We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and very cosy atmosphere”
Review of Imprevist

Imprevist
Reserve with OpenTable
Imprevist is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 1,305 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Imprevist is a Catalan word which means the “Unexpected“. Dining here is experiencing these wonderful dishes that leaves you surprisingly unexpected everytime. The restaurant is situated in a quaint magical street in the Heart of a Playa del Carmen that will make the night, a night to wish would never end. After several years of experience and learning from European chefs; Chef Juan Diego Solombrino is well known for his incredible combination of Mediterranean and Asian inspired cuisine. Preparing dishes of unique flavor, creating art with in each presentation. He personally hand select the products focusing on the menu to provide a wide variety so that everyone can enjoy their meal, from vegetarian options to oriental, excellent seabass or steak ending with the delight of a chocolate fondant berry sorbet. “Cooking is an art, and for me it is the only art that stimulates all senses. The moment when you take your first bite, all your senses comes together to experience a delightful aroma, flavor and textures of food” - Chef Juan Diego Solombrino.
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

A really great restaurant, one of the very beat in Carmen. It has an excellent menu and the quality of the food is just brilliant. Not really Mexican food, but if you want something out of the ordinary this is defenitely worth a visit. Highly recommendable and good value too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlpish, Public Relations Manager at Imprevist, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing us over 601 restaurants in Playa del Carmen. We are glad to hear that you were satisfied in our International Menus. During Breakfast and Brunch, we do serve some touches of Mexican dishes and we are also the only restaurant in Playa that is open 7days a week. We also offer Vegetarian options and Food tastings, for those who are looking for that.

We hope to see you again soon on your next visit. Thank you again!

Best,
Roz
PR/Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,319)
There are newer reviews for Imprevist
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

772 - 776 of 1,319 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

I had a lovely meal here, at a romantic little candlelit table for two on the terrasse (alone unfortunately but lovely nonetheless!).

I had red curry with fish, a glass of white wine and a fondant au chocolat. It was all delicious and the service very good.

It's off the beaten track on the quieter 1st avenue, opposite a rather chic and pretty candle shop, so you feel miles away from the mariachi bands on 5th avenue.

I'd actually tried to go to Ohlala and it was fully booked, but the chap recommended this place and I was not disappointed.

I'd definitely go back if I returned to Playa, as there were plenty of other tempting options on the menu.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Thisnamecantbetaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlpish, Public Relations Manager at Imprevist, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for dining with us while on your holiday in Playa. We are delighted to hear that you had an amazing experience with us. This is important to the owner and the staffs who constantly works very hard to give the best service and serve the best meals in town. One of the greatest amenities dining with us, is the quiet street of 1st Avenida. This is a place for you, if you are looking for something different away from the buzzling 5th Avenida.

We hope to share us to your friends, family and hope to see you again soon. Thank you!

Best,
Roz
PR/Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This place has great food & service. The atmosphere is small & inviting. Lots of choices on the menu so we all selected something different & every dish was wonderful. The tuna tartare with citrus foam is amazing. Top quality. We will be back.

1  Thank Teresa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Located just parallel to 5th avenue near to Gran Porto Real. The food here was superb with very good service a bit pricey especially the wine but well worth it. Would thoroughly recommend a visit to anyone staying in Playa Del Carmen.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LTM41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stumbled on Imprevist and thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. Service was very friendly yet professional.Guatemalan chef-owner did saints in London and .HK before opening in PDC a few years ago. MENU REFLECTS HIS WORLDLY EXPERIENCE IN THE KITCHEN. STARTED WITH DUCK FILLED WANTON, then we moved on to the salmon roulad e, and lobster risotto. Dessert was chefs twist on sticky coffee pudding. Nice affordable Chilean Sauvignon blanc . Dinner was$100 with wine,tax,tip. Seats only 24 in a very romantic atmosphere which makes reservations a must. Also open for breakfast/brunch at very affordable price

Thank Sweetwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlpish, Public Relations Manager at Imprevist, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Guests!

Thank you for stopping by and coming in to try our food here at Imprevist. We are glad to hear that your experience was excellent. The staffs at Imprevist are very hard working and wants to provide the best of everything. We are the only restaurant in Playa that serves Breakfast/Brunch 7 days a week.

We hope to see you again on your next visit. Thank you!

Best,
Roz
PR/Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imprevist also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Imprevist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing