We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Visit Hotel Caribbean Disaster "Caribbean Paradise"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
Ranked #128 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
A TripAdvisor Member
Florida
114
Reviewed September 14, 2005

I've visited Caribbean Paradise recently in Playa del Carmen. Strongly I recommend not to book this hotel because what the people show in the website is not true, this hotel even doesn't reach 1 star level or something around that rating. I had a lot of trouble, the rooms are not comfortable, the bathroom small, the sliding doors from the balcony are broken by burglary (NO LOCKS!!!) at least 5 rooms were like that and I couldn't trust this place anymore. The room I was assigned to was not clean even the towels and trash from priveous guest were still in the room. The breakfast was terrible only toast and jam and no other choices if you want to enjoy other things, you can't call this CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST, the small place where you eat is full of bees because they don't clean the tables from the jam cups even during the afternoon the breakfast trash is still on everytable including the bees and flies. The kitchen is dirty. The television signal is not good, and the room have old furniture. All the services the websites show is not true about this hotel. I don't know what the owner is doing with the profit of the high rates??? But not investing in quality. Because they are very high for this crap hotel, these people should feel ashamed to charge those rates because they don't offer anything good in this place. You better think twice before booking any room in this hotel. And look for something better.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 108 of 392 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2005

We just spent 2 weeks in that hotel (25 June to 10 July) and are waiting for our next trip !

The location is excellent : on the Quinta Avenida but not in a noisy area, 3 minutes by foot from the turquoise sea (Beach Club EL TUKAN), and close to restaurants, shops, bars, drugstores, travel agencies, supermarkets ...

The rooms are clean and comfortable : king size bed, AC, cable TV, nice yellow painted walls and a small but nice bathroom.

The swimming pool is on the 2nd fllor, medium sized but not busy at all.

The breakfast may seem to be light for American or German people, more used to eat some cornflakes yoghurt or sausages/ham, but is perfect for French or British people : toasts, coffee/tea/milk, marmelade and butter, fruit juice.

See the pictures enclosed.

Good place to stay if you are not a all inclusive addict and prefer to be independent.

Have a good trip in MEXICO !

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank bidulbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2005

This hotel is not fancy, but it's clean, comfortable and affordable. The pool is small, but we had it to ourselves 3 times during our vacation. Good location.

6  Thank RMCEJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2005

My wife and I just returned from a 2 week (Sunquest) vacation at the Caribbean Paradise. This hotel is located at the 'quiet' end of 5th avenue about 1 1/2 blocks from the beach. It is a four storey walk-up design (no elevator) with cafe/bar/restaurant on the lobby level. There is a small pool on the 2nd floor which we did not use during our stay. Rooms are quite small and I would recommend an immediate upgrade from the Standard room provided by Sunquest. We were lucky enough to get (for an additional price) a balcony room facing the main street on the top floor. If you don't like stairs DO NOT stay in the upper floors of this hotel. The restaurant is quite inexpensive and we thought it was fine for a very casual lunch or dinner. My gut feeling is that a standard room here would be a bargain at around $50/USD per night. I wouldn't really consider this hotel unless you could pay around that price for a standard...slightly more for an upgrade. I plan to e-mail Sunquest and suggest they offer more than ONE hotel which is not all inclusive - for those of us who like to explore and not always eat & drink in their hotel.

Just a word about 5th Ave. We live in downtown Vancouver (near Robson St) and were amazed that 5th Ave was as busy as our area, however there is a quiet section of 5th just north of this hotel. We found ourselves enjoying the quiet part of 5th ave much more. It also seems to attract the Europeans giving it a very different flavour. If you want loud crowds and lots of people trying to sell you things then stick with the busier section of 5th. 10th Ave also seemed to have a quieter feel, with a fair selections of restaurants. All in all a super little town to explore and enjoy the sunshine in (we came back to minus 9 degrees and snow....yuck).

Brock Fowles
Vancouver, BC

13  Thank bfowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2005

We have just returned from a two weeks vacation in Playa del Carmen, Caribbean Paradise Resort & Spa.
It is in Caribbe, all right! Paradise? Hard to say! Resort? Haven't seen any! About the Spa? Never used it.

The rooms are pitifully small (the size of a crowded prison cell), lacking basic amenities such as a table or chairs, no bathroom door (smell and shower vapors spreading all over the bedroom!) no balconies or a very minuscule one, view of the back garbage infested site. Otherwise, friendly staff but unhelpful, nice location but noisy, same EP breakfast every day for 14 days (toast, coffee, jam and orange juice). We found much nicer accommodation within Playa del Carmen at much better price and started to wonder why Sunquest vacations picked up this modest hotel with unjustified overly priced rooms, below any normal present day tourist standard. We have seen European tourists commenting in shock of what was offered to them. We had to fight with the management for three-four days until we where upgraded (at a price!) to a more livable accommodation, still very modest with what you should get for your money.

The Sunquest reps where remarkably absent in assisting us and do not expect any help from them.

Overall, if you can avoid it, DO IT!

Nick and Eveline, Calgary, Alberta, CANADA.

16  Thank herescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
128
Reviewed March 14, 2004

We just returned from PDC and enjoyed ourselves to the fullest. The hotel is, as noted, clean, safe, friendly, on budget with no frills.
The hotel is immediately north of the main tourist shopping district on 5th Avenue, about 3 blocks west of the beach and in the midst of the best local restaurants. Breakfast of coffee and toast is included. One restaurant attached to the hotel serves good food at average prices but there are lots of other restaurants of every variety nearby. The stay was remarkably quiet considering the two main streets that meet right in front but we heard no street noise at night. The pool is quite small but works to cool you off and provides adequate room to tan in private.
The staff was extremely friendly and very helpful at setting up tours/rentals if language was a problem. If you like to be pampered this is NOT the place for you. It was great for the traveller who just needs a secure place to stay or as a base of operations.
InMyHumbleOpinion - why break the bank on an expensive place to lay your head?, there are better things to spend vacation money on than your hotel room.

  • Stayed: February 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koox_Group, Social Media Manager at Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Caracol Suite Hotel
Caracol Suite Hotel
#194 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Maria Bonita
Hotel Hacienda Maria Bonita
#145 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
#96 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#70 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
697 reviews
0.3 mi away
Siesta Fiesta Hotel
Siesta Fiesta Hotel
#111 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Las Golondrinas
Hotel Las Golondrinas
#122 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel

Address: Avenida 5, Norte Esq. Constituyentes 119, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Caribbean Paradise Resort & Spa)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $39 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Playa del Carmen , Location, Location , Location, Why to stay near to 5th when you can stay just in it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Paradise Resort And Spa
Caribbean Paradise Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Caribbean Paradise
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing