We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
Ranked #90 of 210 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Albert Lea, Minnesota
1 review
“Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We spent 2 weeks at fishermens in Playa delcarmen and found it excellent. The staff met all our needs. David was great as he had many great activities to do and kept us really busy. Really enjoyed pool water aerobics. Also Vickie at the spa gave a fantastic massage and I would strongly recommnend her. Please get to know the staff and make sure they know they are appreciated.
Kent and Sue

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kent A E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    300
    90
    57
    69
See reviews for
297
249
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southlake, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We just returned from a week at Fishemen's Village. It was great! I love the fact that it is within walking distance to the fabulous shops and restaurants of Playa del Carmen's Fifth Avenue. You can also walk to the ferry and take a day trip over to Cozumel. I like that they have an optional daily all inclusive plan. We enjoyed having the flexibility of either eating at the property or being able to walk to town to eat and shop. They also have kitchens in the rooms which are nice. I felt very safe here as this is a small condo property located within a gated community of upscale private homes The Mayan ruins right across the street are an added bonus. The rooms are very clean and well kept and have granite countertops, travertine floors and comfortable beds. The private beach is stunning;and the staff was great! They have a beautiful infinity edge pool with swim up bar and huge jacuzzi. Activities include bicycling, water volleyball and pottery painting as well as plenty of tours and attractions in the surrounding area. The spa is fabulous and so relaxing! You can get a private couples massage, overlooking the beach, while listening to the waves. This is a great escape from the huge all inclusive resorts we have visited in the past. We have been coming to Playa del Carmen for over 20 years and staying at Fishermen's for about 5 years. We love it and would definitely recommend it to anyone considering staying here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We recently spent two glorious weeks at Fishermen's in February. We have been going to Fishermen's for eight years and just love it there. When Marcial greets you upon arrival you really feel that you have arrived at a home away from home. He always remembers your name and will assist you with anything, anytime. He is a real gem! The grill chef, Sergio, is the best grill chef Fishermen's has had in a long time. The breakfast is excellent and is bacon available every day! Sergio not only speaks English well, but has a great personality. Ivan and his team of waiters are always anxious to please. Antonio, Adan and Valente go out of their way to serve you well. My husband and I have massages each week. I highly recommend Luis, who is absolutely wonderful. The setting is amazing and Luis does a great job. Fishermen's has a wonderful location, good food, and wonderful staff. The only drawback to a perfect vacation is the lack of umbrellas and uncomfortable, old chaise lounges by the pool.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manistee, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We just can't say too much about the staff at Fishermen's Spa and Resort. We just finished up our first stay and already miss the warm, smiling faces on all of the staff. We especially want to give a shout-out to Luis at the Spa, who went out of his way to share "his office" with us while we were there and to make sure our every need was met. What a wonderful fellow to have working in such a wonderful place like Fishermen's.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo42429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was our 5th time at the Sunset Fisherman. When we bought our unit in 2005 we thought we would use RCI a lot to trade our week and travel around the Caribbean, That hasn't happened. We have just found that this resort is so personable, beautiful, and well placed that we just keep coming back! The staff are always so friendly and go out of their way for us. I'd see Sergio there every morning ready to make my omelette with a big smile, and David ready to do our exercises for the day. It's small enough to know most of the folks, and you can get around it without a golf cart! Add to that the fact that you can walk into town to shop or dine, and it's the perfect place, not to mention the awesome beach!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Great holiday, location is nice and close to everything that you could want, the beachfront is beautiful and the hotel staff are so friendly, the games coordinators did a great job with activities, I personally had a great time playing water volleyball with them and they also taught me how to play poker, I would definitely come back again was a very very good holiday!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lance54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The beach is fabulous! Lots of it, white sand, well maintained daily, beautiful ocean! Really can't say enough about the beach! They do however, really need more umbrellas on the beach. There are kayak's to play with and swimming and wave jumping are a daily event for many! The grounds are impeccable, the pool area is great ... adult pool, whirlpool, kids pool and even a very shallow area for little ones! Water aerobics daily! There is a pool bar and a lobby bar. The Spa offers a variety of massages, facials, mani/pedi's from a staff that are very good at what they do ... always happy after a visit there.

The staff are wonderful! The staff enrich your experience, so friendly and acommodating ... they make the place! Really! They couldn't be friendlier or more helpful. I go every year and each year I look forward to getting there. The town of Playa is a short walk (10-15 mins) or taxi ride ($7) They have a Walmart. MANY restaurants and shops all the way down 5th Ave.

I end each evening sitting on my patio viewing the ocean and watching the twinkling lights of Cozemel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mugsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real
Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real
#96 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 578 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Reef Playacar
The Reef Playacar
#87 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 3,692 reviews
0.4 mi away
Excel Sense Playacar Boutique Hotel
Excel Sense Playacar Boutique Ho...
#106 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Viva Wyndham Azteca
Viva Wyndham Azteca
#68 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 3,261 reviews
0.7 mi away
Xaman-ha Luxury Condominiums
Xaman-ha Luxury Condominiums
#15 of 179 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Allegro Playacar
Allegro Playacar
#83 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 4,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort

Property: Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo # 9 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#86 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Fishermen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Sunset Fishermen Spa And Resort
Sunset Fishermen Playa Del Carmen
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing