We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff but too bad there was no hot water”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Reef Coco Beach
Ranked #104 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here on a recent 9 person family trip. The staff was great! Our room was fine, the staff did a great job of keeping the rooms clean and in good shape. The location was also a plus, right on the beach and walking distance to town. The down side of our room was that we had no hot water in our room and barely any water pressure for showers. We complained several times but no one was able to solve the problem. Therefore we "showered" by pouring cups of cold water on ourselves in the bath tub. It gave us an authentic Mexican experience! The food was OK but worked out well for us because there was enough variety for the kids in our group.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rdreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear rdreal,

We would like to express our gratitude for dedicating your time and attention to share your kind compliments on our hotel; we are more than pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay at grand coco bay.

The situation you mention about hot water is solved now, we do experience a boiler failure.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at in the next future.
Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,968)
There are newer reviews for The Reef Coco Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,282 - 1,288 of 3,974 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

We took our four kids here last week. Was a little scared of all the bad reviews I read before going. I attempted many emails/calls to make sure we would have joining rooms since we had to reserve two rooms. We were assured our request would be made, but when got there that didn't happen. The rooms were still next to each other and we were ok with that. Though they went above and beyond to make us happy about the room situation,so they gave us the option to have the suite. It was HUGE and far better than our rooms we had with no extra charge. People complain of the front staff, but they were the best to us. The only problem we really encountered was that the bars needed more workers. One bartender for a resort was unpleasantly irritating. The food wasn't the greatest, but we expected that for a three star. It's true that you get what you pay for and you need to remember that your here on vacation! You need to make the best of it!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank linz4466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear linz4466,

Thanks for taking your valuable time to send us your sincere comments that help us in our guest satisfaction and quality service.

We are very happy to know that you liked our hotel and staff; We would be very pleased to welcome you in a next visit at grand coco bay.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My wife and I just got back from a week at the Grand Coco Bay. We had seen numerous poor reviews and some good ones but we opted to give the resort a try. Our goals were simple: have a room directly on the beach, have it be clean and be very close to Playa. We had a 1st floor room 30 yards from the beach. It was very convenient and the beach is decent. Lots of boats moored in front but no big deal to us. It took us about 7 minutes to walk from the resort to the north end of 5th Avenue. The north end of the avenues is mostly restaurants and much less "hectic" than the south end. So our goals were realized.

There were some downsides that I think the management team should work on. You have to pay 3 USD per day to use the safe in the room. Really? For 3 bucks make it part of the deal - don't force people to purchase it. We all know everyone will buy the safe so why beat us over the head with it.

Also, you can't get premium alcohol (Captain Morgan, Grey Goose, etc.) unless EVERYONE in the room upgrades. That's 18 USD per day per person. Kind of spendy don't you think?

Third, the refrigerator in the rooms only gets stocked every other day and content is very specific. Two beers, two Diet-Cokes, two Cokes and two of some other kind of soda. Re-stocking is something you will pay extra for. Seems kind of strange but....

The restaurants and buffet were good, the rooms were clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. I saw the pool being cleaned every morning and the beach was packed every day. This resort is a good base of operations for jaunts into Playa plus longer trips to Xel-Ha, Xcaret, ruins, etc. The Lomas Travel group based in the hotel are great - every time we've dealt with Lomas Travel we've been super satisfied. A cab ride to the south end of 5th avenus is 5 bucks and takes about 8 minutes.

Bottom line: If you expect a 5-Star resort for these prices you will be greatly disappointed. Better spend the extra money and go to the Valentin Maya or Royal Hideaway. If you are looking for a clean, reasonably priced resort close to Playa and aren't afraid of some disrepair then this place might work for you. A note on security - they have 2-3 guys 24/7 on the beach and about 6-8 guys full time at the front gate. No other resort that we've seen has this security presence. Not real sure why this need but we certainly didn't feel unsafe.

Room Tip: The rooms on the beach on the south end are great but beware: there is a disco (next bar to the sout...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rotiferboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear rotiferboy,

Thank you for your detailed hotel review. We appreciate your positive comments about the hotel.

We have shared your comments with our hotel team and we are all very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. The best reward that we can have is your compliments.
We also value you comment regarding our a la carte restaurant services.

We hope to welcome you back to Grand coco bay at some stage in the near future.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

9 of us went to Grand Coco Bay for my wife's birthday and had a great time. This is not a 5 star, but:
- the food was excellent and the 2 order restaurants (a la carte) were great and easy to get into. We went to the Itallian one twice. (There are no reservations, but we had no trouble getting in)
- the people were great and very helpful.
- the pool area is really nice, with lots of chairs and lots of room. (Plus a pool bar and separate snack shack)
- the resort is small but really well laid out.
- the rooms were clean.
- the grounds were really maintained well.
- it was a 5 minute walk to 5th avenue.
- the beach is small, but they are in front of a reef that keeps the waves low.
- the front desk sent up cake and champagne for my wife's birthday!
- I forgot my wife's expensive camera on the Sunwing bus, they tracked it down and had it before noon he next day (whew!)

Now the tips for improvement:
- the rooms had 2 double beds. A king would have been nicer.
- the resort front (away from the beach) is crappy looking, but you only really see it when you come and when you leave.
- the resort is kind of off by itself, kind of good and kind of bad.
- some of the guests were rude

Tips for the area:
- go to Xel-Ha if you like snorkeling even a little. Best Day!
- Xplor is great for more adventurous types. (Zip lining heaven)
- Coco Bongos is a show that is worth seeing. Great songs, great acrobatics, but you are packed in and stand for the whole performance.
- it is worth it to see the ruins at Coba because you can still climb the pyramid, which is cool.

This was our 2nd time to Playa Del Carmen and we will definitely be back!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank StewartA504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Stewart A,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel for your vacations.

We are glad to hear that you had such an amazing vacation with us. We thank you for all your comments regarding the service and facilities.

We sincerely hope to welcome you and your back in a near future.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

First time at GCB. Have stayed at other all-inclusives throughout Mexico. This one needs work. The best thing going for this resort is THE PEOPLE! The staff works constantly, and are wonderful. No complaints at all with the staff. However our room was another story. We did not choose to upgrade (for an extra $50 per night), we had a room in a good location by the pool, however, remote control didn't work, drawers would not shut, old TV that had a roll going through the picture on all channels, toliet ran all the time, towels had holes, etc. We booked here because it was a good deal, but you get what you pay for, and we made the best of it. BTW the liquor and wines are very below standard, I'm sure it's a way for the resort to try to save. Everyone was complaining about the rooms and drinks, but we all seemed to have a good time!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tolson7761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear tolson7761,

We really appreciate your review published on Trip Advisor.

We are grateful for your remarks and especially we are happy to know that you had a great vacation at our Resort.

Thank you for recommending Grand Coco Bay. Please do not forget that we will be pleased to welcome you back at anytime.

Best regards
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Visited here in March 2012 with a large group. I could have had a blast with a smaller group as well. This is a fun place with fantastic bartenders! I worked on resorts (Club Med) for years and this is a beauty!

If you see a negative review and there is a spelling mistake associated to it, disregard it. That is my logic with respect to negative reviews. You will see, people who can't spell...also are unable to have a good time no matter what! ENJOY!!!

Room Tip: Disco bar up top of the restaurant at night time is grrreat!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Matt S,

All Grand coco bay staff, is grateful for your nice review at tripadvisor, please do not hesitate to contact us for your future visit to our resort, We will be very pleased to welcome you one more time as a repetitive guest.

The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

we were doing a girls trip and my roommate and i paid extra for an upgraded oceanfront room,,,room 2302....make sure if you stay there that you do not get this room. This room does have the view although part of it is a tin roof from the building below, but it shares a wall with the bar next door. The music pounded on the wall til closing time. The front desk staff told us to call and they will ask them to turn it down, this does not help. After two nights in this room we were moved to another oceanfront room...it had the view and was satisfactory. The resort was ok but would not stay there again, the staff was friendly, rooms clean and the food was what i expected..fairly bland with an occasional item that i would actually like. There is a bar next door that played the music so loud on a wednesday night that even our friends staying in the hotel on the other end were kept awake and we were right next door. We did not have waiter service in the pool and beach area except for one afternoon. It was close to 5th ave so we could walk to the restaurants to eat...as others have said you get what you pay for...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear traveler881,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and your friends at Grand Coco Bay, We are glad to hear god comments about our staff.

We look forward to your return visit and again thank you for choosing to stay with us at Grand Coco Bay.

Kind regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.0 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#52 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
680 reviews
16.4 mi away
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya
15.8 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#16 of 21 in Akumal
2,112 reviews
23.5 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#5 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,302 reviews
14.0 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Coco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Coco Beach

Address: Costera Norte S.N. Lte. 1 Mza. 7, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#51 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#59 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#71 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $147 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Reef Coco Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 30 miles south of Cancun, The Reef Cococbeach is the perfect compliment to the white sandy beaches and turquoise waters of this world renowned tropical paradise. Just a short walk from the picturesque town of Playa del Carmen, you will enjoy our personalized service, the privacy you desire in a resort destination and the entertainment of one of the best night life's the Mayan Riviera has to offer.Our location provides easy access to the many attractions the Mayan Riviera has to offer such as Playa del Carmen's famous 5th avenue, Playacar's Bird Sanctuary, Playacar Golf Club, Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Tulum and much, much more.The hotel offers 196 comfortable rooms Caribbean style, our pleasant rooms consist of one king size bed or two double beds, terrace or balcony, air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini fridge, TV,hair dryer, vanity mirror, telephone and bath room with bahttub and shower combination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Reef Coco Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Coco Bay Mexico
Grand Coco Bay Playa Del Carmen
Grand Coco Bay Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Coco Bay Riviera Maya
The Reef Coco Beach Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing