to the many attractions the Mayan Riviera has to offer such as Playa del Carmen's famous 5th avenue, Playacar's Bird Sanctuary, Playacar Golf Club, Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Tulum and much, much more.The hotel offers 196 comfortable rooms Caribbean style, our pleasant rooms consist of one king size bed or two double beds, terrace or balcony, air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini fridge, TV,hair dryer, vanity mirror, telephone and bath room with bahttub and shower combination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Reef Coco Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Coco Bay Mexico
Grand Coco Bay Playa Del Carmen
Grand Coco Bay Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Coco Bay Riviera Maya
The Reef Coco Beach Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing