We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Food!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
Ranked #77 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed July 15, 2009

We own a timeshare with the Sunset group which is a ripoff. Don't get sucked in since we have owned all we have gotten from them is excuses. The Fishermen is a smaller resort which was nice there were not many people there so that was nice. The food was the worst part of the trip. The menu is the same everyday!!! It never changes and there are no other restaurants in the hotel! The meal plan is expensive and not worth it. In addition to their menu not changing when we would order something they would be out of it and we had to order something different. We stayed in a studio with a pull out couch and it was disguisting there were stains all over it and they didn't not even provide a sheet to put over it. Their bar closes at 10:30 p.m. and it is a small resort so we went to bed early because there was nothing left do to after 10:30 p.m unless we went out. Overall our experiences with the Sunset have been terrible. For the amount of money we paid at this resort we could have gone to a nicer one run by a better company.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littletaby1729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,064)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

759 - 765 of 1,064 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2009

Just got back from 1 week at Fishermen's village and I am ready to go back! The pool is wonderful with adult only hot tub. The beach is great - loved the "sand breakers" which made it better for my mom to get in the water.

The staff was very friendly except for the main manager who seemed to have a chip on his shoulder. Watch for the hook to go to Tres Rios (upgraded resort) - if you go, make sure you get as much in the bargain as possible.

The rooms were very clean and comfortable. However we asked for rooms that had all bedrooms on one floor and on the first or second floor of the complex (and told we would get them) but when we got there, our rooms were on the 3rd floor with 1 bedroom on the 4th. Very disappointing since we were traveling with my older parents.

The bartenders and wait staff were great but the all-inclusive is not worth the money. The food is OK but not that great. Preferred to go in to Playa to Ajua, Karen's, or El Fogon for dinner at night. You can go the the mini-mart at the corner of 5th avenue and get snacks, alcohol and mixers / sodas for a great price. The best part is you can walk to 5th Avenue in 15 minutes or less.

I absolutely loved the small resort. We got to know a lot of the people that were staying there which made for a lot of fun during the day at the pool. The social events were fun as well.

I would highly recommend this resort - Make sure you are in contact with the resort directly to reserve the type of room you want. The "on line" reservations are not with the resort but a service (we were told this is why we did not get the rooms we requested).

One more thing - nothing gets going in Playa until 9:00 am. If you like to get out early go down 5th avenue and find the vendors making freshed squeezed OJ - delicious!! Make sure you make it to the Blue Parrot for the fire show. And if you go to cozumel, take a day to go out on the catamaran with CozumelSailing.com

LILSISKY - Louisville, KY

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilSisKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2009

I bought my membership last year, so this was the first time I got to stay in my studio. The first impression was breathtaking! It is a small resort compared to many and given the circumstances during the time we travelled (tail end of Swine flu scare) we had the luxury of some solitude. I believe we were the only Canadians there that week and at one point I counted only 20 people one afternoon.

The staff was extremely friendly and my son was taught a few words in Mayan.

If I had to point out a 'dislike' I would mention the food. It was tasty, however... it was about 95% the same every single day. While understood for the size of the place, I would have appreciated more of a variety. Next time we might not select the 'meal-plan'.

The Studio room was a good size for the 3 of us with a king size bed and comfortable pull out sofa bed. I would have liked a pillow top mattress on the bed for better comfort, but others may find firm beds comfortable. The TV was older and the remote was held together with tape, but if they renovate soon, I'm sure that will be looked after.

It was hard to leave, but surely a place to look forward to visit again!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MAumair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

this is a small hotel
they have had a bad rap in the past
the food was good, the beach is private, staff friendly
lots to do
they said next year is remodel time

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank visitorjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2009

We just returned from Fishermen with our friends who have a week timeshare there.
The place is badly in need of repairs, upgrades, maintenance,and furnishings.
The kitchen supplies were dismal. The furniture falling apart literally.
Some of the staff were very nice however Lenny who seems to run the place is quite the hard nosed, don't give an inch type of person. We had to change units 3 times as the first 2 were smelly and in bad shape. Lenny was rude to me when I asked her why she didn't give us the massage gifts for going to the time share presentation. She said we just didn't ask hard enough and it was too late to do anything. She had the power to do what she wanted and just refused to budge an inch.
The time share presentation at Tres Rios was awful. They were only interested in was getting our friends to trade in their 3 weeks for Tres Rios. Tres Rios could be beautiful but they are deeply in debt and it seems implausible that they could possibly finish it given the current economic conditions. Something "Fishy" is going on there. That is the last time I will ever go to one of these presentations. They are down right awful.

I did have a massage which was ok and my friend had one by the same person after me and came out with bruises and said it was the worst massage she had ever had.
Don't bother staying here unless things change

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moriarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2009

We stayed at this condo resort (alternatively called Sunset Fisherman and Fisherman's Village) during our kids spring break. We rented the only 4 bedroom unit in the resort from a rental company called Ocean Summit Travel. We were two families; my family of 2 adults and 3 kids (9, 13, 15) and my in-law's family of 2 adults and 2 kids (13, 15). Overall, this resort worked great for us, thanks in great part to the facilities and staff at Fisherman's as well as the other owners/guests at the resort.

As some background, we had traveled with the same group during spring break for the previous two years, once in Mazatlan and once in Puerto Vallarta. Everyone agreed that, while we really enjoyed those vacations, this was the best.

Our unit (#334) was on the third floor (no elevator) and was on two levels, with two master suites (with king size beds) upstairs on the sea side of the unit so you could open your window at night and hear the roar of the waves. The main level had two other bedrooms but not on the sea side of the unit. The kitchen was great; big fridge, dishwasher, microwave, stove/oven and a 5 gallon water dispenser, which the maid service replace each time they cleaned our room. It had a flat screen tv in the living room (also tvs in one master an one guest suite). One of the owners told us that this unit recently sold for $600k. It was very nice.

Much of what made this vacation great was due to the resort. The resort is small by comparison to previous resorts we've stayed at and, in many ways, is probably why we enjoyed it so much. The resort offers a small restaurant (which we only ate lunch at a couple of times), a bar, a smaller pool, large hot tub, smaller beach, concierge desk and an activities desk that offers daily activities (water volleyball, bike tours, salsa dancing, etc) free boogie boards and bikes. The small size of the resort allowed us to participate in much of the activities. The However the staff really made the difference. We all got a kick out of the one man entertainment dynamo by the name of Sergio. Sergio is a young guy who leads seemingly all the activities such as water volleyball, aerobics, yoga, salsa dancing, and bartending class. He was so nice to all the kids, even playing cards with them for hours. He even served as a lifeguard when some got caught in a riptide during a windy day and was too exhausted to swim back in. The rest of the staff was very friendly and helpful.

The resort is about a 15 minute walk to 5th Ave in Playacar. We found that our routine was to go for a morning walk through the Mayan ruins and to the main road where the all-inclusive hotels are on, go the pool/beach during the day, get a taxi ride to a restaurant somewhere ($5-7 per taxi). After dinner, we'd explore 5th Ave and then walk home, working off our large meals in the process.

We made use of the Spa services on site; having a massage outside while the waves crashed on shore was very relaxing. The bikes were ok; some were in bad shape and not comfortable to ride - they could use to upgrade these bikes.

On past vacations it was rare if we got to know any of the other guests at the hotel we were staying; at Fisherman's there were so many friendly owners/guests. Many of them were older/retired who had bought at Fisherman's when it was built 15 or so years ago. They all knew Playa well and loved to share their favorite restaurant or place to visit in Playa.

If I had to list some cons to the resort I'd have to mention the beach, which was not very good while we were there, apparently because of the direction the wind had been blowing for the last couple of weeks. The sand bags in the water detract slightly to the beautiful Caribbean Sea. The pool is not large by any means but my kids didn't complain once about it.

Overall, this place was perfect for us and I anticipate that we will return again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loririchh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2009

We have owned a (fractional) time-share at Fisherman's for about 3 or 4 years and go every March and Oct. and just returned. Still LOVE the place even though some quality is sliding that we attribute to the energy directed towards Tres Rios. No more slippers or morning coffee in the rooms or safety rope around the beach. Beach is bigger than ever, but area within sand-bagged area has filled in, so swimming is exposed without any ropes to mark off the zone from boats going by. In March the winds blow most of the time, so 2'-3' waves were great fun to play in, but not ideal for swimming. Ocean was cooler than in Oct. so we passed on a day at Xel-Ha as it felt too cool to spend a whole day in the water. Wear a thin layer of cotton long sleeves at night. The F. Beach Club had no support staff or guards that we observed. Discovered fabulous beach at 28th St. on north side of Playa--one of best in the world probably.
People are still as warm and friendly as ever, but some now work at Tres full or part-time. Some new faces, fewer overall since sales staff now at Tres. We eat on side streets in town and have found only and all delightful places and food. Shop at the local Chedrouie grocery and take a cab back to F. Nearby Aviary in Playacar is $15 US, but worth it for a relaxing hour or two, especially in early morning or late day. Iguanas like the path and they will surprise you, but will try to avoid you, just let them know you are coming! Caged bird area is a bit upsetting as you and they watch their buddies flying freely overhead...The F hot tub was being totally emptied/cleaned as we were leaving, but it was nice and hot while we were there. The Spa is still wonderful, especially on the outdoor veranda with the waves crashing a few feet away, but a $10 cab ride to Tres for a massage by Vadim is still tops on our list of things to do. Our favorite Playa restaurants are Kalaka on 4th betw 10th & 15th and Yaxche in the garden for excellent Mayan cuisine at a reasonable price ($50 for 2 with app., dess, 1 drink, tip). Finally, tourism is down due to the economy, yet up as the exchange rate is $100 Mex = $15 US. Have fun! Enjoy Fisherman's!!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank to-live-in-Europe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.3 mi away
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach C...
#60 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
465 reviews
4.6 mi away
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
#98 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
845 reviews
1.2 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#41 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
2,842 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#22 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,608 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reef Playacar
The Reef Playacar
#92 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort

Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo # 9 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77714, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#83 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $157 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Fishermen Spa And Resort
Sunset Fishermen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Sunset Fishermen Playa Del Carmen
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing