We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous tiny restaurant”
Review of Imprevist

Imprevist
Reserve with OpenTable
Imprevist is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 1,483 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Imprevist is a Catalan word which means the “Unexpected“. Dining here is experiencing these wonderful dishes that leaves you surprisingly unexpected everytime. The restaurant is situated in a quaint magical street in the Heart of a Playa del Carmen that will make the night, a night to wish would never end. After several years of experience and learning from European chefs; Chef Juan Diego Solombrino is well known for his incredible combination of Mediterranean and Asian inspired cuisine. Preparing dishes of unique flavor, creating art with in each presentation. He personally hand select the products focusing on the menu to provide a wide variety so that everyone can enjoy their meal, from vegetarian options to oriental, excellent seabass or steak ending with the delight of a chocolate fondant berry sorbet. “Cooking is an art, and for me it is the only art that stimulates all senses. The moment when you take your first bite, all your senses comes together to experience a delightful aroma, flavor and textures of food” - Chef Juan Diego Solombrino.
Reviewed February 22, 2015 via mobile

We've been at Imprevist once years ago for breakfast but dinner was a whole different story. There were so many delicious sounding items in the menu but we shared the asparagus salad with pecans, grapefruit and a yogurt dressing. Then we ordered a green curry with fish and lychee halves and tandori shrimp and vegies over rice noodles. Dessert choices were great and we shared a hot date cake with caramel sauce! I recommend Imprevist without hesitation!

Thank jodygs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlpish, Guest Relations Manager at Imprevist, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2015

Dear Guest,
We would like to kindly thank you for your wonderful review and willingness to recommend Imprevist to others. We are delighted to hear that your experience with us was simply amazing! The green curry as well as the tandoori shrimp are both out of this world! For something different but just as wonderful, next time we recommend you to try the Mussels and Clams or our beautiful USDA Rib Eye! Thank you again we hope you will visit with us again at Imprevist.

Best Regards,
Shauna Giuliano
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

575 - 579 of 1,450 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2015 via mobile

OMG LOVED Our Breakfast!!! We were thrilled that we found this spot and filled to the brim with a big grin when we left!!!! Wonderful meal by all of us-we were very happy!! If you have a wait, it is SOOOOO Worth it!!!!!!

Thank PaigeS642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlpish, Guest Relations Manager at Imprevist, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2015

Dear Guest,
Thank you so very much for your excellent review and kind words. We are very happy to hear that we provided such a fantastic breakfast/brunch experience during your visit to Playa! Our goal is always for our guests to leave happy and with a smile. Sounds like we did just that! Be sure next time to give us a try for dinner! You will be just as amazed! Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,
Shauna Giuliano
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2015

We dined at this restaurant 3 times (yes, we liked it that much). We had brunch twice and dinner. The service is fantastic - attentive and well-paced. The food was well done and presented beautifully - for breakfast my children ordered either pancakes or french toast and my mother and I ordered one of the traditional egg dishes. Each breakfast came with a small fruit plate, honey, yogurt, and granola. Portion size was just right - plates were not overloaded but definitely hearty enough to satisfy your appetite. Dishes were well presented.

For dinner we ordered a variety of dishes from vegetarian risotto to shrimp to steak - here again, everything was prepared and presented well.

My only negative is that for dessert we ordered the creme brulee and it was a bit runny. (But that certainly wouldn't and didn't keep us from returning.)

1  Thank 374Stephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlpish, Guest Relations Manager at Imprevist, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2015

Dear Guest,
How wonderful to hear that you had 3 lovely experience with us! We always love when we have the pleasure to receive returning guests and its truly a compliment in itself. Our brunch service and dinner service are both wonderful yet different. Our brunch service is casual and cozy while our dinner service is charming and romantic. Both menus offer selections that will suit any taste. Thank you again and we do hope to see you again soon in the future!

Best Regards,
Shauna Giuliano
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2015

This restaurant is a gem both in food quality and service quality. We ate there
nearly every day on our recent visit to Playa del Carmen. The menu choice for breakfast and brunch is limited but excellent. Thank you particularly to Carlos and Jacopo for their outstanding service and attention to detail.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Judi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlpish, Guest Relations Manager at Imprevist, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2015

Dear Guest,
How delightful to hear that you loved us so much that we were your number one choices each and every day! We realize that you had many options so its a huge compliment to us to have your continued business. We will definitely pass along your nice comments to Carlos and Jacob as we are sure they will be very much appreciated by both. If you didn't this time, but sure to give us a try for dinner the next time you return. You will be just as amazing - we are sure of it! Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,
Shauna Giuliano
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2015

Won a coupon for two breakfast meals. Took two others. Very pleasant area inside. Many different meals selected. All good..!! Great staff. Nice, comfortable place. We will return with more friends.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlpish, Guest Relations Manager at Imprevist, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2015

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so glad that you loved your experience with us and can't wait to return back with friends! Certainly it means a lot to have local support and recommendations! We will be very happy to serve you again very soon for breakfast, brunch or dinner!

Best Regards,
Shauna Giuliano
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imprevist also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Imprevist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing