We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“home again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
Ranked #82 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
“home again”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Another fantastic visit. From Marcial's "welcome back Senior Joe" as we got out of the cab, to the warm smiles of Jose at the bar, Jose and Adan in the restaurants and of course Sairy our hostess. Front desk staff are quick, efficient and always smiling. This resort is the best. The beach is at your doorstep and people are always stopping to ask about the resort and how can they get in there. The food is top notch and presented with a flair thanks to Chef Betsy and her staff. Can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for sharing your comments. We are glad to read you enjoyed your stay at Sunset Fishermen so much and you felt at home once again.
We look forward to your next visit, remember your home away from home is waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    336
    100
    59
    72
See reviews for
337
290
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We spent a week there with some close friends and everything was wonderful. All of the people there are friendly, happy and helpful. The concierge Patrica is great!! All the folks that tended to use around the pool and in the spa were excellent too!!

In the Spa, Brenda and Luis were wonderful massage therapist.

At the pool, Nancy, Jose, Jesus, Ehlehl, Pablo, Sairy all wonderful and helpful.

We love the short walk into town as well. See you next year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wade C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for sharing nice comments specially of our staff and we thank you on their behalf.
We look forward to your next year visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUINCY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2013

A very nice resort. We have owned here for 9 years & this is our first visit. Already booked for next year. Easy walking via beach or road to downtown. The meals are very good b ut pricey if you haven't purchased a meal plan. Very constant temperature and great water, only 30 yards from our ground floor room. Next time we will definitely convert cash to pesos. The exchange rate varied place to place from a high of 14 to $1 to 10 to $1 at gas stations. Prices are all posted in USD$ but pesos work much better. Staff is very friendly and most all waiters work downtown to give you that "special" deal. The bell captain, Marcial, is very knowledgeable. The whole Yucatan is a safe area, easy to drive in - watch for speed bumps, on ALL roads.

Room Tip: i prefer the gound floor. Very close to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for nice comments. We are glad to read you are already a Member and enjoyed your first visit to Sunset Fishermen so much that you have already booked your next year's visit.
We are so glad we will be able to be your host again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had a wonderful experience with the staff. David Garcia makes the activities fun without pressure and his yoga class was very good. He is always smiling and very sweet to all the guests. Luis is a master at massage and the spa is lovely. The massage room open to the ocean is the best ever!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLL362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest::
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Sunset Fishermen.
We appreciate your nice comments about staff which we are proud of and we thank you on their behalf.
We are glad to read you were able to enjoy our amenities and activities.
We hope to see you soon, remember that your home away from home is waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We spent a week in April in this beautiful small resort on a gorgeous beach in Playa del Carmen area. Architecture of the resort was, in my opinion, prizewinning, buildings and grounds were very well maintained and safety was absolute. We loved beach walks and street walks- just 15 minutes to the ferry in Playa del Carmen.
We had a lovely and specious studio so nicely furnished, with a balcony so close to the ocean
and beautiful view. Room was made up every day.
Our resort also had the best maintened beach with beautiful sand and azure blue clear ocean.
Best beach furniture in the aria to relax, stay in the shade and read. Resort also has an excellent SPA and classes and activities from Salsa dancing, Spanish, painting souvenirs and pool and beach volleyball.
One could easily reach several all day tourist parks with activities and shows either by taking a bus tour or driving to.
We met and talked to very nice people, several guests and staff.
Staff of the resort was absolutely excellent from the front desk and concierge, to hostesses and waiters, towel service and ground keepers. Special Thanks to Miguel, Sairy, Valente, Pablo, Carlos, Elizeth, Conrado, Priscila, Jonathan, Consuelo !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vesna_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your kind comments. Our guest satisfaction is our main concern at Sunset Fishermen and to read your comment inspires us to continue working hard to keep our quality and standards but most of all to continue providing the excellent service we have become known for.
It will be our pleasure to have you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I love this resort. Jose, Pablo, Angel and Jose the waiter were exceptional. Also Sarita (so?) Was great. Beach is beautiful. This resort is small and in a great location. One negative...they bring in vans full of people from Tree Rios (sunsets other resort) As fisherman's is small it does not have enough dining space or beach chairs for this influx of people. Also the staff seems to pay extra attention to tree Rios guests. Several days we were out of several menu items because tree Rios guests eat meals at fisherman's. People staying at fisherman's take a back seat to tree Rios visitors. All in all I still love this resort. I hope they start treating their guests as well as they do visitors from the other resort. Also thanks to David for all his hard work....he goes out of his way to accommodate the guests.

Room Tip: All are great. Some ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patbOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fargo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I can't say enough about this place--we had such an amazing time here. The staff were beyond great and so helpful. Sairy, Angel, Pablo, Carlos, Antonio, Jose--I know that I am forgetting someone but they were too good to us. I didn't encounter one staff member that was rude--we have always had good service when we've been to Mexico but the staff here go above and beyond. I love that it is a small resort and that everything is close, as opposed to those gigantic places where it takes you ten minutes to get from your room to the beach. We had a beautiful view and stayed in a studio but I did see the layouts of a few other rooms and they are all unique. We met so many great people here, tourists and staff alike. They have sailboats, kayaks, tequila tasting, massages, and more. It is a short walk to town and has the best beach around. The sand is the best and there are no rocks or weeds anywhere. I read some of the these other posts and assume that there are some people you just can't please---I don't know how anyone would complain about Sunset Fisherman. All the people that met there felt the same way. Many were owners at Tres Rios which is a HUGE sister property yet they preferred staying at the Sunset Fisherman because of its small size and outstanding service. We will absolutely come back---we miss you already Sairy!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in 202A which was on the second floor facing the ocean--it was perfect for us and quiet--t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amysagemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for you nice comments, we are so glad to read you had a great time and enjoyed our amenities.
We hope to see you back soon, remember you home away from home is waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real
Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real
#111 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#24 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reef Playacar
The Reef Playacar
#98 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Xaman-ha Luxury Condominiums
Xaman-ha Luxury Condominiums
#13 of 206 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Che B&B
Casa Che B&B
#11 of 173 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
#40 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort

Property: Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo # 9 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77714, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#84 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Fishermen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Sunset Fishermen Spa And Resort
Sunset Fishermen Playa Del Carmen
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing