We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly staff makes Sunset Fishermen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
Ranked #78 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed November 19, 2010

Here are some bullet points of pros and cons at Sunset Fishermen

- location is great. It is right on a beautiful beach is and a 12-15 minute walk to the shopping/restuarants at Playa del Carmen. You can either walk on the beach or walk on the road. They will also call a taxi for you if you'd like which is $5 into town. They also have bikes available to use.
- While we were there, the marjority of the crowd was over the age of 50. Which is a pro because everything quiets down really early. But if you are young honeymooners like us, you may feel like you are in a retirement community.
- The staff is excellent. They are super friendly and helpful. the maid would make these little creatures out of bath towels each day and place on our bed. The bartenders always made good drinks.
- The food for lunch and dinner can use some help. Breakfast buffet is good with a lot of suggestions. The lunch isn't too desirable but if you ask they will make you something else. The chef was really nice. The dinner buffets were okay.
- They have free internet access but only in the lobby. The complex is not very big and I wish that they could expand it to all the rooms.
- The swimming pool is cold but i've heard most resorts in the area do not heat their pools.
- they have kayaks, snorkel gear, and boogie boards for use.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hkap81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,064)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

739 - 745 of 1,064 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2010

This our 2nd stay at Sunset Fishermen, unfortunately we are members that got suckered into buying a timeshare in 2006 (which I cannot offload w/o a HUGE loss). My wife does like it though because it is a little secluded and quiet. The beach this time is much better than it was in 2008, back when they had sandbags to prevent further erosion of the beach). Now, Mexico put so much sand back into the beach that it is much, much wider and they removed the barriers between the different resorts. So now, you can walk all the way down to the port to Cozumel (yes, there is actually a beach now in front of the hotel/resorts by the port!) or all the way the other side to Riu or Sandos.

We did not opt for the all inclusive given we think 1) it's not of any value when you're paying $55 or so per day but only have 2 meals - breakfast and dinner and 2) there is nothing much else to be had with the all-inclusive. The food is so-so but this 2nd time around, we ate in town for authentic mexican food and for much cheaper too (recommend la mission a block off 5th ave which is another locaiton from the Cozumel branch). There is a pool but small. There is a small gym and a spa but usually for members only. The steam room wasn't working this time around though. There is also a jacuzzi (cold and hot) just outside the gym as part of the spa.

Where I am displeased with Sunset though is the inconsistency of information. We were moving to Tres Rios after our 1 week stay in Sunset Fishermen and though they can provide us a shuttle ride to the Tres Rios (sister resort and a much, MUCH more expensive one). 3 people we spoke with said no but we met another couple doing the same move to Tres Rios and they said 1 of the concierge arranged transporation for them. I'm pretty miffed by that since it's a $20 cab ride 1-way to Tres Rios. If it wasn't for my SO not feeling well, I would've taken the offer to share the free ride with the other couple, who were members also with another sister resort Sunset Royal.

Wi-fi is only in the lobby, which sucks. But at least that is more consistent and on than Tres Rios (who's wifi is all over but very spotty and always disconnects/resets). There are not too many kids but there are families that come visit. It's mainly a lot of older folks (late 40s-50's) and families that show up. We usually just walk to town (15 min leisure walk) and there is not much traffic in Playacar.

If you're looking for a quiet/secluded resort, this is probably it. It's kinda old school w/o LCD tv's. Some cable channels in American. You have to get used to a 1/2 glass cover for the shower. It is a no-frills type resort but the great news is they actually have snorkling gear to use, unlike it's more expensive sister Tres Rios that had ZERO snorkling gear (even just fins) if you wanted to snorkle out.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrputtputt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

The entire resort was extremely well maintained and very clean. The staff was always accommodating and friendly. No request was too much for them to do . The size of the resort was perfect to create a very relaxing environment. On site spa services were some of the best we have experienced. The resort was actually true to the description on line unlike many others turn out to be. We were not disappointed with any aspect of our week at Sunset Fisherman's resort.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tootsie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

We honeymooned at Sunset Fisherman’s Village. One of the best aspects about Fisherman’s is that it has condos to rent but if you are lazy you can still enjoy the all inclusive option (though the food isn’t very good at all). Our condo that we rented was 351, and it was definitely true to its ocean view description. The condo was beautiful and had a very well-equipped kitchen, which worked out really well. We would often cook breakfast and lunch in our condo and then walk 10 minutes along the beach into town and go to one of the many restaurants for dinner.
The condo had two bedrooms and two and a half bathrooms. Air conditioning worked very well, and we heard no noises from downstairs (either in the pools, at the restaurant, or along the beach) once inside.
Traveling to Fisherman’s: The best option is the bus ($8 per person). True story- the shuttles you can get at the airport seem ok but they cost about $30+ per person and they have to stop along the way to drop other off at their resorts. And these resorts are just not a quick stop. Most are 5 to 10 minutes off the main road, whereas the bus will take you to 5th Avenue (the middle of town) and you just have to walk 10 minutes or take a $5 USD cab ride to the resort. (We found that you could also negotiate cab fare with most of the drivers.)
Service- so since you are renting a private condo you have to contact a separate guy about having the condo cleaned. He is super nice but very difficult to get in touch with. It wasn’t a big deal, but we couldn’t get someone to clean out unit until the 5th day of our 7 day trip. Also since you are not renting directed from Fisherman’s, you tend to be treated like second class. While they can hook you up with the deals they give their guests, they’ll require you to sit in on a half-day seminar about buying one of their condos beforehand. They will let you use towels, bikes, kayaks and other stuff for free without any hassle; it’s just when you want to rent a car or get info about other outings that they become less helpful. Best advice- go into town, rent a car, and just drive down to coast to Tulum. There are several awesome freshwater swimming holes along the way, some of which you may have to pay to get into. We were never certain on whether or not you actually have to pay, or whether they see vacationers coming and tell them that they have to pay, assuming that they don’t know any better.

Overall, Fisherman’s is a great place for a vacation; close enough to town for an easy 10 minute walk and far enough away that you can’t hear the noise and smell the restaurants of Playa.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElizabethandRolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2010

We arrived and brought tropical storm Alex with us. We were told that our transfer from the airport was covered but found out that it wasn't. Our room was nice two huge king beds and a pull out sofa, with a jacuzzi off our balcony. We had lots of rain and wind the first couple of days that blew in through our sliding glass doors. The food was limited but everything we had was really good. The service was great, everyone was very friendly including Luis, the activity director. We had two children with us and felt safe with them at that resort. Tip get pesos before you go, the exchange rate at our airport was 14.85 to 1 us. The rates there ranged from 12 - 10 to 1. The beach was beautiful, the water was blue but the visibility of the water was limited due to Alex. Some minor points - they ran out of some minor amenities half way through the week.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jasonlcms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

Anybody getting off the plane at Cancun or Cozumel avoid the smiling offers of free breakfasts/discounted car hire/snorkelling trips.
You are being surrounded by the lesser sharks of the Sunset Group who are intent on robbing you blind and lining their pockets.

If you are foolish enough to sign up for the "90 minute" presentation then be prepared to be literally detained for up to 6 hours while the salesmen sharks grind you down and play psycholgical games with their promises of cheap weeks and special deals.

If you are jet-lagged as we were then expect to leave at least £1000 poorer with a fairly useless "contract" . Dont even think about using the 5 day opt out, they will have extracted the cash from your credit card account within minutes of your signing up.

Your "executive weeks" will be in hurricane or low season will cost significantly more than the promised figures and be totally useless in any case if you are limited as to when you can take a vacation during the year.

AVOID AVOID AVOID Sunset Group are CROOKS and LIARS.

The beach at this place is pretty awful also compared to places elsewhere in Playa and further south.

Stayed: September 2008
6  Thank scammedbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

I spent one week at the Sunset Fishermen with my parent last May. This is a small and nice hotel. The beach is beautiful and the bedroom was very confortable and clean. We spent more time at the beach than at the pool. Jacuzzi is great. The staff were very friendly. The 2 or 3 times we needed them to fix something, they did it immediately. The only problem with this hotel is the Meal Program. We found it very expensive. It included breakfast, beverages and oOne meal (lunch or diner). Almost every day we ate at the hotel, we ate the same meal. They don´t have many options in the menu and almost every day waiters had said to us "I´m sorry, we just ran out of the New York Steak, the pineapple juice had just finished or whatever we wanted to eat they just ran out of it". Waiters do the best they could, but..... In spite of this, I have to say that the few meals served were very good. I loved Playacar which is a very beautiful, quite and safe place. Really loved it! We went downtown in 5-10 min walking. The hotel borrowed us bikes and it was really fun. In spite of the "food problem" we´ve enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Adoro_viajar70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.6 mi away
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
#99 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
845 reviews
1.3 mi away
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach C...
#56 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
466 reviews
1.2 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#41 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
2,844 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#22 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,608 reviews
1.0 mi away
Playa Maya
Playa Maya
#100 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort

Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo # 9 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77714, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#83 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $157 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Fishermen Spa And Resort
Sunset Fishermen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Sunset Fishermen Playa Del Carmen
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing