We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
Nearby Hotels
$293
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$227
$191
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$589
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
$331
$217
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
$423
$240
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
$401
$289
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
$1,434
$753
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
$438
$349
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$562
$472
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$973
$450
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,179)
Filter reviews
1,180 results
Traveler rating
524
389
121
68
78
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
524
389
121
68
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfishermen's villagetres riosactivities directormember serviceswelcome partythrough rciwalk into townall inclusive plangated communitysecond homethe wait stafffull kitchengreat beachwater aerobicsmayan ruinsbedroom suitethird floor
Filter
Updating list...
853 - 858 of 1,180 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Fisherman's Village is a beautiful hotel with a perfect location (walking distance from 5th Avenue) and a breathtaking view. Quiet and relaxing, and excellent service! The bartender's and servers all knew us and our preferences within a day or two! Huge, spacious rooms are also a plus! We had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leah2677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2009

We stayed at the Fisherman's Village with our 16 year old daughter, 15 year old friend and our 5 year son. We had a great time, they loved it. The hotel is located 15 minute walk to Fifth Avenue where all the shopping and restaurants are. We didn't buy into the all inclusive, that is why we bought this time share because it was not mandatory that we buy the all inclusive meal plan. We bought food some days and cooked in our room, the rooms have a full size fridge and a two burner stove, it was great when we were tired and didn't want to walk up to Fifth Avenue. We enjoyed the volleyball that was played in pool daily. They had activities for the kids to keep them busy and out of trouble. It is a perfect size resort and it was quiet for a week of relaxing by the pool or on the beach. We found the hotel perfect for us, we don't like the over sized ones, too many people in the pool and people holding loungers.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Champ888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

My husband and I bought at Fisherman's Village years ago. We have travelled all over the world and this is by far our favourite little piece of Heaven. We also own a unit in Cancun and go there before we come for our two weeks here! There is absolutely no comparison! Cancun, while lovely, is like any large city, and is a hot spot for spring breakers. Playa del Carmen is a lovely small village, which still has the majic of Mexico.
The staff at Fisherman's Village are amazing! Jose Luis, Luis and Lanny go the extra mile on each and every request. We love this place so much that we are going in October to celebrate my husband's birthday with his children and grandchildren! We could think of no better place to be surrounded by friends and family. As owners, you do not have to buy the meal plan. However, we do as it is a reasonable price.
Fisherman's Village is a wonderful, intimate place to vacation and where else can you have the ocean right at your toes!! We have met many new friends whom we see each year.
For those of who want more or a larger facility, there is the beautiful new Tres Rios. Jose Luis would be more than happy to take you on a tour.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Jeannie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

We own a timeshare with the Sunset group which is a ripoff. Don't get sucked in since we have owned all we have gotten from them is excuses. The Fishermen is a smaller resort which was nice there were not many people there so that was nice. The food was the worst part of the trip. The menu is the same everyday!!! It never changes and there are no other restaurants in the hotel! The meal plan is expensive and not worth it. In addition to their menu not changing when we would order something they would be out of it and we had to order something different. We stayed in a studio with a pull out couch and it was disguisting there were stains all over it and they didn't not even provide a sheet to put over it. Their bar closes at 10:30 p.m. and it is a small resort so we went to bed early because there was nothing left do to after 10:30 p.m unless we went out. Overall our experiences with the Sunset have been terrible. For the amount of money we paid at this resort we could have gone to a nicer one run by a better company.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littletaby1729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2009

Just got back from 1 week at Fishermen's village and I am ready to go back! The pool is wonderful with adult only hot tub. The beach is great - loved the "sand breakers" which made it better for my mom to get in the water.

The staff was very friendly except for the main manager who seemed to have a chip on his shoulder. Watch for the hook to go to Tres Rios (upgraded resort) - if you go, make sure you get as much in the bargain as possible.

The rooms were very clean and comfortable. However we asked for rooms that had all bedrooms on one floor and on the first or second floor of the complex (and told we would get them) but when we got there, our rooms were on the 3rd floor with 1 bedroom on the 4th. Very disappointing since we were traveling with my older parents.

The bartenders and wait staff were great but the all-inclusive is not worth the money. The food is OK but not that great. Preferred to go in to Playa to Ajua, Karen's, or El Fogon for dinner at night. You can go the the mini-mart at the corner of 5th avenue and get snacks, alcohol and mixers / sodas for a great price. The best part is you can walk to 5th Avenue in 15 minutes or less.

I absolutely loved the small resort. We got to know a lot of the people that were staying there which made for a lot of fun during the day at the pool. The social events were fun as well.

I would highly recommend this resort - Make sure you are in contact with the resort directly to reserve the type of room you want. The "on line" reservations are not with the resort but a service (we were told this is why we did not get the rooms we requested).

One more thing - nothing gets going in Playa until 9:00 am. If you like to get out early go down 5th avenue and find the vendors making freshed squeezed OJ - delicious!! Make sure you make it to the Blue Parrot for the fire show. And if you go to cozumel, take a day to go out on the catamaran with CozumelSailing.com

LILSISKY - Louisville, KY

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilSisKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews