We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High End Cuisine in Playa del Carmen!”
Review of Imprevist

Imprevist
Reserve with OpenTable
Imprevist is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 1,287 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Imprevist is a Catalan word which means the “Unexpected“. Dining here is experiencing these wonderful dishes that leaves you surprisingly unexpected everytime. The restaurant is situated in a quaint magical street in the Heart of a Playa del Carmen that will make the night, a night to wish would never end. After several years of experience and learning from European chefs; Chef Juan Diego Solombrino is well known for his incredible combination of Mediterranean and Asian inspired cuisine. Preparing dishes of unique flavor, creating art with in each presentation. He personally hand select the products focusing on the menu to provide a wide variety so that everyone can enjoy their meal, from vegetarian options to oriental, excellent seabass or steak ending with the delight of a chocolate fondant berry sorbet. “Cooking is an art, and for me it is the only art that stimulates all senses. The moment when you take your first bite, all your senses comes together to experience a delightful aroma, flavor and textures of food” - Chef Juan Diego Solombrino.
Porto, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“High End Cuisine in Playa del Carmen!”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

What a find!!! AFFORDABLE high end fusion cuisine in Playa del Carmen! One of the finest dining experiences I have ever had - not only in Mexico, but anywhere. The creative menu will satisfy any palate! A well rounded wine list that includes both regional and international selections as well as outstanding specialty drinks - The Tuna Tar Tar appetizer is a must.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scubasteve1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlpish, Guest Relations Manager at Imprevist, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your outstanding comments about your experience at Imprevist. At Imprevist we bring a creative flow of flavors and outstanding attentiveness of service to your table. We are a small restaurant with an intimate dining room and patio space which makes you feel as if you are dining at home when you are with friends and family. I'm glad you found our wine list selections to be exceptional and that you loved our specialty cocktail creations! I hope you got to try Oscar's famous smoked lychee which as won recognitions! The Tuna Tar Tar remains to be a favorite across the board! Thank you again for taking the time to share your review and I do hope we will see you again at Imprevist in the future.

Best Regards,
Shauna Giuliano
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,020
    214
    43
    24
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast!”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Imprevist breakfast was included in our hotel reservation, so we received a voucher each morning that covered fresh fruit, assorted pastry basket, coffee/tea/juice, and an entrée. Everything we had at Imprevist was delicious! We lucked out on it being included with our reservation, but we would have gladly paid for it even if it had not been included. Also, the location right across from the beach is very convenient...just stop by on your way to the beach in the morning.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ALeeBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlpish, Guest Relations Manager at Imprevist, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
It's wonderful to hear that you had an excellent experience with us at Imprevist. Our breakfast/brunch social is always a huge hit among locals and tourists in Playa del Carmen. Many people love to sit out on the patio in the morning just watching Playa del Carmen before it comes alive. We also have seating inside our cozy air conditioned dining room. We run our breakfast and brunch social every single day from 7 am to 2 pm (perfect for late risers) and we offer a huge variety to reach out to every taste. I hope that next time you will be able to join us for dinner! We have an amazing dinner menu as well with a number of culinary creations followed up with only the best service. We hope to see you again soon at Imprevist the next time your visit to Playa del Carmen.

Best Regards,
Shauna Giuliano
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Convenient and great food!”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Right around the corner from the beach club. Fabulous breakfast, lunch and dinner . We had all three on this trip and would go back for more. The service is excellent and the food wonderful.
Small, off the beaten path, quiet! Don't miss this gem!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pnadel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlpish, Guest Relations Manager at Imprevist, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Pnadel,
It is so wonderful to hear you had not just one but three amazing experiences with us at Imprevist. This is definitely a huge compliment to us! We do offer an incredible breakfast and brunch social every single day. Our breakfast features everything from classic omeletts to Eggs Benedict to amazing waffle and pancake creations or Mexican specialties such as chilaquiles. Then our brunch items start at 11 featuring classic lunch options. Dinner becomes over the top in our cozy intimate dining room with true culinary creations - USDA certified meats, seafood and beautiful risottos, all creatively inspired. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience and we hope to see you again soon at Imprevist.

Best Regards,
Shauna Giuliano
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon Lake, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Top of the list intimate little gem of a restaurant”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We had breakfast here and it was one of the best breakfasts we have had while staying here they give you way more than you can possibly eat! Fresh squeezed orange juice excellent coffee sweet breads yogurt granola all come with your breakfast order. I had eggs Benedict it was excellent I could only eat half. The French toast is like eating cake. If we can we will probably come back for a lunch or diner before we leave so this is one of the rare places we will dine at twice! I highly recommend this

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlpish, Guest Relations Manager at Imprevist, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for qualifying us as being such a great find in Playa del Carmen. We would love to have you back to experience the brunch or dinner menu as well. If you loved breakfast you will be amazed at our culinary sensations for dinner. The eggs Benedict is always a favorite and one of the most popular selections on our breakfast menu! Next time give the Chilaquiles a try - something unique with a regional Mexican flare. We hope to see you soon again at Imprevist.

Best Regards,
Shauna Giuliano
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Food OK. Restaurant and service unprofessional ”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Ate breakfast and brunch twice.
Food is small in portions but ok. Fresh but not spectacular.
One of the times they ran out of the first course in the brunch menu so they offered a fruit palate instead. We agreed but they informed us they also ran out of fruit so all we got is papaya sliced as a starter (?!) very unprofessional...
Maim issue is the service - it is extremely slow and is mainly based on asking "everything's ok?" about 20 times during the meal, even before food is even served...
We were especially annoyed when the rude waiter asked us to settle the bill in the middle of our meal, when we were still chewing the food in our mouth. We had to abruptly swallow what was in our mouth and start pulling cash out of our wallet since our waiter insisted we pay immediately due to the fact he was switching shifts?!
We were thinking of trying dinner there but changed our minds due to the poor service at breakfast.

Helpful?
1 Thank Anna151281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlpish, Guest Relations Manager at Imprevist, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
I want to genuinely apologize that your experience at Imprevist was not up to par with the excellent service standards anyone would expect. Certainly it is unacceptable that you were asked to pay your bill while you were still eating your dinner. I can assure you that management has already addressed this matter very strongly with all staff to be sure that this will never happen again under any circumstances. I would also like you to know that we completely agree that a plate of papaya is not a comparable substitute for what we offer during our breakfast service. From time to time we may run out of some things but we should always be prepared to replace it with something completely comparable. If the owner had known about this incident it is for sure that he would have rectified this situation immediately. I can only hope that despite this isolated experience you would reconsider and give us another try to offer you a much better experience in the future. As you can see based on other excellent reviews that we normally hold an amazing reputation for service.

Best Regards,
Shauna Giuliano
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imprevist also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Imprevist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing