We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Imprevist

Imprevist
Reserve with OpenTable
Imprevist is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 1,287 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Imprevist is a Catalan word which means the “Unexpected“. Dining here is experiencing these wonderful dishes that leaves you surprisingly unexpected everytime. The restaurant is situated in a quaint magical street in the Heart of a Playa del Carmen that will make the night, a night to wish would never end. After several years of experience and learning from European chefs; Chef Juan Diego Solombrino is well known for his incredible combination of Mediterranean and Asian inspired cuisine. Preparing dishes of unique flavor, creating art with in each presentation. He personally hand select the products focusing on the menu to provide a wide variety so that everyone can enjoy their meal, from vegetarian options to oriental, excellent seabass or steak ending with the delight of a chocolate fondant berry sorbet. “Cooking is an art, and for me it is the only art that stimulates all senses. The moment when you take your first bite, all your senses comes together to experience a delightful aroma, flavor and textures of food” - Chef Juan Diego Solombrino.
Long Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

This restaurant had the best food and the service couldn't be better. This was our favorite place during our week's stay in Playa. The tuna tartare was so amazing. It's a must.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank rsr218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlpish, Guest Relations Manager at Imprevist, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for such an outstanding review! We appreciate your wonderful comments as it helps us to insure we are always doing the best for our guests! The Tuna tar tar is one of our most loved selections - a must try! I hope that you will have the opportunity to try one of our famous risottos the next time you return! Thank you again for taking the time to share your review and we hope that we will see you again soon at Imprevist.

Best Regards,
Shauna Giuliano
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,020
    215
    43
    24
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious & fresh breakfast!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed at the El Taj resort (1 block from Imprevist) and had breakfast there several mornings. The food was unique, fresh, and delicious! A nice quaint spot with outside seating too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlpish, Guest Relations Manager at Imprevist, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are so happy that we were able to accommodate a nice breakfast on several mornings during your stay. We appreciate the wonderful comments and that you took the time to share on Trip Advisor. You are right, we are located very close to El Taj in the premier zone of Playa - only steps away from the beach, 5th Avenue and many well known local establishments. I hope that next time you will have the opportunity to join us for dinner as well. We have a beautiful gourmet menu with an Asian Fusion flare. Must try our famous risottos as well! Thank you again and we hope to see you again the next time you visit Playa del Carmen.

Best Regards,
Shauna Giuliano
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Delightful Surprise”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We live in Cancun an often head down to Playa for the weekend and we usually dine at a select few favourite restaurants while there but this time we came across a place that we decided to give a try because I was enticed by their banner outside of their restaurant that said " A Culinary Experience". We had guests visiting us and chose to have dinner one night there. From start to finish the service was exceptional! Rarely have I had such great, attentive and friendly service in a restaurant in this region. I wish I could remember our waiter's name because he deserves to be mentioned. All I know is that he as well as the owners and chef are all from Guatemala. The restaurant itself is rather small but very comfortable and we sat one of the tables outside. We were pleasantly surprised by the creamy asparagus soup that was served on the house at the beginning of our meal. We then devoured mussels with pancetta as an appetizer and then I had the duck with I feel could have been a bigger serving and hubby had the osso buco which was tender and delicious.We definitely plan to go back to this place when we next go to Playa. We checked out their breakfast menu which looked great as well.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SolunaCancun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlpish, Guest Relations Manager at Imprevist, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are so incredibly happy that we could provide you such an exceptional experience. Our banner is very well fitting to our overall experience at Imprevist - "A Culinary Experience". Our master chef, Juan Diego Solombrino, is very serious about bringing the very best dishes to the table in a unique style and fashion, using only the best and highest quality ingredients. Also, its nice to hear that you enjoyed the cozy ambiance as well. We are not by any means an oversize restaurant. Our concept is quality attentive service in an intimate setting. We often hear guest say that they feel as if they are in the comfort of their own dining room at home. Thank you again for sharing your lovely review and since you live in Cancun we definitely hope to see you back for our daily breakfast and brunch social the next time you make it out to Playa!

Best Regards,
Shauna Giuliano
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious Breakfasts, Can't wait to try dinner!!”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Absolutely delicious fresh breakfasts every morning!! Everything is freshly made including their 'green tomato jam', so good! Choice of fresh squeezed juices, including delicious 'green' juice, coffee/tea, fresh pastries, fruit / granola / yogurt AND a choice of entree, all for 150 pesos!!! Amazing food and value. The staff are great and very accommodating to modifications to menu items which is great when traveling with kids (ie: picky eaters!)
Thanks, looking forward to returning for dinner!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank busy-travellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlpish, Guest Relations Manager at Imprevist, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments on Trip Advisor. We are extremely delighted that you enjoyed your entire experience with us for breakfast. As you mentioned, all juices, fruits and baked goods are completely fresh! Our chef only uses the best quality ingredients for every menu selection. It is all so wonderful but so hard to choose as the menu offers so many delicious choices. Surely you have to return more than once! We serve our breakfast and brunch every day until 2 pm so its perfect for late risers as well. I hope you got the chance to preview our creative dinner menu and surely we hope to see you back for dinner; we do offer quite a lovely experience for our guests in our cozy dining room or outdoor patio. Thank you again and we look forward to your return at Imprevist.

Best Regards,
Shauna Giuliano
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Aventuras, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Imprevist was an unexpected pleasure”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Just before sending dear friends northward, we decided to try something new. Imprevist was our choice. And a great one it was. Everything about the evening was exceptional-the food, the service, the ambience. We chose to sit outside on a lovely evening, and each had marvellous starters, mains and desserts. There was nothing to complain about. The waiter was exceptional.
Great job by the Imprevist team, and we will definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LauraSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlpish, Guest Relations Manager at Imprevist, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your wonderful compliments about our restaurant, Imprevist. Really, its wonderful to receive such an incredible review from a Top Contributor such as yourself. We love hearing that we can provide beautiful experiences to our guests with a combination of friendly attentive service, a sweet ambiance and of course our carefully selected dishes - all cooked with care and love. We are a small restaurant focusing on quality on all levels, which I'm sure you noticed during your time with us. Hopefully you will have the chance to come back and try our wonderful breakfast and brunch served daily indoors and on the patio. Thank you again and we hope to see you back at Imprevist soon.

Best Regards,
Shauna Giuliano
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imprevist also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Imprevist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing