We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Condo Hotel In a Great Location Right on the Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
Ranked #84 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Condo Hotel In a Great Location Right on the Beach”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

How could you ask for more. This condo hotel resort is located right on the beach with all services that can be desired on a Caribbean vacation.

We have spend numerous weeks at this resort and find it to be very popular as it is usually fully booked and over booked. Most guests and members book a year in advance to get the week they want. That has to say something about the popularity of this condo hotel.

I would rate it a very high quality 3-star or low 4 star. It is very clean and service is excellent as it is owned by a very prominent resort company called Sunset Group. The property is well maintained and managed. The lobby and guest rooms have recently undergone $5 mil in improvements and refurbishments. The timeshare members and RCI guests will be delighted to see the new furniture and up-date rooms.

If high-end meals are important look elsewhere as you will find the presentation and service very good but only average in flavor and quality at Fishermens. You get what you pay for no matter where you travel. Fishermens offers an economical meal plan as compared to other resorts that charge as much as $125 usd per person per day for food and booze.

I go to Mexico for the beach and sun (R&R). The food and booze is second on my list of measuring value. This condo hotel offers great accomodation in a safe location (Playacar phase 1) within walking distance of 5th avenue.

You cant go wrong - book early!!

Blaine - Wendy
Calgary

Room Tip: Book early as this hotel has a large group of timeshare members that usually do not trade through th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blaine1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear guest:

Thank your for your comments. We are glad you enjoy Fishermen’s facilities and location so much. As you mentioned guests enjoy coming back every year and we are glad they make Sunset Fishermen, their home away from home.
We would also like to take this opportunity to share with you that improvements at the Food & Beverages area have been made. There’s a new chef with a new gastronomic offer and everything is being carefully supervised by our Corporate Executive Chef, so next time you are at Fishermen, do not forget to try a new dish from our gastronomic offer.
Hope to see you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    341
    102
    61
    73
See reviews for
348
297
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pine Island
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Fisherman's Village is a wonderful place to stay while in Playa del Carmen. We stayed Sept 27-Oct 4 of this year. This resort has private condos as well as timeshares/hotel rooms. The hotel portion of the resort was closed (except for the pool and swim-up bar) for renovations during our stay, so we were the only ones there in a private condo...lots of swimming and beach time all to ourselves! The beach is usually pretty quite though as this is the only hotel in Phase I of Playa, the rest are private homes. Even though the hotel was closed, the security staff and staff at the bar were accomodating and friendly. The condo we stayed in was clean and roomy...very wonderful place to stay for 8 days! Felt like I was in my own home (minus the somewhat uncomfortable bed in the master suite).
The surrounding areas were easily accessible...a half-mile walk up the beach to the peir/downtown Playa. Excellent restaurants and various stores line the streets. There are also ancient ruins a quarter-mile walk up the road. I highly recommend staying at Fisherman's Village and can't wait to hopefully go back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Great place to stay. Away from the crowds but close enough to walk to downtown. The all inclusive option is not worth it. Eat at the local places downtown. Pool and beach are well maintained. Give the timeshare sharks a firm NO and they will leave you alone.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the ocean and are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gary150207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Since 2007, my wife, two boys and I have spent one or two weeks at Fisherman's every year. Simply put, we love it! The hotel is relatively small, right on a beautiful beach (one of the best in the Playa area) and is about a 10 minute walk from the start of 5th Avenue in Playa. Although the hotel is not as modern as other hotels in the region, the rooms are quite nice and the are comfortable and clean. We expect that the planned renovations to the rooms will make the rooms more modern and comfortable within the next year. Finally, the staff is very friendly and helpful and they do a very good job of making sure guests enjoy their stay.

As frequent guests at the hotel, we have to agree with other reviewers who have stated that the food at the resort is not very good. With that said, since all inclusive service is optional and the hotel is so close to stores and restaurants, we don't really see any need to purchase the all inclusive option, even if you have children.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tyduval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2011

My husband and i went down to Playa del Carmen for our "second honey moon" . We were not going down there with high expectations after readying the reviews, but i must say that it was beautiful. The place is small , only 60 rooms so if you are looking for something quiet this is the place for you. The food was.... OK.... you dont have that many options so it becomes repetitive same desserts and menus every day. Also, you only have two restaurants to choose from. As far as alcohol, i am not a good source since i dont drink that much so i didnt even know what i was missing hahaha. you get to kayak, snarkel (sp?) check out books, games etc for free so that was fun. The beach is absolutely beautiful and you can walk to a really nice long road full of gift shops , restaurants and night life if thats your choice . OH!! and how can i forget, many women walk around topless lol which if you are a conservative and newly wed you might not enjoy this place, i would recomend Hacienda Tres Rios, EXCELLENTTT!!!! 5 restaurants , excellent pools etc BUT the beach is not pretty at all - so choose wisely and as everyone says STAY AWAY FROM BUYING TIMESHARES :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rlquiroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed at Fisherman's August 5 to August 12 and thoughly enjoyed this wonderful place. We met some great folks from all over the world. Fishermans is small but is exceptionally clean and well maintained. The best part however is the staff. They were fantastic...always willing to help in anyway. If you take the time to get to know them a little they even work harder to make your stay fun, comfortable and worthwhile. The pool, beach and accomodations were excellent. The spa was super and we enjoyed it lots. The food was OK...not great....but certainly provided by a willing and responsive wait staff. The Italian dinning option where you needed reservations was not as speedy but the food was OK. Drink options were all domestic Mexican brands but we are not picky and thought the pool side drink options were good. Fisherman's is close to Playa del Carmen and only a quick 15 min walk or 5 min cab ride. The walk is nice as it can be done on the beach or through a very nice gated community passing wonderful rental homes and condos as well as fantastic private residences. We felt very very safe the whole time we were there. Recommed the ferry ride over to Cozumel as it is cheap, roughly $24 @ roundtrip. Shopping, dinning and snorkeling options in Cozumel are abundant. Playa del Carmen is a real hit also. Lots to see and do. Some very good dinning and the shopping is interesting. We will go back

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nesbit10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2011

My wife and I went to Sunset Fisherman, We really enjoyed , If you want to stay away from traffic, people, noise, the beautiful sand and the most incredible ocean with the water so difficult to describe , and the most important part , the wonderful and friendly staff ever, where they serve you like a King and Queen in all areas rooms food and drinks ,activities We had a amazing time there and we'll recommend to everyone .Thank you to all the staff from there . now the bad part is to come back to real life to Atlanta and Paradise is only a dream.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paradisever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.1 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#4 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
399 reviews
0.5 mi away
Xaman-ha Luxury Condominiums
Xaman-ha Luxury Condominiums
#12 of 204 in Playa del Carmen
259 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reef Playacar
The Reef Playacar
#96 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
#40 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,705 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Che
Casa Che
#10 of 168 in Playa del Carmen
214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Allegro Playacar
Allegro Playacar
#89 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort

Property: Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo # 9 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77714, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#83 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Fishermen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Sunset Fishermen Spa And Resort
Sunset Fishermen Playa Del Carmen
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing