We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good 3 star hotel but no wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Reef Coco Beach
Ranked #104 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Toronto
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good 3 star hotel but no wifi”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a good 3 star hotel not 4 as advertised. The biggest issue is no wifi and very expensive internet access charge. The hotel is well maintained, food at the buffet restaurant is quite reasonable and varied. Drinks are mediocre. The staff is quite friendly. Beach is small and narrow with boats anchored offshore (the only hotel that has this). If you get a good price its a good place to stay. Fifth Ave in town is close but a major pain with all of the store touts trying to get you into their place to see yet more of the same overpriced tourist fare.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dscottinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear dscottinto,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Grand Coco Bay. It is very important to our continued success that we hear from our guests and your comments will assist us in our commitment to improve in all aspects of our operations and services.


Best regards.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    926
    1,402
    657
    337
    252
See reviews for
933
1,426
93
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Longview, Washington
Level Contributor
235 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We just returned from a 12-day trip to the Grand Coco Bay, and we loved it. The mixed reviews gave us pause before we booked, but we got a great deal and gave it a try. Good decision!

I am only giving it four stars because of a few little things, but overall the resort is great. Our room was on the second floor near the lobby with a nice view of the garden, pool, and even the sea. It was a pretty quiet section with good access to everything. The king bed was a bit hard the first day or two, but we soon found it quite comfortable. The linens were fresh and so soft - great on sunburned skin. The furnishings are not new and a couple of the drawers stuck a little, but there was plenty of storage space for two people and all our stuff.

We had one of the electronic safes (our traveling companions had an older, keyed model) and a big, bulky old TV (our friends had a new flat-screen). The little refrigerator was great and the staff kept it stocked with soda and beer every couple days.

The bathroom was large with a nice big counter for storage. The tub/shower is older and not shiny, but it was clean and the water pressure was great. The housekeeping was very good, both in our room and in the public areas. One day we didn't get service until late in the afternoon, which was inconvenient, but otherwise our room was cleaned before noon every day.

The grounds are very nice with beautiful landscaping. The pool is big and divided into an activities section and a more quite section, There is a nice shelf with loung chairs in the water, which we used every day. The jacuzzi is huge and faces the ocean. The beach is not huge, but there are lots of lounge chairs and palapas, and the sand is soft and white. Yes, there are many boats anchored off the beach, but they don't get in the way of swimming and floating, and we found them quite charming.

The food was very good most all the time. We ate at the buffet most of the time and ALWAYS found things we liked. Breakfasts are great, with lots of fresh fruit and a terrific omelet bar. There was a good selection of American food and Mexican options - it's fun to try a taste of something new just to see if you like it. We found out that fried bananas are delicious! The specialty restaurants are both superior to some other AI's we've been to. The Mexican was especially good. The snack bar was also good for lunches or late-night snacks - we all loved the roasted chicken! There are four bars on the property and we tried them all. The pool bar is always busy and the service was great. The Lobby Bar and Sports Bar have better liquor, but we were never told no when we asked for a special brand or if we wanted stronger drinks.

The service, with the exception of the front desk, was exceptional. Victor, the bell boy, is just a doll. Wait staff Gabriela, Samuel, and Raul were our favorites, but we even got the rather solemn Carolina to smaile and chat. The bartenders were great, especially Abelardo at the pool bar and Baudette at the lobby bar.

So what were the down sides? The front desk staff is polite, but not especially responsive or pro-active. Our friends were unable to leave on time due to Hurricane Sandy canceling all the flights, and the staff didn't seem the least bit interested in helping contact the shuttle companies or airlines, The concierge actually berated our friends for not coming to her "presentation" for a time-share company she also worked for. That is not the kind of service the rest of the resort provided, and certainly not what you'd expect in an emergency. The other thing we didn't really like is the neighborhood. It seems to be undergoing a lot of renovations and you have to go through a pretty dark, depressing area to get to the resort.

Overall, though, we loved the place and we would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: The "ocean view" rooms do face the sea directly, but the palm trees block a lot of the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank melindamccrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Melindamccrady,
All of our client’s observations and concerns are very important to us since it is the best source of information to improve our services and facilities.

I can assure that your review will be seriously considered to achieve our constant goal: to exceed our guests’ expectations.
I would like to thank you for taking time to write your comments.


Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you at Grand Coco Bay, it will be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Best regards
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This all inclusive hotel far exceeded our expectations from the minute we arrived to the minute we left. We were treated with the greatest respect and kindness immediately upon arrival by Erick (front desk) who checked us in. The bell boy immediately took our bags. Food was good, dining room staff are great and accommodating. I had a problem with the lobby bar not opening until 6 p.m. and only being open until midnight. There is also no bar on the beach. Erick was so kind, helpful, polite and truly sincere that we enjoy our stay. Erick went above and beyond to accommodate us during our stay. One day we didn't have any bottled water in our room. We called the front desk and in less than 5 minutes Erick had sent someone down with 2 big bottles of water. Erick would be the reason we come back with a group of friends next time. We are already looking at coming back in April, 2013....sooner I hope. For anyone considering going to this resort please ask for Erick at the front desk. He is a plus to this resort. He will be sure you are taken very good care of during your stay. Erick's sincere kindness was really appreciated and we will be back.

Room Tip: Erick accommodated us with our choice of room. We were originally booked for the 2nd floor which we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Sue L,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and you at Grand Coco Bay. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed our services and facilities, even more we are happy to know that we exceed your expectations, being this one our constant goal.

We look forward to your return visit and again thank you for choosing to stay with us at Grand Coco Bay.

Kind regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We Stayed from Sept 11 - 19, on the 15th of the month Mexicans celebrate their independence day and the hotel became overloaded with locals during a two day period, the hotel was clearly not staffed adequately for this event, finding a clean table to sit at the buffet became rare, getting drinks became a hassle as the lines were always long at the bars and we had our towels stolen right in front of us while on the beach by the local people. The Ala Carte was nice and there is a disco/games room upstairs with great views, one can see Cozumel at nights. The food at the buffet was simple and lacked flavoured but we never got sick. The beach is full of local fish boats that dock their boats permanently in front of the resort, I will not be coming back to this resort, we have stayed at the Riu Tequilla in Playacar for the same price but the service and food is unbelievable in comparison to grand coco bay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Maria F,

We appreciate your valuable comments and would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are deeply sorry to read that you experience some inconveniences during your stay at our resort as we strive for each and all of our guest's entire satisfaction and comfort. We sincerely hope to have the privilege of hosting you back in a future, this in order to improve the expressed impressions and provide you with our exceptional service and characteristic hospitality

Regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa del Carmen hotels

Barrie
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Grand Coco Bay, unlike many other AI's in Cancun/Riviera Maya area, actually feels that you are in Mexico!
Food is good all-around. The buffet has a great beach view, and food is mostly great at all meals. A la cartes are not recycled buffet food like many resorts but actually prepared to order and very impressive. There is ambiance and class at both restaurants, a pleasure. But the highlights are amazing dinner-shows they have in the main dining room (not buffet, inside main building), especially Mexican night - amazing! The little lunch place by the pool serves great Mexican sandwiches and wraps, but there are burgers, hot dogs and BBQ chicken too.
Drinks are fine, they do have good brands, just ask. Tipping at the bars goes a long way in getting great drinks!
Pool - clean, but not very big. Swim-up bar is there, but not very active, often no bartender there unless there is a gathering of 10-15 people.
Beach. It is clean and water is calm, but there are boats parked nearby. No bother to us, boats are pretty much everywhere where there is guaranteed calm water. But it is clear, there are no smells or dirt, at least we didn`t encounter any. In fact, one of the cleanest and clearest beaches in PDC. Just a 30 second walk North of resort, and you have an open, unspoiled beach if you like.
We had no no problem with staff whatsoever. Of course they do not speak a perfect literary English - if that is a deal breaker, please go to Miami (actually there may be the same issue :) or Vegas, but they are very polite and go out of the way to understand and accommodate any query. In fact, when I asked for extra face towels, even 5 minutes didn`t go by! Never a problem to communicate, maybe because we smile, and treat people as equals.
Not much nightlife. There is a disco there but it is quiet. That is normal for in-town resorts as 10 minute, $5 cab ride away is some of the best nightlife I have seen.
The resort is very safe. At night, there are security by the beach, and when cab drops you off after hours, the main doors are securely closed and the security guard checks who you are and logs the cab plate no.
We are coming back this January, already reserved. The size of the resort, the staff, food and overall experience is very positive. For us, this is the place to stay in PDC.
Cons - chairs on the beach in bad shape. The rooms are dated (but cleaned very well), no big deal if you are there to sleep but need refreshing. Internet is expensive - most hotels in PDC offer free wifi.

Room Tip: Get rooms farther from lobby and disco. May get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariner_q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Mariner_q Barrie,

We appreciate your kind comments and would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to learn that you had a wonderful stay at our beautiful resort and will be very honored in welcoming you back in a near future.

Best Regards!
The Managenment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The pros: Great food! The ala carte restaurants and the Mexican theme night buffet were excellent! I had high expectations of the food from other reviews that I read before our trip and still, my expectations were exceeded. Even the hot dogs, burgers, and roasted chicken at the snack bar were really good. The breakfast buffet had a lot to choose from and was good. The buffet dinner was just ok. Not bad, just ok. We were especially impressed with the nightly entertainment, aside from casino night which seemed kind of boring, but in all honesty we didn't really give it a chance. The Mexican theme night had a mariachi band that you can't help but be put in a good mood, wonderful dancers, and a jaw-dropping laso act. The other night we attended was a variety of dance numbers that were performed by some very talented and sexy dancers, but it was certainly acceptable for children to attend. The only cons I can think of is that we were hoping to cut loose on the dance floor, which we did, but there just wasn't many people at the resort to make it a party atmosphere. On the other hand, it made for a very quiet resort which was nice. We arrived on a Saturday and there were lots of kids having fun, which made us miss our own, so if you're looking for a place away from the kids, you might want to choose a different place. Our room was very clean as was the rest of the resort. We had requested a king bed and got two double beds. Not a huge deal to us and they offered to move us but it would have meant moving the next day, so we just stayed where we were. And the room service forgot to replenish the coffee half of the time, but that was quickly resolved with a call to the front desk. They also didn't supply us with fresh towels on one occassion. Again, not a big deal to us. People have mentioned their dissatisfaction with the boats in front of the beach, but they were far enough from shore to not inhibit you from swimming. Besides, if you walk up the beach a very short distance (100 yards?) there aren't any boats and the waves are bigger because you're beyond the reef that protects the boats. All of the staff were friendly and every time we walked by ANY of the staff they smiled and said hola. I went on a two tank dive through the resort and found the price to be the same as others, but with the convenience of the boat picking us up right at the resort. The guides were very helpful and fun. $5 US taxi ride to 5th Avenue.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor and furthest from the ocean. At this height the trees block your view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Steve L,

Thank you for sharing with us your comments on your recent stay at Grand Coco Bay.
We appreciate your good comments about our activities and services.

We hope that you afford us the opportunity to serve you again at Grand Coco Bay.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Pros: Small resort, Clean, friendly staff, good beach, near shops

Cons: Food quality was average at best, none of the staff speak adequate English, beds were very uncomfortable, during our stay the SWAT team came on the resort and arrested a man at the pool in front of everybody which certainly didn't make me feel very safe

Room Tip: - try to get a room with an ocean view (closer to the beach)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aleksandrak47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Aleksandrak47,

We really appreciate your review published on Trip Advisor.

We are grateful for your remarks and especially we are happy to know that you had a great vacation at our Resort.

Thank you for recommending Grand Coco Bay. Please do not forget that we will be pleased to welcome you back at anytime.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
25.0 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#18 of 23 in Akumal
1,790 reviews
15.6 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,178 reviews
14.0 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
2,182 reviews
20.0 mi away
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
13.9 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Coco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Coco Beach

Property: The Reef Coco Beach
Address: Costera Norte S.N. Lte. 1 Mza. 7, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#51 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#59 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#70 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Reef Coco Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 30 miles south of Cancun, The Reef Cococbeach is the perfect compliment to the white sandy beaches and turquoise waters of this world renowned tropical paradise. Just a short walk from the picturesque town of Playa del Carmen, you will enjoy our personalized service, the privacy you desire in a resort destination and the entertainment of one of the best night life's the Mayan Riviera has to offer.Our location provides easy access to the many attractions the Mayan Riviera has to offer such as Playa del Carmen's famous 5th avenue, Playacar's Bird Sanctuary, Playacar Golf Club, Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Tulum and much, much more.The hotel offers 196 comfortable rooms Caribbean style, our pleasant rooms consist of one king size bed or two double beds, terrace or balcony, air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini fridge, TV,hair dryer, vanity mirror, telephone and bath room with bahttub and shower combination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Reef Coco Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Coco Bay Mexico
Grand Coco Bay Playa Del Carmen
Grand Coco Bay Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Coco Bay Riviera Maya
The Reef Coco Beach Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing