We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient - Unbeatable place if you are partying, a bit noisy if not”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Colibri Beach
Ranked #118 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The place is at a great location in the center of Playa, the rooms are spacious, good shower and good beds, and the beach is accessible from the hotel's garden. It lacked a homely atmosphere, a bit motel-ish. But definately worthwile for a short stay. And the option to park your car at the entrance!
The only negative point for me was the noise from the bars/clubs on the streets (calle 12) nearby.
No problem if you are partying yourself, but when travelling with a small kid like we did, hearing the loud bass from 4 different clubs untill very early morning (we stayed at a Friday) was a bit too much. So be warned or make sure you go out to party yourself... ;-)

Room Tip: Rooms with 'garden view' from the main building, will likely be looking at a roof or a wall...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luc68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Colibri Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 212 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2014

The hotel is very clean and the staff is friendly and accommodating. It is a typical, basic Mexican hotel with the bare necessities, but the location is fantastic! You are in the middle of absolutely everything. You definitely can hear the bass pumping from Mandala, a popular club on the corner and this will continue until 5am....if you want silence you should ask for a room facing the gardens, not the street. Even then, no promises. The beach club, Lido's has good food and service and is part of this hotel. Make sure you book an A or B class room if you want a/c.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
Thank FrequentTravels3071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

great place hidden jewel .can be loud at night shut your doorwall it was fine the blue parrott down the street rocks till 530 am its loud but if you want quiet this is not for you. great music playing all day at the lido bar it shuts down around 8 but the parrott gets going around 11pm rooms very clean staff great kinda tuff figuring out who owns the lawn chairs if there owned by the hotel or the bar if you buy a drink you can use the chairs if you just sit in the chair they hand you a menu so just grab a beer and help yourself that's what I did no problem . I would go back

Room Tip: upstairs was nice you can see ocean from some rooms
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeff m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Spent one night here- last Sunday. the room was clean, the shower was adequate, the beds were comfortable and it is a short walk to the beach and is in the center of playa de carmen.but apparently there is a club in the same block- the music so loud it felt like the room was shaking and you could actually feel the thumping of the beat - this lasted literally all night- not til 2 AM - more like 5AM. price right, easy parking, nice staff. no sleep.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I regret to write this review but I wish someone had told me this before we decided to stay in this Hotel. The hotel is near the dancing-clubs street and it is VERY VERY NOISY DURING THE NIGHT. My wife and I could barely sleep because of the noise from the clubs. The room windows rumble with the sound all night long. Be aware that the party in those clubs ends at 6:00am. So, if you want to party every night this is the right spot for you, otherwise I would recommend to avoid it.

I have to say that the hotel crew is very friendly and did everything within their means for us to have a nice stay. Unfortunately the night noise is not something they can control.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ElBenja24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Colibri Hotel Playa del Carmen
Room was clean and adequate. TV reception was fuzzy. The staff were quite efficient and helpful. The plus side of this hotel is that it is right on the beach and a short walk to many restaurants and shops on 5th avenue. Once you get here you will not need a car or taxi. Wifi signal was spotty most of the time. My biggest complaint about hotel is the bar down the beach a piece. I realize people are here to have a good time, but when the bar doesn't close down until 5:30-6:00 a.m. in the morning and plays LOUD music all night long, that is way too much! Even with the windows and doors all closed and AC on. Bring ear plugs if you plan to stay here. They may help, but you will still hear the noise.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs to sleep.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiddrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I'm 32 and don't mind the party scene. But I strongly caution those that want peace and quiet to avoid this hotel. And if it's your only option, get something on the second or third floor. I stayed on the second floor for most my trip, and you could still hear beats thumping through to 6am. But with the fan and AC on, you could still get to sleep. On my last night I was in a bungalow on the ground level and the base was vibrating through my bed, and that cost be $71! Otherwise, rooms are clean, service is great and the hotel is on an ideal spot in the beach.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank 883marcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Playa Maya
Playa Maya
#99 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
661 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelicano Inn
Pelicano Inn
#149 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Hotel Mimi del Mar
#141 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kinbe Hotel
Kinbe Hotel
#105 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
640 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an
Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an
#90 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Los Itzaes Hotel
Los Itzaes Hotel
#82 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colibri Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colibri Beach

Address: Ave 1a Norte | between Calle 10 and 12, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Colibri)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#77 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $71 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colibri Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colibri is located on the Beachfront of Playa del Carmen, close to restaurants, banks, shops, tour sites, fifth avenue -- the most visited commercial street in Playa --, and Cancun International Airport. It was designed to provide all comforts and services expected by the travelers of today at affordable rates. Our friendly staff & manager shall give response to your requests and needs as fast as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Colibri Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colibri Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Colibri Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Colibri Beach Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing