We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, really loud”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Colibri Beach
Ranked #120 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Nice hotel, really loud”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I'm 32 and don't mind the party scene. But I strongly caution those that want peace and quiet to avoid this hotel. And if it's your only option, get something on the second or third floor. I stayed on the second floor for most my trip, and you could still hear beats thumping through to 6am. But with the fan and AC on, you could still get to sleep. On my last night I was in a bungalow on the ground level and the base was vibrating through my bed, and that cost be $71! Otherwise, rooms are clean, service is great and the hotel is on an ideal spot in the beach.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 883marcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    71
    40
    16
    7
See reviews for
30
86
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Definitely recommended for those who like clean places next to the beach, not luxury, cozy, ample and clean rooms. Rates are very, very reasonable for being on the beach and its location is perfect those who like to walk to restaurants, shopping, Very safe and clean area including the streets. I wouldn't change Playa del Carmen for Cancun, for sure I'm coming back and enjoy myself in Calibri Beach Hotel

Room Tip: you pick air conditioning or not, some months of the year you can be comfortable without AC and much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1above4all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Colibri for 5 nights and really can't fault the place or location. The staff are helpful and accommodating and the Lido beach club is a great place to spend lazy days whilst having a margarita or two. My only advice is choose a room at the back of the hotel as the sound of music from the local clubs does travel. Once the screen and double glazed doors are closed you hardly hear anything (plus the views are better than street side). The drifting music has nothing to do with the hotel, when you get here you will understand the layout and that calle 12 is full of super sized clubs. My husband and I even visited coco maya beach club for an hour at two to find out what the fuss was about and found the place really good fun and easy enough to get home (2mins) - don't knock the sounds of the clubs until you have tried it! If you really are not interested then stay on streets a couple away from calle 12. Back to the review, the location is central to all restaurants, is a stone throw away from the beach. The rooms have a balcony with a/c and a tv for lazy afternoons or rainy days with around 12-14 English channels. We really enjoyed out stay at Playa del carmen, it really is a beach town with everything. We did parasailing from the beach, went on a 4 hour snorkelling and fishing excursion with the 'fishing with Ivan' outfit and caught barracuda. Had a crazy night in tequila barrel (just go for the people watching) and had lovely food at Big Lobster and Vaca de gaucho. A brilliant hotel without a doubt and excellent value for money! Enjoy all

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ztk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at Colibri Beach for 4 nights. The rooms where spotless. The beach was incredible plenty of chairs to sun worship, and staff was very attentive to our needs. The massage at the beach wes amazing and the price was great.we couldn't of asked for a better place. We plan on coming back next year. You won't be disappointed with your stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chery-Valentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I have been coming to Playa for 20 plus years, staying a month at a time. I returned in June 2013 and spend all my days at Lido Beach. Today I walked as far as Playacar and Momitos Beach. I can honestly say there is no other Beach Club that comes near to Lido. The seating is comfortable and the chairs are not falling apart. If you want shade they have colourful umbrellas or little huts you can retreat to. The wait staff is amazing, anticipating your every need. Gabby is friendly, funny and extremely attentive to your needs. The prices are good and the drinks are not watered down. The food is fantastic. I can honestly say that you will not be disappointed and I will continue to come to Lido every year. The owners take pride in their business and I know they will never compromise their standard of service. Give it a try...you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blondie490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Bolson, Argentina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

After living 25 years in Cozumel, i have never found a hotel in Playa that i will return too. Now coming on a small vacation i found Colibri Beach. This is the best place i to stay (if you do not mind the muffled sound of music). The rooms are spacious, decoration simple but loved the balconies with hammock, on the beach, the location is superb and yet quiet enough. The staff was friendly and felt family run. I even got a really good rate. The number 1 plus for me was the set ac to a very comfortable temperature, this is the first time i stay in a place really energy saving oriented, will definitely will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs get the breeze and the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alejandraalmada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the "Colibri", Its a very nice place to stay, the room was very big, clean shower, nice porch with hammock, wifi, excellent location right on the beach, friendly staff. Nothing fancy, good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Pelicano Inn
Pelicano Inn
#141 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Hotel Mimi del Mar
#128 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kinbe Hotel
Kinbe Hotel
#107 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#71 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vista Caribe
Hotel Vista Caribe
#103 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villas Sacbe Condo Hotel and Beach Club
Villas Sacbe Condo Hotel and Bea...
#146 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colibri Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colibri Beach

Property: Hotel Colibri Beach
Address: Ave 1a Norte Entre Calle 10 Y 12, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Colibri)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colibri Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colibri is located on the Beachfront of Playa del Carmen, close to restaurants, banks, shops, tour sites, fifth avenue -- the most visited commercial street in Playa --, and Cancun International Airport. It was designed to provide all comforts and services expected by the travelers of today at affordable rates. Our friendly staff & manager shall give response to your requests and needs as fast as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Colibri Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colibri Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Colibri Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Colibri Beach Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing