We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mexican Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
Ranked #79 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We have been enjoying a week at Fishermen's every second year now for a number of years. This resort is quite modest in many ways but that is offset by it's great staff. It is also fairly small and because it has a lot of repeat guests you often meet old friends and it is easy to make new friends.

One staff member who deserve special mention is Angelesco - who looks after the recreational equipment, kayaks/sailboats etc.manages the towel service, operates a book exchange and porters on the side. He's been there a number of years and remembers guests from one year to the next.

Also special mention to Mad Juana Ama de Ilaves.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank for your nice comments and for coming back to your home away from home every second year.
It is always our pleasure to be your host.
We also appreciate your comments on our staff whom we are very proud of and thank you on their behalf.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,035)
There are newer reviews for Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 1,036 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed at a rental and time share for 7 weeks at the Fishermen January and February of 2014. This is the perfect location. Wonderful beach, within walking distance of 5th Ave. and a wonderful staff. We would like to thank Marciel for all his wonderful help. He is a true friend and we so look forward to seeing him every year. We also loved Alselmo our helpful and friendly towel guy. Juan and Edgar at the front desk were also most helpful. The BEST waiter I have ever had was Gilberto. He really knew his clients, and was so much fun. He was so good they moved him to another resort. Gilberto should move up fast in this organization, in my opinion, as his English and knowledge of clients from the US and Canada was amazing. There was an issue with the young man running the programs, and hopefully they found a suitable person. Anna was always friendly and fun.The situation with not enough chairs on the beach was solved towards the end of our stay, but the lack of umbrellas is still the biggest issue at this resort. It also needs a bit of tender loving care, as there are missing tiles in the pool. This is however a very clean resort. We are renting a condo for a month again next winter.

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs, be careful where you book as only the newer wing has an elevator.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank your for your comments.
We are glad to learn you were able to enjoy your vacation at Sunset Fishermen and are already making plans to come back.
We would like to inform you that we are already taking care of opportunity areas mentioned and we are also looking forward to your next winter visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Had a great week at the Sunset Fishermens Spa & Resort! Best beach ever. Had a blast in the waves that kept rolling in sets. Saw the Sunrise every morning for a week over the Caribbean Ocean. The Moon rise as well. It was very spiritual in the morning and romantic in the evening. The morning Bufet was great, with loads of fresh fruit and freshly baked bread, and the wait staff was superb. Actually all the staff there was great! But the part we enjoyed the most was the early morning walks on the beautiful white sand beach followed by a refreshing swim and breakfast. The Fishermens Resort was right on the beach! It was a great holiday!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is a small resort located in a gated community called Playacar. So there is some security. The resort is right on the beach, has a pool, exercise room, 2 restaurants on site, can get bicycles and kayaks. The staff (desk, concierge, waiters, bar, maid, activity staff, towel guy) is excellent, some speak some English but they will do anything to make you happy. I love it here and return yearly for the best 1-3 weeks of my year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurie3355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank you for sharing your experience at Sunset Fishermen.
We are glad to learn you were able to enjoy your stay with us and had an awesome vacation.
We look forward to your next visit, it will be our pleasure to be your host again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Considering this is an "All inclusive" style hotel, they have two different areas for the different food services they offer: italian, grill and snack bar.
The restaurant's staff is pretty good in general, but it worth a separated mention Massiel Descmoctt, she gave us a very warm and always helpful service, specially to our baby, she was very nice and patient taking care of baby from time to time while adults eat.

*Hotel's services and general aspects rate: a good 8.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank you for your nice comments specially on Massiel whom we are proud of and thank you on her behalf.
We are glad to read you had a wonderful time and look forward to be your host again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The new manager is making some much needed improvements. Still need to improve breakfast buffet...please more American food. The big problem...we asked for a specific room location 8 months ago and despite the fact that the resort was only partially full...they did not honor this request. We are members there but they still seem to cater to guests from their other resort. On the plus side....staff members Jesus, Jose the waiter and Jose the bartender, Angel and Freddie and Ricardo. Special thanks to Marciel who always meets our needs getting taxis, reservations and many other things. The resort is very clean. Beach beautiful. More waiters needed. Bringing large amount of guests in from Tres Rios was crazy. We love this resort but please take care of your own members.

Room Tip: Good luck..we can,t seem to get what we asked for!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We have been timeshare owners for about 10 years and while we still love the magic of Fishermen's, we have also witnessed its' decline and hope for a bright, luxurious future of the resort again!

Glows:
Love the new red and green umbrellas and lounge chair covers and looks like renovations have been taking place to repair the facilities.

Staff: Love the ceramic painting with Aurora. She improves your piece and varnishes it on site so you get your piece back the same day! Love the bartenders, especially Jose and Ricardo. Love wait staff, including Adan, Freddie and Alejandro. Favorite meals were at the Italian restaurant, the grilled shrimp and the extensive breakfast buffet. Love the new GM, Javier, who was incredibly receptive to our feedback. Love Roxana, who always knows what omelet order we want without even having to ask after the first day. Love Lazaro and his tomato creations and crepe making demos. Love Geraldo and his tequila tastings and water aerobics. Love the housekeepers, especially when they make the towel animals complete with stickers for eyes!

Grows:
Lunch is not good. We don't recommend anything on the menu except for the chips, pico de gallo and guacamole but that's not enough to sustain you for the afternoon.

There are high quality servers but there are too few people working to provide amazing service. The servers are overwhelmed trying to do it all- greet diners, bus tables, set tables, serve drinks, dinner, etc, etc. It is incredibly disappointing and does not encourage diners to purchase the all inclusive plan, which also has low quality alcohol, especially compared to the other resorts in the group.

It literally poured rain in our room on our last day. Luckily we caught it early enough and maintenance was quick to make repairs on the roof but it highlights the need for renovations to bring back the luxury of years ago.

As owners, we would love to see our investments and maintenance fees put into Fishermen's, rather than sister resorts.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Born2LoveTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank your for sharing your experience at Sunset Fishermen. We also appreciate the nice comment about our staff, which we have shared with them and we thank your on their behalf.
We are glad to see you were able to try our new gastronomic offer and enjoyed our facilities and activities as well.
We also appreciate the opportunity areas mentioned, our Guest’s feed back enable us to review standards and procedures and we will give follow up to your concerns
We hope to see you back really soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.0 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#6 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
434 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#18 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
852 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real
Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real
#119 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Reef Playacar
The Reef Playacar
#95 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,771 reviews
0.5 mi away
Xaman-ha Luxury Condominiums
Xaman-ha Luxury Condominiums
#8 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Blanca
Casa Blanca
#10 of 178 in Playa del Carmen
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort

Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo # 9 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77714, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#83 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $148 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Fishermen Spa And Resort
Sunset Fishermen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Sunset Fishermen Playa Del Carmen
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing