We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast”
Review of Imprevist

Imprevist
Reserve with OpenTable
Imprevist is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 1,326 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Imprevist is a Catalan word which means the “Unexpected“. Dining here is experiencing these wonderful dishes that leaves you surprisingly unexpected everytime. The restaurant is situated in a quaint magical street in the Heart of a Playa del Carmen that will make the night, a night to wish would never end. After several years of experience and learning from European chefs; Chef Juan Diego Solombrino is well known for his incredible combination of Mediterranean and Asian inspired cuisine. Preparing dishes of unique flavor, creating art with in each presentation. He personally hand select the products focusing on the menu to provide a wide variety so that everyone can enjoy their meal, from vegetarian options to oriental, excellent seabass or steak ending with the delight of a chocolate fondant berry sorbet. “Cooking is an art, and for me it is the only art that stimulates all senses. The moment when you take your first bite, all your senses comes together to experience a delightful aroma, flavor and textures of food” - Chef Juan Diego Solombrino.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

The breakfast is well worth having. More than enough to fill anyone up. Service was always excellent. We ate there about 5 times and was never disappointed. My favorite was the pancakes. My husband liked the omelets. Every breakfast comes with juice, pastry basket, fruit plate with yogurt, granola, and honey, plus your entrée.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Denise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

741 - 745 of 1,350 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2013

We ate at Imprevist four times during our two-week stay: twice for dinner, once for breakfast and once for brunch. Of the four of us, we ordered a mix between the fusion and "regular" menus for dinner and were all very impressed. My stepmother particularly loved the Asian noodles with shrimp (she wanted to lick the bowl!) The service is very good, attentive without being intrusive. All in all, a lovely little spot and I'd definitely recommend!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank erinvickers71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlpish, Public Relations Manager at Imprevist, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for bring your whole family to dine with us. We are very delighted to hear that you all enjoyed our dishes. We hope to see you again soon on your next visit!

Best,
Roz Macagba
PR/Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My girlfriend and I are returning guests to imprevist for the 2nd year in a row. We have tried a few different things having been there for breakfast, lunch and dinner. This is a small quaint atmosphere with friendly staff. We have enjoyed the chicken enchiladas, moletta this year so far and of course as usual they start you with a fresh bread basket and fruit and yogurt with all the toppings. Last year we tried for breakfast chilliquiles, omelets, ranchero eggs. For dinners we have tried the lamb, filet both delicious.... We have yet to order anything we have not fully enjoyed and finished all of. We highly recommend this restaurant!!!!! :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MikeTravelAlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlpish, Public Relations Manager at Imprevist, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for being our loyal customer. We are happy to hear that you always enjoy our dishes every time you are visiting in Playa del Carmen. We hope to see you again soon!

Best,
Roz Macagba
PR/Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We had planned to have an anniversary dinner at O Lala, but couldn't get a table. The owner referred us to Imprevist. We ordered only from the regular (non-fusion) menu. These menu items themselves were not adventurous, but were all perfectly prepared. My osso bucco could be the best I have ever eaten. My spouse says that the margarita was the best she ever had. You will want to sit outside on one of the 5 or so tables on the sidewalk. The street is quiet and attractive in the evening - just a real nice place to be. Service is attentive, more friendly than polished. All in all, a fabulous meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Biwayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlpish, Public Relations Manager at Imprevist, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for trying our restaurant. We are delighted to hear that you had a great experience. We hope to seed you again soon!

Best,
Roz Macagba
PR/Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We had dinner at the Imprevist in November. Great quality entree selections priced $15- $19. Service was above average.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlpish, Public Relations Manager at Imprevist, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for choosing to dine with us during your vacation in Playa del Carmen! We will continue to serve good quality of food and provide the best service. Thank You!


Best,
Roz Macagba
PR/Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imprevist also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Imprevist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing