We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Imprevist was an unexpected pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Imprevist

Imprevist
Reserve with OpenTable
Imprevist is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 1,234 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Imprevist is a Catalan word which means the “Unexpected“. Dining here is experiencing these wonderful dishes that leaves you surprisingly unexpected everytime. The restaurant is situated in a quaint magical street in the Heart of a Playa del Carmen that will make the night, a night to wish would never end. After several years of experience and learning from European chefs; Chef Juan Diego Solombrino is well known for his incredible combination of Mediterranean and Asian inspired cuisine. Preparing dishes of unique flavor, creating art with in each presentation. He personally hand select the products focusing on the menu to provide a wide variety so that everyone can enjoy their meal, from vegetarian options to oriental, excellent seabass or steak ending with the delight of a chocolate fondant berry sorbet. “Cooking is an art, and for me it is the only art that stimulates all senses. The moment when you take your first bite, all your senses comes together to experience a delightful aroma, flavor and textures of food” - Chef Juan Diego Solombrino.
Puerto Aventuras, Mexico
Level Contributor
104 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Imprevist was an unexpected pleasure”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Just before sending dear friends northward, we decided to try something new. Imprevist was our choice. And a great one it was. Everything about the evening was exceptional-the food, the service, the ambience. We chose to sit outside on a lovely evening, and each had marvellous starters, mains and desserts. There was nothing to complain about. The waiter was exceptional.
Great job by the Imprevist team, and we will definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LauraSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlpish, Guest Relations Manager at Imprevist, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your wonderful compliments about our restaurant, Imprevist. Really, its wonderful to receive such an incredible review from a Top Contributor such as yourself. We love hearing that we can provide beautiful experiences to our guests with a combination of friendly attentive service, a sweet ambiance and of course our carefully selected dishes - all cooked with care and love. We are a small restaurant focusing on quality on all levels, which I'm sure you noticed during your time with us. Hopefully you will have the chance to come back and try our wonderful breakfast and brunch served daily indoors and on the patio. Thank you again and we hope to see you back at Imprevist soon.

Best Regards,
Shauna Giuliano
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    960
    207
    42
    21
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irapuato, Mexico
Level Contributor
209 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

The place is great and the food is delicious... Eggs benedict are really good, the bread they give to star up is superb, the design of the resraurant is really nice and the people there are absolutly great

Helpful?
Thank IvanSalazarS
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jlpish, Guest Relations Manager at Imprevist, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. We are so delighted that you had a great experience with us for breakfast at Imprevist! The Eggs Benedict is indeed always a favorite! We serve all of our breakfast selections with a basket of assorted freshly baked breads as well as fresh juice and coffee. If you loved breakfast at Imprevist there's no doubt you need to try us again for dinner in our cozy dining room or outside on the patio. Imprevist is always a place you can feel at home. Thank you again and we definitely hope to see you again in the future!

Best Regards,
Shauna Giuliano
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PA
Level Contributor
125 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Don't get it”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Overpriced, dry bread, pastries and eggs at $35 for 2 people. What am I missing? The OJ was good and the waiter was nice. I really don't get the "amazing" reviews. The food in PDC in general is "eh, ok".

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toughnlcentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlpish, Guest Relations Manager at Imprevist, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. We do take all comments and feedback very seriously and communicate all concerns with our entire staff. I am sorry to hear that your experience at Imprevist was not up to par with the rest of the excellent reviews. Our bread basket is normally a hit so for this I definitely apologize. I hope you were able to communicate this with management as I'm sure they would have worked to correct the situation right away. The price of our breakfast includes a main breakfast or brunch entree, our fresh bread basket, freshly squeezed juices and coffee. We do use only top quality ingredients and the freshest fruit and garnishes for all of our dishes. I would like to thank you for your nice comments about the service as this is very important to us as well. I hope that you would be willing to give us another try in the future.

Best Regards,
Shauna Giuliano
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
playa del carment
2 reviews
“best kept secret”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I have been there many times, taken many friends and family members. The service, food, presentation, drinks; have always been outstanding. Add in a complete breakfast the following day or brunch; its a win win situation.

One of my first stops upon arriving in Playa

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovinglifeinmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlpish, Guest Relations Manager at Imprevist, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your amazing comments and for being a loyal guest at Imprevist. It feels so great to know that we have such a fantastic support system from all of our locals and from returning tourists coming to Playa del Carmen. After two amazing years we we beyond strong and feel we can bring the very best food and service to the table in our sweet and cozy restaurant. Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner - we are always happy to serve you! Thank you for your kind review and for your continued recommendations.

Best Regards,
Shauna Giuliano
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid-Atlantic area
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not sure what the hype is about”
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

We went to the restaurant for breakfast expecting to be blown away (due to the Trip Advisor reviews). It was average to good for PDC standards. They give you a basket of sweets (small muffins cookies croissants) followed by scrambled eggs with your choice of meat. The sweets were too dry and too sweet (but that was true of all of PDC) and the eggs were a bit dry. The concept of a lovely brunch was there....the service etc and like I said, for PDC it was probably above average. I would not call it amazing or exceptional by any standard. I think we spent about 30 Us dollars for this meal.

Helpful?
Thank DNAgrrrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlpish, Guest Relations Manager at Imprevist, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us on Trip Advisor. This is important to us as we use all guest feedback to continuously improve to help us always to be the best. I would like to apologize if your experience at Imprevist was not as expected based on other rave reviews on Trip Advisor. I know that had management known they would have rectified the situation immediately if you felt that your meal was a little overdone. I want to assure you that guest satisfaction is always our number one priority. I am, however, happy that you loved the brunch concept and the setting. We offer daily brunch service until 2 pm. I hope that you would be willing to give us another try in the future.

Best Regards,
Shauna Giuliano
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imprevist also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen
 

Been to Imprevist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing