We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
Ranked #79 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We recently spent two glorious weeks at Fishermen's in February. We have been going to Fishermen's for eight years and just love it there. When Marcial greets you upon arrival you really feel that you have arrived at a home away from home. He always remembers your name and will assist you with anything, anytime. He is a real gem! The grill chef, Sergio, is the best grill chef Fishermen's has had in a long time. The breakfast is excellent and is bacon available every day! Sergio not only speaks English well, but has a great personality. Ivan and his team of waiters are always anxious to please. Antonio, Adan and Valente go out of their way to serve you well. My husband and I have massages each week. I highly recommend Luis, who is absolutely wonderful. The setting is amazing and Luis does a great job. Fishermen's has a wonderful location, good food, and wonderful staff. The only drawback to a perfect vacation is the lack of umbrellas and uncomfortable, old chaise lounges by the pool.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    334
    98
    59
    71
See reviews for
336
286
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manistee, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We just can't say too much about the staff at Fishermen's Spa and Resort. We just finished up our first stay and already miss the warm, smiling faces on all of the staff. We especially want to give a shout-out to Luis at the Spa, who went out of his way to share "his office" with us while we were there and to make sure our every need was met. What a wonderful fellow to have working in such a wonderful place like Fishermen's.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo42429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was our 5th time at the Sunset Fisherman. When we bought our unit in 2005 we thought we would use RCI a lot to trade our week and travel around the Caribbean, That hasn't happened. We have just found that this resort is so personable, beautiful, and well placed that we just keep coming back! The staff are always so friendly and go out of their way for us. I'd see Sergio there every morning ready to make my omelette with a big smile, and David ready to do our exercises for the day. It's small enough to know most of the folks, and you can get around it without a golf cart! Add to that the fact that you can walk into town to shop or dine, and it's the perfect place, not to mention the awesome beach!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Great holiday, location is nice and close to everything that you could want, the beachfront is beautiful and the hotel staff are so friendly, the games coordinators did a great job with activities, I personally had a great time playing water volleyball with them and they also taught me how to play poker, I would definitely come back again was a very very good holiday!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lance54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The beach is fabulous! Lots of it, white sand, well maintained daily, beautiful ocean! Really can't say enough about the beach! They do however, really need more umbrellas on the beach. There are kayak's to play with and swimming and wave jumping are a daily event for many! The grounds are impeccable, the pool area is great ... adult pool, whirlpool, kids pool and even a very shallow area for little ones! Water aerobics daily! There is a pool bar and a lobby bar. The Spa offers a variety of massages, facials, mani/pedi's from a staff that are very good at what they do ... always happy after a visit there.

The staff are wonderful! The staff enrich your experience, so friendly and acommodating ... they make the place! Really! They couldn't be friendlier or more helpful. I go every year and each year I look forward to getting there. The town of Playa is a short walk (10-15 mins) or taxi ride ($7) They have a Walmart. MANY restaurants and shops all the way down 5th Ave.

I end each evening sitting on my patio viewing the ocean and watching the twinkling lights of Cozemel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mugsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed at the Sunset Fisherman for the first time this January/February. It was spectacular! The staff is so friendly! They smile all the time, and welcome you with so much warmth. Carlos took the time to take pictures and send them to us, which I thought was excellent. He planned lots of fun games for every age group. David has a smile on his face 100% if the time and is an expert at yoga and aerobics. He did a great job hosting the fiesta. Karen is the most professional concierge I have ever come across. Gracious as well as beautiful. Marciel is a gem, and his greeting and wonderful good nature made him a pleasure to talk to every day. Need a great massage? Vicky is wonderful. I also enjoyed a spa experience with Brenda who did a great pedicure. Anselmo, was the friendliest towel person I have ever come across. There was an amazing chef called Rijo Hgustin (I think) who did superb fruit and vegetable carving. The staff makes this place! It is just a few steps from the ocean, and my only complaint was the lack of umbrellas on the beach. Would we go again? In a minute!

Room Tip: If you want to avoid stairs, and want easy access to the beach book a room on the bottom floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The beach is terrific, the staff are amazing and the beach you meet are so friendly. Thanks to 'Mayor Dan' for his humour. Carlos and David were fantastic and the volleyball action was spirited. We hadn't been in four years and the improvement to the menu at the Fisherman grill was great. i definitely received my monies worth on the all inclusive day! :) Gracias!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winterpegger59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real
Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real
#111 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
615 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#28 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
813 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reef Playacar
The Reef Playacar
#93 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Xaman-ha Luxury Condominiums
Xaman-ha Luxury Condominiums
#12 of 199 in Playa del Carmen
254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Che B&B
Casa Che B&B
#13 of 173 in Playa del Carmen
181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
#43 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort

Property: Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo # 9 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77714, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#84 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Fishermen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Sunset Fishermen Spa And Resort
Sunset Fishermen Playa Del Carmen
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing