We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
Nearby Hotels
$293
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$227
$191
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$587
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
$331
$217
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
$423
$240
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $328/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
$401
$289
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
$1,434
$753
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
$438
$349
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$562
$472
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 06/03
Book now, pay at stay
$973
$450
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $563/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,180)
Filter reviews
1,180 results
Traveler rating
524
389
121
68
78
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
524
389
121
68
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfishermen's villagetres riosactivities directormember serviceswelcome partythrough rciwalk into townall inclusive plangated communitysecond homethe wait stafffull kitchengreat beachwater aerobicsmayan ruinsbedroom suitethird floor
Filter
Updating list...
670 - 675 of 1,180 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We took the courtesy van from Hacienda Tres Rios, a partner resort, and enjoyed the afternoon at the pool and beach. This is a smaller, older and more intimate property than Tres Rios. The main attraction for us was the beautiful, expansive beach where we could enjoy the wave action or stroll up to Fifth Avenue for shopping and down past all of the other resorts. The little bar/restaurant served a pleasant lunch along with a refreshing margarita.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Guest:
Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to visit us while you stayed at our sister Resort. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our amenities and beach during your visit.
It was our pleasure to be your host.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Luis and Brenda are expert massage therapists. Their techniques and personalized client experience are over the top. Spa prices are reasonable and for those looking for a deal, there is usually one day per week the resorts provides a 2 for 1 discount which is a tremendous value. Please be sure to tip generously if you enjoy your experience. Both of these professionals work hard and are committed to making sure your experience is one you will not forget. My husband and I are Elements Subscribers in the U.S. and found this massage to be of the highest value --- expert therapists operating in the one of the best therapy rooms in the world. Yes, should you be brave and smart enough to choose a Spa Treatment at the Fisherman Village, your therapy will be on the beach under a private Cabana with real waves crashing in the background. We love Luis and Brenda -- We hope you do too!

Room Tip: All of the views are spectacular at this resort. The overall complex is being slowly updated so some of the rooms are in need of an update and improved bedding. However, the rooms are very clean and well maintained. If you are lucky and get a remodeled unit, the experience is over the top. The beach here is the best in all of Playa del Carmen. If you are a beach person, this is the place to be.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TerriLynn_Jeffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Guest:
Thank you for nice comments specially on our Spa staff which we are proud of.
We are glad to read that you consider Ya'ax Ché Spa one of the best in the world.
We invite you to come back soon, it will be our pleasure to be your host again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Our first time there and it won't be our last! Nice beach and a easy walk into town for shopping dining and nighttime festivities.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back to Fishermans next year.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Guest:
Thank your for you comments. We are glad to read we were able to fulfill your expectations during your first time at Sunset Fishermen and you are already thinking of coming back.
We look forward to your next year's visit. Remember your home away from home is waiting for you ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is our fourth visit to this resort and we feel like family since they seem to remember us year after year. We have made many friends from other parts of the states at this resort and we see them every time we return.
The service is excellent from waiters to towel guy to the girls in the Spa and the cleaning service in our room. I had a massage and Brenda did a great job. I make sure and have one every year. Can't wait till next year.

mm

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Guest:
Thank you for your nice comments. It is always our pleasure to have you back and we are already looking forward to your 5th visit.
Remember your home away from home is waiting for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Spent a wonderful week at Sunset Fishermen Village. It was my third visit as my son owns a time share there but seems it just gets better with each visit. The staff is so friendly and helpful. The beach is beautiful and we could walk from our room right to it. A lovely place to relax and visit. Breakfast was custom made to whatever you wanted.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the ground floor rooms that you could walk right to the beach.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Guest:
Thank your for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor. We are glad to know you spent a week in Paradise and were able to see all the improvements we have made at Sunset Fishermen.
We invite you to come back, it will be our pleasure to have you with us for the 4th time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews