We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two nights ....enough!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Reef Coco Beach
Ranked #104 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We were looking forward to the beach stay at the end of our tour. If you are in your 30's and under you may like this place. When we checked in two other couples were asking for different rooms due to the noise from the disco next door goes from noon to 9.30pm and it is loud! the beach wasn't anything special and due to the mooring of boats the water smelt and tasted if you got it in your mouth of oil. The spa was very very overpriced and the nailpolish came off the next day due to poor quality. Rooms felt "dirty" and needed a complete revamp.
Drinks were good and the staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Coose a room away from the disco maybe in the west wing near the spa.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debbieperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Dear guest,

All your comments are very important for us, thank you for take the time to post your review.

Regards
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,971)
There are newer reviews for The Reef Coco Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,312 - 1,318 of 3,974 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Good:

- Buffet Food was excellent for such a small resort. There was a good variety and it was tasty.

- The restaurants were excellent as well. Both Mexican and The Italian were good.

- The staff were mostly friendly

- The staff kept the hotel clean and always seemed to be working hard.

- The snack bar was a good choice for burgers and fries.


The Bad

- The beach is OK. There are a lot of boats in the water causing some water pollution. If you move away from the resort the beach is better, but there isn't much sand, no security, and your back is against a barbed-wire fence.

- There is a very strong current and I wouldn't swim out too far.


The Ugly

- The beds are so tiny, 3/4 at best. With two adults sleeping in one bed, we felt very cramped and we are not over-weight or large people.

- The walls are not sound proof and you can hear your neighbors and anything going on outside.

- There are no activities beyond ping-pong, chess and Jenga.

- The towel area was manned by "The kids club".

- The hot tubs were not working.

- Security is by about 30 or so men dressed as football players. The taxi driver told us there is a lot of security because the hotel was involved in a lawsuit and they are expecting retaliation from the other party. This made us very uncomfortable.

- Our toilet leaked 4 nights in a row flooding our room. Each time it was repaired and broken again...and again.

- There was no hot water for 2 days out of our trip.

- The pool water was very cold and no one was in it.

- There was construction going on at the hotel at 7am each day.

- The stores were not open. So if you forgot anything you were outta luck.

- You needed to pay $30 per day to rent a beach bed.

- Live shows were pretty bad and consisted of simply dancing.


With a little more attention to repairs and to better bedding this could be a much better hotel choice. The hotel was about 20% capacity, and was very empty, which was good for us, as beach chairs were readily available and there were no lines whatsoever for any food or drinks. If this place were to be busier I could see the service level sinking very low. There are also no medical staff on hand, and no one knows CPR. There have been a few tragic deaths here that could have been avoided.

If you get a deal and are on a budget this may be a good choice for you.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YYC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear yyc123

We appreciate your valuable comments and would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are deeply sorry to read that you experience some inconveniences during your last stay at our resort as we strive for each and all of our guest's entire satisfaction and comfort. We sincerely hope to have the privilege of hosting you back in a future, this in order to improve the expressed impressions and provide you with our exceptional service and characteristic hospitality

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

my husband and i just got home from an 8 night stay at grand coco bay....positives the staff is great seems that alot of them dont understand english very well but thats ok. Drinks are great!!!! not to far from 5th ave we walked down the beach to get there to look at the other hotels...our room was clean...we only got sick from drinking to much :)
negatives....pool was freezing so it was hard to sit at the swim up bar....the hot tub was not hot maybe 2 degrees warmer then the pool so that was a no go as well....small beach.....the food was terrible we went hungry pretty much the whole time..the people that said the food taste like it has been re-heated are right or at least i think the same thing...one night at dinner they had ham and cheese sandwich on french toast and that tasted like old french toast...pineapple was a hit or miss...and the desserts i don't even want to get started on (in other words if it looks good it really isnt) we had something that looked like cheese cake and let me tell you we both almost threw up from the taste of it. ..our room was one floor up from the disco bar and unless we were so drunk to pass out we would be awake until 2 when it shut down so that wasn't fun when we had to be up at 6am for tours. there are so many seagulls flying around and going into the pool water, taking food off your plate and flying into the snack bar taking food it gets a little old with them fighting over you for a piece of food....we couldn't sit on our ocean front balcony because we were afraid the pigeons that had nest on the post would come poop on us since our whole balcony was covered in it....a couple we met said they seen cockroaches in the french restaurant and in there bathroom of there room (ick) and they both got food poisoning along with other people they know

Room Tip: get a room on the opposite side from the disco bar
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nikibre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Nikibre

I would like to thank you for taking time to write your comments about your recent stay with us. All of our client’s comments and concerns are very important to us being the best source of information to improve our services and facilities.

I do apologize for not have been able to fulfill your expectations.

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you at Grand Coco Bay.

Best regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had been to Cancun twice and we decided to vacation to Playa del Carmen, Mexico this year, an hour from Cancun. It is further out and away from all the hotels. The drive in near the location is a little seedy. The homes are run down, many poor people as you know. But once we arrived there, the Resort was like a hidden paradise. The rooms are very clean but a little dated. The food was good. Only a buffet dinning area, two other restaurants. The pool is beautiful also the beach. The Resort is smaller than the others we had visited. The area is safe to take walks to 5th Ave., shopping and restaurants for about a 2 miles. Many things to do along the beach, parasailing, snorkling, scuba diving, massages too! The staff is very friendly and helpful, they make you feel very welcomed. We are planning on taking our grown children and grandchild next year. For the money it was worth it!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Al P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear ALP;
It will be our pleasure to welcome you back with all your family at Grand coco bay, best regards.

Remain at your service.
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Spent one week in Jan. 2013 , rooms were good , all inclusive ,beach great , hot tubs not hot, pool and activities staff were excellant ,house keeping was lacking ,some things supplied at first were never replaced ie. conditioner , frig. was restocked every second day. Lots of security which I appreciated given the state of Mexico these days , felt very safe inside resort . Shopping is just 6 blocks away on 5 th ave. . Food was very good , some things ran out but when requested they were restocked ,good variety and different theme every night. Great place to unwind and relax. In need of an upgrade for sure ,but good value for the price. Rooms near lobby are very noisy due to bar in lobby.

Room Tip: Rooms on east side ,by vacant lot and public beach, restaurant side would be the best , quieter and...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kal95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear kal95,

Thanks for your comments! all our staff is very happy to know that you had a great vacation, please do not forget that it will be our pleasure to welcome you back at Grand coco bay.

Regards the management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Just came back yesterday (17.01.2013) from 2 weeks at Grand Coco Bay, we had a great time, very relaxing. Staff were very nice and pleasant, always had a smile for you. Gilberto at the lobby bar was extra special as was Milton at the restaurant bar. Room was cleaned daily. Mini bar topped up every 2nd day, would have preferred every day and to have the choice of what you wanted in the mini bar. Food was very good, felt it unnecessary to go to the a la carte restaurant as food was so good in buffet restaurant. We did try the Italian restaurant one night which was very good also.

All in all this hotel is very good value for money compared to others we have been to ;-)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Dear Diane B,

We appreciate your kind comments and would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to learn that you had a wonderful stay at our beautiful resort and will be very honored in welcoming you back in a near future.

The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is our 2nd stay at Grand Coco Bay. We stayed there about the same time last year and were impressed by high quality for the price and decided to go again as part of our 3-week vacation, but were disappointed.
Firstly, the positives that are a given due to location, convenience and size.
1. The beach is great. The boats there are for a reason - it is a sheltered area with calm, gentle sloping sandy beach, warm clear water. Swimming is outstanding. It is not crowded.
2. Proximity to 5th Ave. is a huge plus. It is less than 10 minute of very safe walk down the street thru condo neighborhood. We used a cab only to come back to hotel late at night when tired. It is less than $5 from anywhere in Playa. Walking along the beach in either direction is incredible and fun.
3. Buffet restaurant and all amenities are on or within 30 second walk to the beach or eachother. A huge plus, lacking in most resorts, is to have breakfast or lunch with spectacular sea view.
4. Smaller resorts like this one are very convenient and personal. After a day or so you practically know everyone and don't spend your time walking or taking a cart from place to place just to get a drink, food or to your room.
5. It is relatively clean to the best of ability of maintenance staff. They do work very hard, but... see below.
6. Food and service at a-la-cartes is very, very good. Italian was our favorite, but Mexican is also excellent. After first night (unpleasant) dinner at the buffet, these restaurants were our saviors.
Now about negatives. Mind you, we were told that there is a new management there as of 3 or 4 moths ago and it shows. Compared to last year, this new management is really cutting corners, and I cannot blame (most) staff.
1. For a few days, the maintenance crews were hard at work fixing walkways, decks and painting pool bar columns at ... busiest morning/afternoon hours. Imagine having lunch, drink, or just lounging by the pool with smells of wood stain, paint and circular saw noise, for hours. There was a moment when a painter tried to place a ladder on a swim-up and paint above people's heads, but one angry guest complained and the painter left.
2. Their new policy of charging $18 pp, for all room occupants whether they drink or not, for slightly better alcohol. Their "premium" alcohol is not really premium - it is not Grey Goose, Hennesy, Patron or Don Julio - it is average regular brands like Absolut, Hornitos, etc. So if you don't pay the $18, you are bound by below average local brands.
3. The $16 per day internet fee was expected, but is too high. There are at least a dozen cafes within 10-15 min. walk, including Starbucks, so free internet access is available nearby.
4. Entertainment. One of the things we were impressed with last year. Only one (Mexican) dinner show and one or two others per week.
5. No food at night. Snack bar is open - hit and miss - until 1 or 2 am, but no food or drink if you get in late after an evening in Playa. Very disappointing and unexpected.
6. Buffet food quality is far worse than a year ago. There was never a wide variety before either, but it was made up for with high quality. Except for breakfast, which is hard to screw up, food was, if not inedible, very basic and tasteless. Thankfully, the two a-la-cartes and snack bar made up for it.
7. Maintenance - not staff but what (or who) they have to work with. The beach chairs are falling apart and dirty. There are broken tiles, mold and smells everywhere. It seems that they cut maintenance staff. However, the few we have seen do work hard.
8. Other indications of cutting corners: Many torn and spotty beach/pool towels. The bars are constantly running out of drink glasses/cups, ingredients for mojitos, certain included brands of alcohol (it looks like management enforces some kind of quota by limiting these to make people buy a "premium"). Some barmen take the heat from guests for that by not getting tips, but it is not their fault, really.
So, coming from people that were there fairly recently, this place is sliding down. As much as we loved it last year, we will not be coming back, until they decide to do as previous management did. We are in Playa twice a year, and will be watching.

Room Tip: Stay away from South wing rooms as they are adjacent to a loud day/night club.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mosaic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Mosaic


We appreciate your valuable comments and would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are deeply sorry to read that you experience some inconveniences during your last stay at our resort as we strive for each and all of our guest's entire satisfaction and comfort. We sincerely hope to have the privilege of hosting you back in a future, this in order to improve the expressed impressions and provide you with our exceptional service and characteristic hospitality

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.0 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#52 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
679 reviews
16.4 mi away
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya
15.8 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#16 of 21 in Akumal
2,112 reviews
23.5 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#5 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,302 reviews
14.0 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Coco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Coco Beach

Address: Costera Norte S.N. Lte. 1 Mza. 7, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#51 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#59 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#71 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $147 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Reef Coco Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 30 miles south of Cancun, The Reef Cococbeach is the perfect compliment to the white sandy beaches and turquoise waters of this world renowned tropical paradise. Just a short walk from the picturesque town of Playa del Carmen, you will enjoy our personalized service, the privacy you desire in a resort destination and the entertainment of one of the best night life's the Mayan Riviera has to offer.Our location provides easy access to the many attractions the Mayan Riviera has to offer such as Playa del Carmen's famous 5th avenue, Playacar's Bird Sanctuary, Playacar Golf Club, Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Tulum and much, much more.The hotel offers 196 comfortable rooms Caribbean style, our pleasant rooms consist of one king size bed or two double beds, terrace or balcony, air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini fridge, TV,hair dryer, vanity mirror, telephone and bath room with bahttub and shower combination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Reef Coco Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Coco Bay Mexico
Grand Coco Bay Playa Del Carmen
Grand Coco Bay Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Coco Bay Riviera Maya
The Reef Coco Beach Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing