We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coco Bay is my home away from home.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Reef Coco Beach
Ranked #103 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Coco Bay is my home.

Arrived on Tuesday Dec. 4, we were surprised to see the added security at the entrance to the resort. With the additional security we felt we were guaranteed to have a safer carefree vacation.
We received a wonderful welcome, warm hugs, handshakes and a glass of champagne from our friends at the front desk. It was like visiting a personal relative.

Alfonso and Zoila quickly checked us in gave us our room keys, towel cards and restaurant reservation slips. While we were checking in, we had a chance to meet Rafeal, the general manager. What a nice addition to Coco Bay.

Victor escorted us to our room, explained the remote control operation, the refrigerator beer and soda schedule. Our room was on the ground floor, which allowed direct access to the pool, hot tubs and the buffet restaurant. The buffet restaurant was directly across the pool.

We settled into our room and headed to the buffet restaurant to eat lunch.
Upon entering the buffet we were once again greeted with a big smile and warm welcome hugs from Miguel, Carolina, and Gabriela. It was so nice to see them again. During our stay they provided us with the most excellent service, always providing coffee and juices in the morning and beverages for lunch.
I must say the omelets in the morning were awesome. I had one every morning of our stay. The buffet choices for lunch and dinner change daily. The Buffet provides many different delicious dishes to choose from.

We ate at both Mexican and Italian specialty restaurants. The food served in both restaurants was delicious and the service provided by Samuel and Francisco was excellent. We love eating in the specialty restaurants.

We especially enjoyed the drinks made by Jorge and Abelardo, the swim up bar bartenders. Our other favorite bartenders were Baudelio and Gilberto. All the staff members at Coco Bay are exceptional. They go out of their way to make your vacation a most memorable one.

Our second week we were able to move to an ocean front room. Being able to walk out the sliding patio doors and stepping onto the beach was awesome. During the evening and early morning we would sit out on the patio and enjoy the ocean breeze while listening to the sounds of the ocean.
In the evening, we would go to the lobby bar and have a few drinks. Sometimes we were able to chat with Manual and David. They are loaded with information. Just ask them.

I am an early riser so I would go lounge by the pool and read in the morning and it never fail the pool guy was there cleaning it. Sometimes even in the pool with a toothbrush. Sure, it gets some sand in it because not all people would wash their feet off before entering.
The maintenance guys are always working hard to keep things clean and fresh looking.

One day we returned to find our room all decorated up, flowers, towel art, flower pedals in the bathroom. What a wonderful anniversary surprise that was. I think Katina at the front desk had a hand in that.

The service all over Coco Bay is EXCELLENT!!! You will think you booked a 5 star and paid for a 3 star.
If you choose to stay at Coco Bay you will not regret your decision. We have stayed here many times and each time we regret having to leave.

We are returning in August with some family and friends.
It is time they meet our Mexico family. : )

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank captaincmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Capitain,

All our staff is grateful for your review at tripadvisor, please come back soon, is our pleasere to welcome you and family all times.

Regards, The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,427 - 1,433 of 4,229 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

stayed a couple of nights here during our stay in mexico..stayed in a beach front room with beautiful sun rise view...good, clean, spaceious room. good service @ bars, & even better buffets than reef playacar. a little older resort than the reef, & the beach is smaller. a little noise from the beach club next door. all in all a good stay this hotel lies @ the north end of PDC & 5th avenue.

Room Tip: beachfront rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BergenNorwayJog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Bergen,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you at Grand Coco Bay. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed our services and facilities, even more we are happy to know that we exceed your expectations, being this one our constant goal.

We look forward to your return visit and again thank you for choosing to stay with us at Grand Coco Bay.

Kind regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our stay at Grand Coco Bay has its good and bad side. For the good side, the staff were very friendly, I would like to give kudos to the following staff who really work hard: to Manuel who greets us every time we pass through the main entrance, to Floresita who maintained our room for the duration of our stay, to Daniel who looked after us in the buffet restaurant. Also Kudos to the rest of the staff as I have observed that they are all hard workers. On the other hand, the hotel room does not come with alarm. We booked a tour at Lomas Tour located inside the hotel and we were scheduled to be picked up at 7:20 am. The night before I asked the front desk to give us a wake up call at 6 am next morning but nobody gave us a call. I checked later on that day after we finished the tour why nobody gave us a wake up call but the people in the front desk could not explain as to why we were not given a wake up call at 6 as requested. What disappoint me is that they neither explained to me what happened nor have given me an assurance that it wont happen again. Looks like they do not care at all! The room air condition needs to be fixed, the dust on the vent needs to be cleaned as I can see the dirt or lint already peeking through the vent in the washroom. The pool is dirty, lots of sand inside when we went for a dip in the morning and its already dirty. If not for the excellent service the staff I mentioned have shown, I would not recommend this place to my friends. The hotel should include wifi in their package.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jserqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear debbieperth,

We assure you that your comments will be taken into account in order to improve our services.

We remain at your service.

Kind regards
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We were looking forward to the beach stay at the end of our tour. If you are in your 30's and under you may like this place. When we checked in two other couples were asking for different rooms due to the noise from the disco next door goes from noon to 9.30pm and it is loud! the beach wasn't anything special and due to the mooring of boats the water smelt and tasted if you got it in your mouth of oil. The spa was very very overpriced and the nailpolish came off the next day due to poor quality. Rooms felt "dirty" and needed a complete revamp.
Drinks were good and the staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Coose a room away from the disco maybe in the west wing near the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debbieperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Dear guest,

All your comments are very important for us, thank you for take the time to post your review.

Regards
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Good:

- Buffet Food was excellent for such a small resort. There was a good variety and it was tasty.

- The restaurants were excellent as well. Both Mexican and The Italian were good.

- The staff were mostly friendly

- The staff kept the hotel clean and always seemed to be working hard.

- The snack bar was a good choice for burgers and fries.


The Bad

- The beach is OK. There are a lot of boats in the water causing some water pollution. If you move away from the resort the beach is better, but there isn't much sand, no security, and your back is against a barbed-wire fence.

- There is a very strong current and I wouldn't swim out too far.


The Ugly

- The beds are so tiny, 3/4 at best. With two adults sleeping in one bed, we felt very cramped and we are not over-weight or large people.

- The walls are not sound proof and you can hear your neighbors and anything going on outside.

- There are no activities beyond ping-pong, chess and Jenga.

- The towel area was manned by "The kids club".

- The hot tubs were not working.

- Security is by about 30 or so men dressed as football players. The taxi driver told us there is a lot of security because the hotel was involved in a lawsuit and they are expecting retaliation from the other party. This made us very uncomfortable.

- Our toilet leaked 4 nights in a row flooding our room. Each time it was repaired and broken again...and again.

- There was no hot water for 2 days out of our trip.

- The pool water was very cold and no one was in it.

- There was construction going on at the hotel at 7am each day.

- The stores were not open. So if you forgot anything you were outta luck.

- You needed to pay $30 per day to rent a beach bed.

- Live shows were pretty bad and consisted of simply dancing.


With a little more attention to repairs and to better bedding this could be a much better hotel choice. The hotel was about 20% capacity, and was very empty, which was good for us, as beach chairs were readily available and there were no lines whatsoever for any food or drinks. If this place were to be busier I could see the service level sinking very low. There are also no medical staff on hand, and no one knows CPR. There have been a few tragic deaths here that could have been avoided.

If you get a deal and are on a budget this may be a good choice for you.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YYC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear yyc123

We appreciate your valuable comments and would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are deeply sorry to read that you experience some inconveniences during your last stay at our resort as we strive for each and all of our guest's entire satisfaction and comfort. We sincerely hope to have the privilege of hosting you back in a future, this in order to improve the expressed impressions and provide you with our exceptional service and characteristic hospitality

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

my husband and i just got home from an 8 night stay at grand coco bay....positives the staff is great seems that alot of them dont understand english very well but thats ok. Drinks are great!!!! not to far from 5th ave we walked down the beach to get there to look at the other hotels...our room was clean...we only got sick from drinking to much :)
negatives....pool was freezing so it was hard to sit at the swim up bar....the hot tub was not hot maybe 2 degrees warmer then the pool so that was a no go as well....small beach.....the food was terrible we went hungry pretty much the whole time..the people that said the food taste like it has been re-heated are right or at least i think the same thing...one night at dinner they had ham and cheese sandwich on french toast and that tasted like old french toast...pineapple was a hit or miss...and the desserts i don't even want to get started on (in other words if it looks good it really isnt) we had something that looked like cheese cake and let me tell you we both almost threw up from the taste of it. ..our room was one floor up from the disco bar and unless we were so drunk to pass out we would be awake until 2 when it shut down so that wasn't fun when we had to be up at 6am for tours. there are so many seagulls flying around and going into the pool water, taking food off your plate and flying into the snack bar taking food it gets a little old with them fighting over you for a piece of food....we couldn't sit on our ocean front balcony because we were afraid the pigeons that had nest on the post would come poop on us since our whole balcony was covered in it....a couple we met said they seen cockroaches in the french restaurant and in there bathroom of there room (ick) and they both got food poisoning along with other people they know

Room Tip: get a room on the opposite side from the disco bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nikibre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Nikibre

I would like to thank you for taking time to write your comments about your recent stay with us. All of our client’s comments and concerns are very important to us being the best source of information to improve our services and facilities.

I do apologize for not have been able to fulfill your expectations.

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you at Grand Coco Bay.

Best regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had been to Cancun twice and we decided to vacation to Playa del Carmen, Mexico this year, an hour from Cancun. It is further out and away from all the hotels. The drive in near the location is a little seedy. The homes are run down, many poor people as you know. But once we arrived there, the Resort was like a hidden paradise. The rooms are very clean but a little dated. The food was good. Only a buffet dinning area, two other restaurants. The pool is beautiful also the beach. The Resort is smaller than the others we had visited. The area is safe to take walks to 5th Ave., shopping and restaurants for about a 2 miles. Many things to do along the beach, parasailing, snorkling, scuba diving, massages too! The staff is very friendly and helpful, they make you feel very welcomed. We are planning on taking our grown children and grandchild next year. For the money it was worth it!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AljpRhodeIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear ALP;
It will be our pleasure to welcome you back with all your family at Grand coco bay, best regards.

Remain at your service.
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#32 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,985 reviews
0.9 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#47 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,449 reviews
2.4 mi away
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
#102 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#27 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,928 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#22 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,727 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#10 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Coco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Coco Beach

Address: Costera Norte S.N. Lte. 1 Mza. 7, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#52 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#63 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#73 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $168 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Reef Coco Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 30 miles south of Cancun, The Reef Cococbeach is the perfect compliment to the white sandy beaches and turquoise waters of this world renowned tropical paradise. Just a short walk from the picturesque town of Playa del Carmen, you will enjoy our personalized service, the privacy you desire in a resort destination and the entertainment of one of the best night life's the Mayan Riviera has to offer.Our location provides easy access to the many attractions the Mayan Riviera has to offer such as Playa del Carmen's famous 5th avenue, Playacar's Bird Sanctuary, Playacar Golf Club, Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Tulum and much, much more.The hotel offers 196 comfortable rooms Caribbean style, our pleasant rooms consist of one king size bed or two double beds, terrace or balcony, air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini fridge, TV,hair dryer, vanity mirror, telephone and bath room with bahttub and shower combination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Reef Coco Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Coco Bay Mexico
Grand Coco Bay Playa Del Carmen
Grand Coco Bay Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Coco Bay Riviera Maya
The Reef Coco Beach Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing