We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (1,353)
Filter reviews
1,354 results
Traveler rating
646
427
129
72
80
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
646
427
129
72
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fishermen's village tres rios activities director member services timeshare owners through rci walk into town all inclusive plan gated community second home the wait staff water aerobics mayan ruins bedroom suite third floor cab ride the entire staff
Filter
Updating list...
843 - 848 of 1,354 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We've come here for nearly ten years and always look forward to our stay at this little get.

No place is without its drawbacks, but the beauty of the sea from your balcony, the warmth of the staff and comfort of the rooms makes up for the occasional problem re car rentals or getting the perfect room on floor level with walkouts to the beach.

All rooms overlook the sea, the beach and fun in the waves are steps away.

The activities are there when you want them Yoga and stretch classes, bingo, trivia games, cuisine classes - sushi, guacamole making, even paella one year, and of course tequila tasting. Also the bike tours, but not after the tequilla tasting.

David does it all and with charm and enthusiasm. He's there every day but his one day off. We have enjoyed his being here for the last three years.

And Marciel is at the foyer to welcome you with your names and a hug and a smile as you arrive, and there to answer all your questions in English, Spanish and even French.

Ansel gets you organized, first with towels, then with the hobiecats or the kayaks, or boogie boards, or shovels and pails for the kids. The sand is perfect for castles. He also has a library of pocketbooks - take one, leave one.

The staff who organized the rooms are amazingly patient with guests who all want the same room, and help in any way they can to make the stay as perfect as possible.

An enthusiastic owner at Fishermen's
Marg from Meaford

Room tip: Arrive early
Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marg o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Fishermen Spa & Resort has the best beach area in Playa del Carmen. It is steps from any hotel door. Although the shortage of umbrellas can be an issue, the rest of it more than makes up for this shortfall.

The restaurant (upstairs and the beach-side grill) have been working very hard to improve the quality of the food. The breakfasts are great, and we had one of the best meals we've had in Playa at the grill.

Anselmo, Marciel, Priscilla, Karen, and the rest of the staff are very helpful and friendly. David and Carlos organize enough activities to keep the guests busy who are looking for activities, and the addition of a couple of hobycats was a thoughtful addition by the management/owners.

The people in the spa - Brenda, Vicki and the others - are very good and the hot stone massages are a favourite.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My husband and I just spent our 6th 2-week vacation at The Fishermen. We love it thereI You can't get any closer to the water and the beach is wonderful. The views from the balconies over-looking the beach are spectacular as you gaze across to Cozumel. We love the fact that it is a small resort which makes it very easy to meet other people. We also find the staff to be so friendly and helpful. Even when they do not speak English there is always a big smile and a greeting. We partricularly liked David who is the activities director. Although much more reserved than the well-loved previous person it was fun to see him at one moment assisting in a sushi- making class and then next,taking people out on the Hobie cat sail boat. He seems to be able to do anything required by his position. We also love Marciel, the doorman (although there is no door). He has been there for many years and remembers all the returning guests. He is also an amazing source of information.
The furniture was getting "tired" but while we were there our apartment received new furniture.
We love the fact we are so close to the active parts of Playa and the activities there but we so much enjoy the quiet . If you are looking for night life and excitement this is not the place for you.
but there are few places ant better

Room tip: Most rooms have a beach view but a few do not. If you have a late arrival you may not get the best view.
Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WineHarbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

There has been no hot water for 4 days. Worse yet, it seems like none of the staff really care. They say they'll take care of it and another day goes by. The water is varying temps of luke warm, some days being not so warm. Some of the units do have hot water, but from surveying some of the visitors, only 20% of them had hot water.

This review may not be helpful to most, but it seems like there is always some large problem with the resort every time we come down. I also have a feeling there was no hot water the week before, but I haven't seen any posts on it yet. So, if you have not hot water next week, or the week after, you'll know this problem has been going on for a while.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank msgersch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I have been to Fisherman's 7 or 8 times now and have always loved it. The beach is fantastic, the service is always wonderful, the people are friendly, and proximity to town allows for easy trips to shopping and dining. A few things have changed over the years. There used to be an amazing activities director names Luis who no longer works there. However, David is very nice and doing a good job as replacement. There is another gentleman, Carlos, who we saw very little off (and he seemed a little pompous so that was ok). The food leaves something to be desired but most people seem to go to town for dinners. Everyone has fully stocked condos, so many meals are cooked in. The restaurant manager, Ivan, has been there for a while and is a wonderful person so I wish they could do something to improve the restaurant quality. The condos are spacious but have dated furniture and artwork. Everything is clean, organized, and comfortable though. If you have been before, you will be happy to know that Marcial, Anselmo, Antonio, Jesus, and many others are still there! They do seem to be trying to make upgrades. It looked like some units were getting new couches when we were just there, so there is hope! In summary, I would highly recommend Fisherman's for vacation.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews