We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget alternative right in the middle of Playa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
Ranked #128 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The location is probably the best thing about this hotel. The staff was nice to us, special thanks to Isabel :).
The hotel was clean, WIFI working ok most of the time, nice cafe downstares, but rooms are quite small, sometimes runs out of warm water. The biggest downside is that because of the location the is a lot of noice and more over there is an ongoing construction right across the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from 5ta Av.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solliden25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KooxHotels, Director General at Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Solliden,

Thank you for your review, we continue to improve to give you a better service

Jordi Gonzalez

WELCOME HOME

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 392 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel due to pricing and short booking time (was going for the BPM Festival). I have been to Playa before and stayed at a more upscale place. The location was great that It made it a great place to stay. Hardly any noise at night except the early morning construction going on accross the street for the new shopping mall going up. The property is nice. and rooms are descent. I don't need to stay at a fancy place as I am just needing a place to sleep and shower. A few things that could have been nice...there is no elevator to get to the upper levels. None that I noticed (I didn't ask). I was on the upper level so climbed 5 sets of stairs. No phone in my room...I was hoping to contact my friends at their hotels, but used my cell. The beds were hard/firm...for me it was ok as I'm used to sleeping on stiffer beds. Last was the water pressure was very low for the showers, I had to play with the knobs for the hot and cold just to get enough water to flow sufficiently. Overall, I didn't have any real bad experiences with this place. It was clean and the property was nice. I would book this place again If the availability and pricing was right.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 2nd floor as the wifi is only available in the lobby area on the second flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rudy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KooxHotels, Director General at Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Rudy O

Thanks for your review, we noted the problems you had to solve them and thank you for continue to trust us

Regards
Jordi Gonzalez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Good: * In the center of Playa. Everything outside your door.
* Nice rooftop pool, each room had balonies that overlooked the action on the street.
* Reasonably priced.
Bad: * No one to help my senior traveling companions haul their luggage up 3 long flight of
stairs. It almost did them in trying to do it theirselves.
* Parking? Forget about it. This hotel has NO parking for the customers and street
availablity is impossible. Good luck with that.
* No outlets in the room. No lamps, only small wattage bulbs in the ceilings. No toiletries
unless you count a liquid soap dispenser in the shower filled with awful smelling
soap, but dont expect washclothes or face towels.
* The A/C, if its working sounds like a rattling train, but not loud enough to cover the
noise coming from all the drunks stumbling into and around your paper thin walls all
during the night.
* I could literally see into the hallway from inside my room thru the cracks along the
doorway. Floors were dirty and not swept, chairs on the patio were torn beyond
being able to actually sit in them.
Conclusion: There are too many other places to stay to deal with the nightmare of this place.

Room Tip: Chosse another hotel is all I suggesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kimbucsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KooxHotels, Director General at Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear kimbucsue

We feel extremely sad about your unhappy experience at our establishment. I just want to clarify that when you arrived, you did not like the hotel you had chosen, we have all our hotel information in our website and we don´t lie about it, so may be you were looking for another kind of hotel.

Understanding that you made ​​a mistake in choosing the hotel, the hotel staff offered you the opportunity to stay at another hotel / apartments more luxury that we have, paying the difference, and you accept it the next day, knowing that your holidays were well and we help you to feel you better in Playa del carmen.

Jordi Gonzalez
atencionalcliente@kooxhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This hotel is right smack dab in the middle of all the action. You can walk to anything that is anything in Playa from here. The staff were quite nice and check in was smooth. You are given your AC controller and a remote for the monitor in your room and off you go.

The room is small with a low ceiling (room 005). The two large beds take up most of room. There is a 15 watt ceiling light and that is all. The TV is really just a computer monitor from the 90s. It is simply not watchable. The room is so dark you will feel like you are in a cave if the curtains are closed. You won't want to spend much time in the room at all! There are no room phones and only one outlet to charge your electronics.

There is NO way to sleep here. The AC is placed less than 12 in above the bed and sounds like a 747 engine. The good news is when it is on you won't hear everything else but you may not be able to sleep with it on. If you turn it off you will realize you are in the middle of party central. People, cars, thumping base music, harley motor cycles, drunks, you name it you will hear it all. You will have to be dead or drunk to get to sleep anytime before 4am. The beds are slightly softer than a 2x4 with a thin sheet of stiff cotton and ragtag bed spread.

The shower had low pressure but was acceptable. The room was clean.

The rate I paid was good for the area but considering what I got it might have overpaid anyway. It did have a great balcony which was good to people watch....

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ksiddel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KooxHotels, Director General at Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Ksiddel

We apologize for any problems that may have had on your stay with us, we work to improve everything that tells us and we hope to serve you better on your next visit to Playa del Carmen if you decide to give us a chance.
I remain at your disposal for any clarification or additional information.

Jordi Gonzalez
atencionalcliente@kooxhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

You get what you pay for. The waterpressure is not good. the flushingfunktion of the toilet is very bad. the beds are very stiff. But the location is very good. It´s right in the middle of the action.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kent U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KooxHotels, Director General at Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Mr Ken:
Thank you for your review, just tell you the problem with the water pressure was solved, it was a technical problem. Certainly we celebrate that you liked our location, we are indeed in the middle of the action.

We hope to see you again in our hotels,
Jordi Gonzalez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Cons:
1) terrible staff ...do they really work for the hotel?
2) WiFi ..very weak signal even in the lobby.
3) Water pressure is bad in the showers..don't expect hot water.
4) Noise..you will hear people walking and talking all night long inside the hotel because of the tile floors and so much echo in each floor.
5) very small room..we paid for double beds deluxe room..we could barely walk inside.
6) No elevators


Pros:
1) Nice coffee shop by the entrance with decent WiFi.
2) Right in the heart of 5th ave
3) Small flat screen TV

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KooxHotels, Director General at Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear Mr. Rob M,

Thank you for your review.

Of course we remember you because you were in our hotel for one month.
We were really surprised when we read your opinion about our hotel Caribbean Paradise because you never let us know that you were so unhappy so we were not able to think about to change you to another hotel.

Now I would like to answer you point by point:

The first one is about the breakfast, you didn’t like it and you wanted that we give your money back but the problem is that you booked your reservation through an agency so, because of the chain, you need to deal with them about that. We also offered you another restaurant but you didn´t accept it.

The wi-fi, effectively was weak at the rooms, but in the lobby it works properly, and we are working on it, almost solved.
We have been handling technical problems with the water pressure, but it didn’t happened for all your stay, it’s already solved, and of course there is hot water.

The rooms may be small for a month stay, however you came alone and you received a room with two queen beds for your better comfort, and we wanted to change you to another room but we had only a smaller one available left, which you decided to accept.

It is true that there is no lift, we will install one next Spring.

Thank you for your review and I am at your disposal to clarify any point.

Jordi Gonzalez
Atencionalcliente@kooxhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel a few times over the past few years, and I have to say, what an improvement! They have touched up the rooms, which now have flat screen tvs. The staff was very nice and the price we paid ($600-870 MXN) per night included a great breakfast at the restaurant across the street (they never included breakfast before).
Room includeds wifi.
The only thing id like to see improved: hotter water please!

Room Tip: Dont choose a room that opens to the pool. It can be very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SrtaADB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KooxHotels, Mercadotenica at Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su comentario, es un gusto saber que la estancia fue de su agrado, la situación con el agua caliente ya esta arreglada. Saludos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Caracol Suite Hotel
Caracol Suite Hotel
#194 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Maria Bonita
Hotel Hacienda Maria Bonita
#145 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
#96 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#70 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
697 reviews
0.3 mi away
Siesta Fiesta Hotel
Siesta Fiesta Hotel
#111 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Las Golondrinas
Hotel Las Golondrinas
#122 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel

Address: Avenida 5, Norte Esq. Constituyentes 119, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Caribbean Paradise Resort & Spa)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $39 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Playa del Carmen , Location, Location , Location, Why to stay near to 5th when you can stay just in it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Paradise Resort And Spa
Caribbean Paradise Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Caribbean Paradise
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing