We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUR FAVORITE PLACE ON THE YUCATAN”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
Ranked #78 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We look forward all year to two weeks at Fishermen's! It is like going home..from year to year, Marcial recognizes us and welcomes us by name. Luis is always waiting to welcome everyone and in my case, has the cribbage board ready. They are all like family. The hotel itself is wonderful, always clean and so close for walking to town to enjoy all the other wonderful things about Playa del Carmen. The food is not the best, but the jugo verde is by far the most delicious and nutritious I have had (and I try it everywhere). The small size of the facility is perfect for families with children as you always know where they are and even the staff helps keep track of them! I highly recommend it, but don't take my two weeks! Sra. Judy

Room Tip: the internet is available only in the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hunkydory25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Dear Guest:

We appreciate the time you took to write your comments about your stay at Sunset Fishermen. We have shared your comments with our staff members. Regarding the food, we want you to know that we have a new Chef in charge and a new gastronomic offer is available, so by your next visit, you will see the improvements that have been made on the Food & Beverages field.

It is our pleasure to have you back every year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,077)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

725 - 731 of 1,077 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2012

We rented two units, #340 and #341, from private owners which were listed on VRBO. We had two families with each family staying in one of the units. If you stay here, be aware that half the units in the complex are privately owned and half are owned by a timeshare company. Also, 2 of the 4 buildings are new (built several years ago after a hurricane came through) while the 2 middle buildings are original (about 25 years old). Because of this arrangement, most of the staff are paid by the timeshare company so if you are not staying in one of their units, it is very difficult to get help or service with anything. Essentially, the staff ignores you since they are not being paid to take care of you.

The privately owned units we stayed in were run-down and in need of a serious update, In #340, our bathroon had a leak in the ceiling (from the roof A/C unit) which ran down the wall causing our bathroom to be flooded everyday. In addition, the main bathroom and deck door were missing door knobs, the in-room safe did not work, and the room was filthy when we arrived (we had to wait 3 hours to get the cleaning crew to show up), The kitchen utensils were so beat-up we bought plastic utensils for our meals. In #341, the pull-out sofa bed was so old and disgusting we had to go to a Wal-mart and buy an air mattress for our son to sleep on. The hallway outside both our units looked like someone had vomitted which did not get cleaned up until the last day we were there.

On the good side, the pool and beach lounge chairs were very nice, along with the beach, and the close proximity to 5th Avenue made it very convenient to walk to town for meals and shopping. If you are going to rent from a private owner, make sure the unit is either in one of the new buildings or has been updated, and be prepared to be treated like a second-class citizen.

Room Tip: If you are renting from private owners, be sure to get several photos of the unit and ask the last t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bscoots22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We stayed in December of '11 and absolutely loved everything about this place. From the super-friendly and helpful staff to the immaculate grounds, incredible beach, comfortable rooms, the stories of the people you meet and even the food.
We opted to only do the meal plan for a couple of days b/c we really love to walk into Playa to some of the other restuarants, but the meal plan does allow you to not worry about a thing except if you have enough sunscreen on. What I love about this place is it's size and location. There's only like 40-some units so it's not too big. I know some resorts are so big it takes 5-10 minutes to get from your room to the beach. Here, I walked about my backdoor and stepped over a small wall and there I was. Not sure how you can beat that. Also b/c it's small you get to know other travellers and it becomes a friendly and family type athmosphere.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

This was our first trip to Mexico and we had not formed any preconceived expectations. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and great welcomes from the bell hop and entertainment organizers...thanks Marcial and Luis!! We enjoyed our time at this resort but had trouble with the meal plan. We found it very expensive and the food was very inconsistent. Breakfast buffets were reasonable but lunch and dinner were of poor quality. Drinks were prepared in styrofoam cups if you were not remaining at the bar and I had so hoped for authentic drinks not prepared with high sugar syrup additives. Those of us that took part in the meal plan all experienced some tummy troubles, compared to our extended family that chose to eat at the local restaurants in Playa del Carmen and did not have any issues. The kids loved the pool and we had great accessibilty to snorkel gear, kayaks, bikes (some in poor repair) etc. Our only other concern was the smell we frequently noticed when walking along the beach...We are not sure of the sanitation system protocols in the area but depending on the direction of the prevailing winds some smells of waste were offensive. Every morning the beaches were raked, walkways cleaned and swept and floors were constantly mopped throughout the day.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kendra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Dear guest:

We appreciate the time you took to share your experience at Sunset Fishermen. Thank you for your comments on our staff and we are glad to hear your kids have a great time by the pool and the beach.
We want to share with you that Sunset Fishermen has a new Chef and a new gastronomic offer is being served and everything is carefully supervised by our Corporate Executive Chef.
Regarding the smell you frequently noticed when walking along the beach, it might have been the dimethyl sulfide ”DMS” which comes from a gas produced by seaweed and which is really helpful to environment since it is implicated in clould formation over the ocean helping temperature and also helps animals like seagulls find food. So that smell, that some identify like a great trip to the beach and others find it fishy and tangy, is really helping our environment in more ways that we can imagine.

We invite you to come back to Sunset Fishermen and give us the opportunity to pamper you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

I stayed for a week November 26th thru December 3rd, 2011 and had the best time. The rooms are spacious and fully equipped. Some renovating is in the future, so the beds will be replaced. It's only a 15 minute walk either on the beach or on the beautiful street into Playa del Carmen. The waves are crashing just outside your door, which I loved. I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: They usually book up, so you'll just have to request when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReneeT53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Fishermen's Village is in a good location if you prefer quiet. The beach & outside areas are excellent, as are the staff. The "all inclusive" was optional for us & we were glad we didn't take it. The 15 minute walk to town, to experience a different restaurant every evening were the highlights of our trip. Our condo unit was very rundown & filthy. This property needs extensive renovations & refurnishing.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sandi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Dear Guest:

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sunset Fishermen. We are glad you enjoyed our facilities and beach area, however, we are sorry to hear about your experience at Unit 221. We want you to know that some units are not owned or managed by Sunset Fishermen which is this unit's case, reason why we have shared your comments with the owner of this appartment.

We invite you to come back and stay at one of Sunset Fishermen's unit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

How could you ask for more. This condo hotel resort is located right on the beach with all services that can be desired on a Caribbean vacation.

We have spend numerous weeks at this resort and find it to be very popular as it is usually fully booked and over booked. Most guests and members book a year in advance to get the week they want. That has to say something about the popularity of this condo hotel.

I would rate it a very high quality 3-star or low 4 star. It is very clean and service is excellent as it is owned by a very prominent resort company called Sunset Group. The property is well maintained and managed. The lobby and guest rooms have recently undergone $5 mil in improvements and refurbishments. The timeshare members and RCI guests will be delighted to see the new furniture and up-date rooms.

If high-end meals are important look elsewhere as you will find the presentation and service very good but only average in flavor and quality at Fishermens. You get what you pay for no matter where you travel. Fishermens offers an economical meal plan as compared to other resorts that charge as much as $125 usd per person per day for food and booze.

I go to Mexico for the beach and sun (R&R). The food and booze is second on my list of measuring value. This condo hotel offers great accomodation in a safe location (Playacar phase 1) within walking distance of 5th avenue.

You cant go wrong - book early!!

Blaine - Wendy
Calgary

Room Tip: Book early as this hotel has a large group of timeshare members that usually do not trade through th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blaine1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Dear guest:

Thank your for your comments. We are glad you enjoy Fishermen’s facilities and location so much. As you mentioned guests enjoy coming back every year and we are glad they make Sunset Fishermen, their home away from home.
We would also like to take this opportunity to share with you that improvements at the Food & Beverages area have been made. There’s a new chef with a new gastronomic offer and everything is being carefully supervised by our Corporate Executive Chef, so next time you are at Fishermen, do not forget to try a new dish from our gastronomic offer.
Hope to see you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.3 mi away
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach C...
#58 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
468 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,883 reviews
1 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#5 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
#101 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
850 reviews
1.2 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#40 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,407 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#41 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort

Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo # 9 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77714, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#83 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $163 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Fishermen Spa And Resort
Sunset Fishermen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Sunset Fishermen Playa Del Carmen
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing