We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love being here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
Ranked #88 of 210 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love being here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The beach is fabulous! Lots of it, white sand, well maintained daily, beautiful ocean! Really can't say enough about the beach! They do however, really need more umbrellas on the beach. There are kayak's to play with and swimming and wave jumping are a daily event for many! The grounds are impeccable, the pool area is great ... adult pool, whirlpool, kids pool and even a very shallow area for little ones! Water aerobics daily! There is a pool bar and a lobby bar. The Spa offers a variety of massages, facials, mani/pedi's from a staff that are very good at what they do ... always happy after a visit there.

The staff are wonderful! The staff enrich your experience, so friendly and acommodating ... they make the place! Really! They couldn't be friendlier or more helpful. I go every year and each year I look forward to getting there. The town of Playa is a short walk (10-15 mins) or taxi ride ($7) They have a Walmart. MANY restaurants and shops all the way down 5th Ave.

I end each evening sitting on my patio viewing the ocean and watching the twinkling lights of Cozemel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mugsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    296
    87
    56
    68
See reviews for
284
241
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed at the Sunset Fisherman for the first time this January/February. It was spectacular! The staff is so friendly! They smile all the time, and welcome you with so much warmth. Carlos took the time to take pictures and send them to us, which I thought was excellent. He planned lots of fun games for every age group. David has a smile on his face 100% if the time and is an expert at yoga and aerobics. He did a great job hosting the fiesta. Karen is the most professional concierge I have ever come across. Gracious as well as beautiful. Marciel is a gem, and his greeting and wonderful good nature made him a pleasure to talk to every day. Need a great massage? Vicky is wonderful. I also enjoyed a spa experience with Brenda who did a great pedicure. Anselmo, was the friendliest towel person I have ever come across. There was an amazing chef called Rijo Hgustin (I think) who did superb fruit and vegetable carving. The staff makes this place! It is just a few steps from the ocean, and my only complaint was the lack of umbrellas on the beach. Would we go again? In a minute!

Room Tip: If you want to avoid stairs, and want easy access to the beach book a room on the bottom floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The beach is terrific, the staff are amazing and the beach you meet are so friendly. Thanks to 'Mayor Dan' for his humour. Carlos and David were fantastic and the volleyball action was spirited. We hadn't been in four years and the improvement to the menu at the Fisherman grill was great. i definitely received my monies worth on the all inclusive day! :) Gracias!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winterpegger59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

If you are not in physically in good condition (able to climb stairs) this place is not for you. We arrived early (10:30) and were promised a room that I wouldn't have to do three flights of stairs or at least an elevator. Our room was not ready until 4 p.m. That part was fine. The pool area is beautiful and made the afternoon go fast. We ended up on the third floor, no elevator, so it was 36 steps up and 36 steps down at least twice a day. I ended up with muscle problems in my legs that caused them to turn all black and blue from the knee up. Chalk it up as an experience. I enjoyed doing things with David and Carlos. They were both so helpful. Carlos was in charge of a Texas Holdem game, that I played with four others that were really good at it. Carlos was helpful and made the game fun! Would have had another session but not enough players. He lead the bean toss, gofl putting game. He also assisted in the fruit/veg carving class. Then there was the tequila class. He was kind and considerate when people came late into the class. On Wednesday he took over the water exercise class when David had a day off. Carlos and David work very well together the short time I saw them. I know every one talks about Luis, who I got to meet, everyone of us has our own personalities, given time Carlos will be the same. Does he need a little polishing? That's up to you, I enjoyed it all, other than the stair climbing. I was a guest with my daughter and son-in-law that have been coming there for years. They were both a bit disappointed about room requests too. If you plan to go to Fisherman's with your parents or in-laws that are some what handicapped, it would be nice if they could promise you something before you go. A beautiful place! The staff was very friendly and did their job?

Room Tip: If you are not in physically in good condition (able to climb stairs) this place is not for you. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BevK823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your kind and detailed review, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with our entertainment staff and will be sure to pass your comments along to them.
We regret to hear there was a problem with your room request on the first floor however we will continue to strive in order to fulfill all special requests.
We reiterate our gratitude for the time it took to write your review and hope you will come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The staff was great. For example Carlos delivered the Tequila "training " session to 3 people with the same professional effort as to a large group. The bartenders make special efforts to please.

Sergio the cook will make whatever you want for breakfasts. Breakfast on the terrace, overlooking the ocean is something to which I looked forward every day.

Location is excellent ... right on the beach ... our room was 10 feet from the sand!

There is a hot water problem ... lack of it. Everybody takes showers at the same time.
This is a management problem not staff problem. The owners need to upgrade the system.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeDoc524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your review, we appreciate all of your kind comments and will be sure to share them with our staff. All staff members mentioned on this forum receive a special recognition during our monthly celebration of quality service.
We value feedback and take it as an opportunity to improve our service, you can rest assured your suggestion has been reviewed with our management.
We hope to welcome you back soon so you can enjoy another memorable vacation experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Warm and friendly staff. Our room maid, Maria Ines Sanchez, was attentive and personable, and did a fantastic job each day making our stay more than comfortable, clean and welcoming. Beach was immaculate. Wifi worked in room and in pool area to keep me connected.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments, we are very proud of our staff and will be sure to share your nice comments with Ines.
All staff members mentioned on this forum receive a special participation during our monthly celebration of quality service.
We do hope to see you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsburg, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The staff here is amazing...except for Carlos. Marcial at the door, Rosario, Sergio the cook, Inez the maid...all are superb. The accomodations are always excellent.

I do have one complaint, though. The vast majority of the guests are retired Americans and Canadians. It's a quiet, close knit group who enjoy many activities together. In the past Luis was in charge of activities. He was excellent at talking with the guests and putting together activities for everyone, especially Texas Hold Em in the afternoon. Carlos on the other hand would promise to have THE but would be sure to schedule other activities (such as Name that Disney Tune) for the two families with kids. Then he would tell the older folks he was busy. Bad deal! These guys waited all day while Carlos was doing nothing, then start something at 3:00 when he promised the players a game at 3:30. I know that can't replace Luis but this guy is a disaster!

Again, the food, accomodation, and staff at Fisherman's are beyond fantastic. Hopefully the managers will do something about the Carlos situation and the resort will be as great at it was last year.

Room Tip: The spa needs to be updated- only one working treadmill and the hot tub has only worked one of the 8...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your review, we are happy to know you are repeat guest and overall had another memorable vacation.
We will be sure to share your kind comments with our staff and rest assured your recommendations for the activities program have been taken into consideration. We do hope to see you soon so you can see the changes made for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real
Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real
#90 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 563 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Reef Playacar
The Reef Playacar
#92 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 stars 3,442 reviews
0.6 mi away
Excel Sense Hostel Boutique
Excel Sense Hostel Boutique
#15 of 170 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Viva Wyndham Azteca
Viva Wyndham Azteca
#68 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 3,163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Allegro Playacar
Allegro Playacar
#85 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 4,004 reviews
0.5 mi away
Viva Wyndham Maya
Viva Wyndham Maya
#80 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 5,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort

Property: Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo #9 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#86 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Groupon, Hotwire, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Fishermen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Sunset Fishermen Spa And Resort
Sunset Fishermen Playa Del Carmen
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing