We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
Ranked #79 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I want to thank everyone who waited on us on our recent vacation at Sunset Fisherman Village in Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. It was an awesome time and a great vacation. The people there were great, inuding Alejando, David Gerardo, Sairy, Consuela. They were awesome and the language barrier was not a problem at all. The best pool and beach and we loved it. Thank you all. Ross and Janette Bender

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Mr. & Ms. Bender:
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
We are glad to read you were able to experience our Mexican Hospitality and enjoyed your stay with us. It was our pleasure to have you with us and we are looking forward to your next visit.
Come back soon, remember you home away from home is waiting for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,035)
There are newer reviews for Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

496 - 502 of 1,036 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

After four days at the Krystal Resort in Cancun, we drove down to Sunset Fisherman's Spa and Resort. It was far nicer. It's smaller and far friendlier. We went to nearby Xelha water park which I recommend and the Aztec ruins at Chichen Itza. The room and view was outstanding. You can walk to the ferry that goes to Cozumel.

The massage was excellent, beach was great. Surf was similar to Cancun. You feel safe walking to town, since it's a gated community, and you'll see small ruins in the little parks along the way, and beautiful trees and houses.

Room Tip: I think we had the best one. It was on the second floor in the section away from the restaurant and...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Guest:
Than you for taking the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor.
It is a real pleasure to see that you enjoyed your stay at Sunset Fishermen.
Next time you visit the Riviera Maya remember you home away from home is waiting for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

My husband and I rented a condo and we have to say its probably one of our favorite vacations yet! The location of this facility is perfect, so easy to get to 5th avenue for shopping or dining and easy to hot 307 and head to Cancun or Tulum. The food is not so great but the service, drinks, beach, and pool are amazing! Very low key resort with the option to add all inclusive for very cheap. I highly recommend this place, the beach was breathtaking, you can see Cozumel, and they rake the beach each morning which is more than anyone can ask for. Love the low key atmosphere with very few children present (although we did go in the off season), and again the location to everything in and around Playa del Carmen is perfect!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChelseaFossum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Guest:
Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad to read that your stay Sunset Fishermen was one of your favorites.
It was our pleasure to be your host and we hope to see you back in the near future.
Remember your home away from home is waiting for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The Fisherman's Village in Playa del Carmen is truly paradise. From the minute Marcial greets us at the beautiful entrance to this mini resort, we are treated like family! David, the activities director is enthusiastic and a great hobie cat sailor. His tour of the coast in a Hobie Cat sail boat is simply divine. Of course , Anselmo at the activities booth is just full of conversation and always with a willingness to serve. Ricardo at the Bar will mix or make your drinks as you like. The location to Quinta Avenida in Playa is so accessible and convenient. The beach itself is pure paradise with the crystalline Caribbean at your doorstep. What an awesome time to have returned to our second home! We simply cannot forget Massiel, the host at the restaurant, who is so courteous and service oriented along with Sary, at the front Desk supporting the whole operation. Thanks Fisherman Family for such an incredible trip!!

Eduardo "Eddie" Molina

Room Tip: Convenient to Xel-Ha,and Xcaret and various denotes.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Sunset Fishermen.
We are delighted to read you had a wonderful time at your home away from home.
We would also like to thank you your nice comments specially about our staff which we are proud of and we thank you on their behalf.
It is always our pleasure to be your host and we are already looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Visited a dozen+ times over 8 years; facility slowly improving. Beach better than ever!!! Rooms--nice new sheets, pillows, spread, sofa/ chair upholstery, drapes, wall paint, flat screen TV, showers and hot tub actually hot; all beach/patio furniture needs replacing and food still mediocre, but cook for yourself or enjoy sweet 15 minute stroll into town 2 x daily--you need the exercise. Beach is better than ever--perfectly smooth white sand w warmest water ever, clear turquoise gentle waves. Pleasant service, easy trip, easy stay, perfect location.

Room Tip: Walk onto beach from 1st floor rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank to-live-in-Europe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Guest:
Thank you for your nice comments and for coming to Sunset Fishermen every year.
We are glad to read that you were able to see the improvements we are making on the property and we are still working on it.
We also appreciate the opportunity area mentioned and we will give follow up with our Food & Beverage department.
We are looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

If it weren't for the service and gorgeous beach, I don't know if I would want to go back to Fisherman's. It is a fading gem that needs to be restored to its former luster. Carolyn K wrote a perfect review of the property and it definitely has declined just as she said. I don't want to be redundant and repeat was she said. We, too, are owners and I agree with most of what she wrote. The tactics that they are using to get members to visit Tres Rios are despicable. They lied outright to us and I did not appreciate that. I also did not like the constant parade of guests from Tres Rios coming to Fisherman's for the day. It is a small resort and I found it quite disruptive. I wish they would put some of that effort into replacing the filthy and broken chaise lounges and mismatched and broken umbrellas (the few that they have).
We did enjoy breakfast every day despite the fact that there were not a lot of choices. The service at La Terraza was always exceptional. Wendy, the hostess, always had a pleasant smile for us and would go out of her way to accommodate any request. Our waiter most days was Jose E and he was wonderful and quickly brought us juice and coffee every morning and was also very quick when we requested refills. We found the overall service to be pleasant and I would like to send a special shout out for Marcial, Jesus at the pool bar, David, Gerardo and the housekeeping staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank honley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Guest:
Thank you for your nice comments of our service and excellent beach .
We are glad to read you enjoyed our service at the Restaurant and we have shared you comment with our staff.
We also appreciate your opportunity areas and you can be sure that issues are being taken care of and we will give follow up, so by your next year's visit you will be able to see the changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We just got back from our one week stay at Fisherman and it was wonderful. It started out with a welcoming lunch(beware of the sales pitch to visit Tres Rios) which was very good and the welcoming dinner the next night. The beach is absolutely gorgeous, very well taken care of, but there do need to be more umbrellas, both on the beach and by the pool. The towels were full sized beach towels. Our room was very clean and well tended to. There were updates since our last visit four years ago, including a coffee pot for 10 now and new couches and chairs. The kitchen chairs were also newly covered. And the pull out couch is now an actual pull out bed. We had accommodations for eight which included a Murphy Bed which was very comfortable. The staff was excellent from the bell hop who welcomed us and greeted us every morning on our way to the pool. He also made sure we didn't pay too much for taxi service. Sairy was very friendly and helpful, and greeted us by name and a big smile every time she saw us. David, the activities director, was excellent, inviting everyone to join the various activities throughout the day which were a lot of fun . He suggested and then took us out on the Hobie sailboat which was a wonderful experience. The Fisherman is small and intimate and you get to know everyone by the end of the week. We met guests that came from Tres Rios to Fisherman because the beach is so much better and they liked the atmosphere better. We took the meal plan for three days and had no problems when it came to charging food and drinks to our room. There could be more choices as far as the menu goes but our waiters, Jorge and Aden, were very attentive and made sure we were taken care of. A wonderful week and can't wait to go back in two years.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.0 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#6 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
434 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#18 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
852 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real
Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real
#119 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Reef Playacar
The Reef Playacar
#95 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,772 reviews
0.5 mi away
Xaman-ha Luxury Condominiums
Xaman-ha Luxury Condominiums
#8 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Blanca
Casa Blanca
#10 of 178 in Playa del Carmen
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort

Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo # 9 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77714, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#83 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $148 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Fishermen Spa And Resort
Sunset Fishermen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Sunset Fishermen Playa Del Carmen
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing