We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Kinbe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kinbe Hotel
Ranked #104 of 215 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This is pretty nice boutique hotel, however our experience didn't really provide value for money. We are normally low-budget travellers, but recently we got married and haven't had a honeymoon yet. We decided to splurge a little for a nice hotel for our first two nights in Mexico before working life starts again. Unfortunately we were disappointed. For the price we paid, we did not feel like we got any higher quality experience than if we had gone for a low budget option. We expected higher quality finishings, perhaps a little more friendly staff on the front desk. Also, despite not really feeling any high humidity in the air our room was incredibly damp. The pillows and sheets were wet. We don't use aircon so it was not down to that. Our room was backing onto the wall of their swimming pool 'waterfall' so we can only assume there was moisture in the walls. The hotel itself is nice enough, if a little 'squeezed in' to where it is. There was probably too much money spent on a mostly superfluous indoor/outdoor pool than the rooms themselves. It also seemed somewhat neglected in parts. The major con was that it was overpriced and damp, and the rooms were cheap. Very average.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DollyDiabolique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (648)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 136 of 648 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

Nice hotel with a design deco, rooms are not very big but (we had choosen for a superior room with king size bed) the bed was big enough and confortable (but: you feel it really when your partner moves - even just a little bit - in the bed).
The only annoying thing was the noise (noise from other rooms and especially one room located just next to our room where people were making a party ... but also noise from works ongoing in the nuilding next to the hotel).
Location is perfect !
With our room we could have had the breakfast but we did not tried it (apparently not in the same building as the hotel).

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nico_bxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

I was in the hotel last week. I booked it online while i was serchibg for cheep hotel for the end of my trip, i didnt expect to much and i was wrong its very comfterble great location good rooms and comfterbale. I regret that i just found it to late and only eith two nights left but im sure gonna recomend it.
Aviv
Israel :)

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank springaviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed her this week with somewhat rainy tropical weather, but it was a nice place to hang out while waiting for the rain to stop. It's no longer tourist season so we enjoyed a peaceful three days at Kinbe. The front desk guy ( Carlos) was extremely helpful to us. One night we tried to book a scuba trip really, really late after realizing that it started at 7:30 the next morning. Carlos made some phone calls to try to get a booking for us. We also got good advice on where everything was, how to get to the bank, where the colectivos are stationed; one night Andy had an allergic reaction and Carlos helped us call the doctor. He was ( and is) a very sincere and friendly and a great host to us.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Very nice, cool and chill spot. Great hospitality from the front desk guys Carlos and Enrique. Very accommodating and professional. Hotel was nice and clean, lots of green, steps from the water, centrally located to all entertainment and dining possibilities...Now, if you are looking for a gigantic hotel, all inclusive that you are completely trapped to only what they offer and want nothing to do outside world, this is not the place for you....This is a great unique place to get away from the huge commercial spots and enjoy the best playa has to offer...

Room Tip: Room 13, is a lofted room with a separate living area, with city and partial ocean views....it is l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed here in January and I've just had a call off my bank saying my cards been cloned and tried to be used in Mexico. The only time i used my card in Mexico is when the hotel asks for your card incase of any damages.. My bank said it had been used with a magnetic strip.. AVOID THIS HOTEL

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeeval, Gerente at Kinbe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Guest

We're very sorry for the incident with your credit card.
This is very strange, since our employees have been working with us for many years and this has never happened before.
We understand the inconvenience this has brought you and although we apologize, unfortunately we cannot be certain to a full extent that this happened in our hotel.
Please do not hesitate to contact us should you have any other concerns or inquiries.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed here 5 nights. Staff was always friendly and able to give some recommendations for tours and dining though it bothered me that everyone in this town seems to get something from their referral since they pass their name on the cards.

We specifically asked for a very quiet room, but got a loud room on the top floor facing a bar next door. Music from the bars/clubs nearby are very loud. I'm so glad we did not stay on the main strip nor the other streets nearby. The staff moved us to a much quieter room on the 1st floor next to the owner's office.

Room is on the smaller side though we didn't mind. I wish there was more counter space in the bathroom and it would've been very helpful to have a soap dish in the shower. Though I appreciated the thought of a pebble covered shower floor, I had to step carefully as some had sharp edges.

Comfy bed, nice TV, A/C was useful every day during the hot summer day/nights. Didn't want to swim in the pool as it seemed dirty with leaves every day. Just 2 blocks from the beach and 1 block from the main shopping strip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eats_n_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0 mi away
Siesta Fiesta Hotel
Siesta Fiesta Hotel
#113 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cache Hotel Boutique
Cache Hotel Boutique
#114 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colibri Beach
Hotel Colibri Beach
#116 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Los Itzaes Hotel
Los Itzaes Hotel
#96 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
162 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique Posada Mariposa
Hotel Boutique Posada Mariposa
#126 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
526 reviews
0.1 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#51 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinbe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinbe Hotel

Address: Calle 10 Norte | Between 1 & 5 Avenida, Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#73 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#86 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $71 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kinbe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kinbe Deluxe enjoys a great location:few steps from the playa and from the famous “Quinta Avenida”. All the rooms face the pool and the astonishing waterfall, which creates a quiet and peaceful sensation and an intimate atmosphere.From the rooftop is possible to enjoy a wonderful ocean view, sunrise or sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Kinbe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinbe Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Kinbe Playa Del Carmen
Kinbe Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing