We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“David Garcia activities coordinator”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
Ranked #82 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“David Garcia activities coordinator”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

David is one of the most friendly and helpful staff person at Sunset Fisherman. His skills are so diverse. From Volleyball, aqua aerobics, volleyball, soccer, sailing, surfing and even Bongo. David makes all activities fun. He even participated and helped my daughter build a great sand castle. Fisherman Village has the best beach in Plays Del Carmen. The weather was great too.

Room Tip: If you can request the ocean view that would be a huge plus
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel-Bos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for nice comments about your stay at Sunset Fishermen and our staff which we are proud of.

It will be our pleasure to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    334
    98
    59
    72
See reviews for
336
287
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We travel to Fishermans every spring and it's the highlight of our year. The resort is beautiful and perfectly sized for our family vacation, but the thing that makes it so special is the staff. It starts with the bell men Manuel who has been there for years and always gives us a warm welcome that makes us feel at home. The activities director Luis is just awesome and fun to be around him. It's one part of the vacation that the kids most look forward to. The interactions between his assistant and equipment check man Anselmo always bring a smile to our face and provide wonderful memories for years to come. The dining staff is also superb. Manuel, the maitradee, routinely goes above and beyond to make us feel at home. Whether its a special meal of hot dog and fries for the kids, helping us with large party reservations, Mayan coffee, or accommodating a special request, he is a wonderful person who we always look forward to seeing and making us feel like we are at a home away from home. I hope the management team at sunset world realizes the importance of these employees and rewards them accordingly. Every time we share the beauty of Fishermans with friends, the beach, pool, and setting always garner comment, but the staff always leave us all coming back for more. A beautiful resort with fantastic staff equals a 5 star from us!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmaldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We are owners at the Sunset Lagoon. But we enjoy the quaint atmosphere and superb service that we always receive at Fishermen’s Village. So we tend to spend most of our vacations there. The staff is outstanding. Especially Jonathan, Jose and Angel Chi. They made our vacation a complete success. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest:

We appreciate the time you took to share your experience at Sunset Fishermen and thank you for your nice comments, specially on our staff which we are very proud of.
It is our pleasure to be your host every time you travel to this your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Spent a week with friends (who own) at Sunset Fisherman and it was Paradise. The resort is small so not "overcrowded" like some of the other big resorts. It's tucked away in a nice quiet exclusive neighborhood. The staff was very helpful and friendly. (Especially, Jonathan and Jose (at the bar)). Had a slight problem with some machinery noise outside my bedroom, but it was fixed immediately (and this was the middle of the night!). It is within walking distance to shops and great resturants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad to read you had a great time with your friends and enjoyed the property to the extent of thinking of us as paradise.
We do hope you will continue to consider us your home away from home and visit us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

This trip was great. The ocean was clear and warm. The property was very pleasant. It was clean and the staff could not have been more pleasant.
Karen, the concierge, was very informative about activities. She was there all week to answer any questions and take care of all situations. She was very good.
Jesus, the bartenter, after being taught the drink recipe that one of us liked, always kept them coming. The two activities directors, Luis and David, were always right there trying to get us to do things. Luis gave us a class to use the Hobie Cat. It was a lot of fun. I went out every day after that. Luis came out on a kayak after the Hobie Cat tipped over and helped me get it upright. I was so thankful being a beginner. I might have been out there all day.
It was always a pleasure to go down to breakfast and have the smilling Chef Rigo create an omelet to order.
The waiters Juan and Richardo were always peasant and helpful whether at breakfast , lunch or dinner. They even brought drinks out onto the beach. Juanita, the housekeeper, always did a wonderful job keeping our room organized.

I had heard bad things about the food but did not find the food bad all. In fact I was very pleased. I am somewhat of a foodie. We always had breakfast there. We either had lunch and dinner on different days. I only had one dish all week that was not good. It was a spring vegetable risotto. It tasted good was too dry. It all stuck together.
The property is in a great location. You can walk to town on the beach, about 15 minutes. It is in a very safe area. Four of my sisters came to the same place in April and also loved it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RSchiesher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest:

We appreciate the time you took to share your experience at Sunset Fishermen.
Thank you for your comments on our staff, we do thank you on their behalf. We are glad to read you enjoyed our new gastronomic offer and had time to enjoy our property and activities program.
We invite you to come back and make of Sunset Fishermen your home away from home.
It will be our pleasure to be your host again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westland, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Last year, my wife and I stopped at this lovely little resort, tucked into a very quiet and exclusive neighborhood of homes and rentals, to check it out for a possible future visit.

When we walked into the main lobby, immediately we were taken with how nice and cozy it felt and how friendly the staff were to us, even though we weren't guests, just visitors.

Upon walking through the lobby and out to the main courtyard and pool area, we were smitten! Without even needing to look much further (even though we did, of course!), we knew we would return here and as guests, which we have just done, completing our one week stay there from September 8-15, 2012.

This is a fantastically beautiful resort, quiet as I mentioned but very much still spacious enough to allow one to roam about the property seeing the various sights and decor of the resort.

As comfortable as our studio room was--and we had by far one of the very best rooms possible, being literally 10 feet from the beach outside our doorwall--the absolute keystone to this resort is the very, Very, VERY best beach I've ever been on! It was immaculately clean, all white sand, leading very nicely into the most beautiful blue water possible! We were so happy to have this beach area--and its the same way in either direction along the water--we made sure to use it each and every day of our stay! There are ample canopy beds along with more than enough chaise lounge chairs available to use!

The pool, which is very uniquely shaped, with different sections of different depths, including a nice, long "infinity wall", was always clean, uncrowded and warm--almost too warm for all the 90+ degree days we experienced. But I spent many an hour wading and swimming around to keep cool and hydrated.

The staff was beyond incredibly friendly--everyone, and I truly mean every person working there--had a ready smile, the most pleasant demeanor, and were more than willing to help out with any question or issue and they even knew us by name, from the second day of our stay onward! I was so impressed with how attentive everyone was and the staff, along with the beautiful surroundings, was what made our trip and A+ experience!

In particular, Jose Velazquez--who tended the main bar in the lobby area--was an incredible host for us! We would walk up to the bar and Jose knew already what we wanted! Great guy and I wish every bartender was like him!

Also, Jonathan Rendon provided absolutely superb service to us during one of our dinner evenings there on property.

Which brings me to my very few critiques:

There is truly only one primary restaurant right off of the lobby, but there is also a round-shaped area just off the pool that also doubles as a restaurant area as well. These two locations are rotated for the evening meals.

Along with the one bar that Jose tends off the lobby, there is only one other area, a swim-up bar which can also be walked up to, that serves drinks. I will say that we were a bit disappointed in the lack of truly top-shelf liquor available, however, because the rooms have kitchenette areas, we ended up going to a local supermarket and stocking up on our own supplies which we used throughout the week.

I only used Room Service one time--right after we checked in--to ask for some beers and a carafe of gin & tonic and they only brought four warm beers and the carafe was not of the best quality of drink.

However, these very minor picayune issues aside, we loved it here and we WILL be coming back! We guaranteed this because in conjunction with a sister resort, Hacienda Tres Rios, we bought a 10-year package which will allow us to return and partake of any of the Sunset properties, but we know we will be using all our available weeks at both Tres Rios and at Fishermen, for many years to come!

I wish I could give this a 4.5-star rating, but I could only pick 4 or 5 stars.

If you go here--and if you're not looking for a variety of six bars and seven restaurants--you will absolutely LOVE the Sunset Fishermen Resort & Spa!

Room Tip: If you want THE perfect room, ask for Room 116-B! Its a very nice, spacious-enough studio that is l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest:
It was our pleasure to welcome you once more and are glad to read you enjoyed the property so much and were able to experience our staff's warm hospitality.
We also do thank you for your constructive criticism which we value and you can rest assured we have reviewed it thoroughly in order to improve those areas.
We invite you to come back and see for yourself the improvements we have made since your last visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is a great all-inclusive optional resort. Not to large (maybe 50 rooms) but has all the amenities- spa, pool, multiple bars, dining options, water activities, and friendly staff. There is something for every age and the activity directors love working with everyone. My grandmother had Luis give our little group salsa lessons by the pool he was great. The rooms are very clean and come with kitchenettes or full kitchens if you opt out of all-inclusive. Very close to town to walk or take a cab for cheap, and you pass by multiple ruins on the way to town.

Room Tip: all rooms have ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real
Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real
#111 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#26 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reef Playacar
The Reef Playacar
#94 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Xaman-ha Luxury Condominiums
Xaman-ha Luxury Condominiums
#13 of 200 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Che B&B
Casa Che B&B
#12 of 172 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
#41 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort

Property: Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo # 9 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77714, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#84 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Fishermen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Sunset Fishermen Spa And Resort
Sunset Fishermen Playa Del Carmen
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing