We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible customer service. Almost as harsh as the beds....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
Ranked #119 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Central Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Horrible customer service. Almost as harsh as the beds....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Good: * In the center of Playa. Everything outside your door.
* Nice rooftop pool, each room had balonies that overlooked the action on the street.
* Reasonably priced.
Bad: * No one to help my senior traveling companions haul their luggage up 3 long flight of
stairs. It almost did them in trying to do it theirselves.
* Parking? Forget about it. This hotel has NO parking for the customers and street
availablity is impossible. Good luck with that.
* No outlets in the room. No lamps, only small wattage bulbs in the ceilings. No toiletries
unless you count a liquid soap dispenser in the shower filled with awful smelling
soap, but dont expect washclothes or face towels.
* The A/C, if its working sounds like a rattling train, but not loud enough to cover the
noise coming from all the drunks stumbling into and around your paper thin walls all
during the night.
* I could literally see into the hallway from inside my room thru the cracks along the
doorway. Floors were dirty and not swept, chairs on the patio were torn beyond
being able to actually sit in them.
Conclusion: There are too many other places to stay to deal with the nightmare of this place.

Room Tip: Chosse another hotel is all I suggesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimbucsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KooxHotels, Director General at Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear kimbucsue

We feel extremely sad about your unhappy experience at our establishment. I just want to clarify that when you arrived, you did not like the hotel you had chosen, we have all our hotel information in our website and we don´t lie about it, so may be you were looking for another kind of hotel.

Understanding that you made ​​a mistake in choosing the hotel, the hotel staff offered you the opportunity to stay at another hotel / apartments more luxury that we have, paying the difference, and you accept it the next day, knowing that your holidays were well and we help you to feel you better in Playa del carmen.

Jordi Gonzalez
atencionalcliente@kooxhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    112
    98
    36
    27
See reviews for
76
130
34
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
287 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

This hotel is right smack dab in the middle of all the action. You can walk to anything that is anything in Playa from here. The staff were quite nice and check in was smooth. You are given your AC controller and a remote for the monitor in your room and off you go.

The room is small with a low ceiling (room 005). The two large beds take up most of room. There is a 15 watt ceiling light and that is all. The TV is really just a computer monitor from the 90s. It is simply not watchable. The room is so dark you will feel like you are in a cave if the curtains are closed. You won't want to spend much time in the room at all! There are no room phones and only one outlet to charge your electronics.

There is NO way to sleep here. The AC is placed less than 12 in above the bed and sounds like a 747 engine. The good news is when it is on you won't hear everything else but you may not be able to sleep with it on. If you turn it off you will realize you are in the middle of party central. People, cars, thumping base music, harley motor cycles, drunks, you name it you will hear it all. You will have to be dead or drunk to get to sleep anytime before 4am. The beds are slightly softer than a 2x4 with a thin sheet of stiff cotton and ragtag bed spread.

The shower had low pressure but was acceptable. The room was clean.

The rate I paid was good for the area but considering what I got it might have overpaid anyway. It did have a great balcony which was good to people watch....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ksiddel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KooxHotels, Director General at Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Ksiddel

We apologize for any problems that may have had on your stay with us, we work to improve everything that tells us and we hope to serve you better on your next visit to Playa del Carmen if you decide to give us a chance.
I remain at your disposal for any clarification or additional information.

Jordi Gonzalez
atencionalcliente@kooxhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa del Carmen hotels

Visby, Sweden
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

You get what you pay for. The waterpressure is not good. the flushingfunktion of the toilet is very bad. the beds are very stiff. But the location is very good. It´s right in the middle of the action.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kent U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KooxHotels, Director General at Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Mr Ken:
Thank you for your review, just tell you the problem with the water pressure was solved, it was a technical problem. Certainly we celebrate that you liked our location, we are indeed in the middle of the action.

We hope to see you again in our hotels,
Jordi Gonzalez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Cons:
1) terrible staff ...do they really work for the hotel?
2) WiFi ..very weak signal even in the lobby.
3) Water pressure is bad in the showers..don't expect hot water.
4) Noise..you will hear people walking and talking all night long inside the hotel because of the tile floors and so much echo in each floor.
5) very small room..we paid for double beds deluxe room..we could barely walk inside.
6) No elevators


Pros:
1) Nice coffee shop by the entrance with decent WiFi.
2) Right in the heart of 5th ave
3) Small flat screen TV

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KooxHotels, Director General at Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Mr. Rob M,

Thank you for your review.

Of course we remember you because you were in our hotel for one month.
We were really surprised when we read your opinion about our hotel Caribbean Paradise because you never let us know that you were so unhappy so we were not able to think about to change you to another hotel.

Now I would like to answer you point by point:

The first one is about the breakfast, you didn’t like it and you wanted that we give your money back but the problem is that you booked your reservation through an agency so, because of the chain, you need to deal with them about that. We also offered you another restaurant but you didn´t accept it.

The wi-fi, effectively was weak at the rooms, but in the lobby it works properly, and we are working on it, almost solved.
We have been handling technical problems with the water pressure, but it didn’t happened for all your stay, it’s already solved, and of course there is hot water.

The rooms may be small for a month stay, however you came alone and you received a room with two queen beds for your better comfort, and we wanted to change you to another room but we had only a smaller one available left, which you decided to accept.

It is true that there is no lift, we will install one next Spring.

Thank you for your review and I am at your disposal to clarify any point.

Jordi Gonzalez
Atencionalcliente@kooxhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel a few times over the past few years, and I have to say, what an improvement! They have touched up the rooms, which now have flat screen tvs. The staff was very nice and the price we paid ($600-870 MXN) per night included a great breakfast at the restaurant across the street (they never included breakfast before).
Room includeds wifi.
The only thing id like to see improved: hotter water please!

Room Tip: Dont choose a room that opens to the pool. It can be very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SrtaADB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KooxHotels, Mercadotenica at Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su comentario, es un gusto saber que la estancia fue de su agrado, la situación con el agua caliente ya esta arreglada. Saludos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Can't ask for a more central loaction in Playa. Our room was clean and the bathroom was well appointed. We had the room that I always noticed first in the brochures, the one with the deck over the pool! The young man at the front desk was very polite and helpful. The only negative thing I could say about this hotel is that one of our sliding glass doors had a questionable lock on it. Suited our purposes perfectly.

Room Tip: I would prefer a room that has an outside door that opens to the pool area. We swam and tanned each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuckjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is not ugly per say and the staff is ok specially ezequiel at the front desk but... Ive been to small low cost hotels but never before in a hotel that doesnt even change your used towels ... Not even the ised beach towells i've overheard employes hanging the used towels to dry in the roof and then just folding them again and handing to the next guest ... I mean there is low cost an then there is being a dirty cheap careless hotel , never coming back

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#60 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Maria Bonita
Hotel Hacienda Maria Bonita
#150 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Real del Caribe
Hotel Hacienda Real del Caribe
#104 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Playa del Karma
Hotel Playa del Karma
#129 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Posada Mariposa
Hotel Boutique Posada Mariposa
#115 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Las Golondrinas
Hotel Las Golondrinas
#98 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel

Property: Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
Address: Avenida 5, Norte Esq. Constituyentes 119, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Caribbean Paradise Resort & Spa)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Playa del Carmen , Location, Location , Location, Why to stay near to 5th when you can stay just in it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Paradise Resort And Spa
Caribbean Paradise Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Caribbean Paradise
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing