We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best meal in Playa del Carmen!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Imprevist

Imprevist
Reserve with OpenTable
Imprevist is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 1,234 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Imprevist is a Catalan word which means the “Unexpected“. Dining here is experiencing these wonderful dishes that leaves you surprisingly unexpected everytime. The restaurant is situated in a quaint magical street in the Heart of a Playa del Carmen that will make the night, a night to wish would never end. After several years of experience and learning from European chefs; Chef Juan Diego Solombrino is well known for his incredible combination of Mediterranean and Asian inspired cuisine. Preparing dishes of unique flavor, creating art with in each presentation. He personally hand select the products focusing on the menu to provide a wide variety so that everyone can enjoy their meal, from vegetarian options to oriental, excellent seabass or steak ending with the delight of a chocolate fondant berry sorbet. “Cooking is an art, and for me it is the only art that stimulates all senses. The moment when you take your first bite, all your senses comes together to experience a delightful aroma, flavor and textures of food” - Chef Juan Diego Solombrino.
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best meal in Playa del Carmen!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Decided to try this out after reading reviews on trip advisor and was not disappointed! We sat outside on a pleasant evening, the singer and guitarist were wonderful, the service was top notch and the food.... 100% the best meal in Playa del Carmen (I would say better than oh la la).

So so impressed with the Thai salad and the Duck with figs and vanilla mash... I would recommend this place to everybody.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shaleeny83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    960
    207
    42
    21
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food, excellent service, value for money!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We ate here for our 1 year wedding anniversary. We had delicious starters: cous cous and dumplings which were delicious. The mains were even better with steak with peppercorn sauce and a lobster pasta and to finish we had the best chocolate fondant we have ever tried! Companied with outstanding wines and mojitos, this was a meal we will always remember. We even went back the next day for breakfast which was outstanding, and look forward to returning for another dinner. A must on a visit to playa!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimmod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Perfect holiday meal!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

As the outside tables were all taken the hostess placed us at lovely booth inside but graciously came back after we'd ordered to tell us a table was available outside, the waiters took our drinks and we were seated at a table by a quiet cobbled street, a soulful jazz duet playing across the road from us and beautiful lighting!

The waitress was brilliant...knowledgable about the menu and helpful! The food was flavourful, excellently presented and we cleaned our plates!

Enjoyed the food here a tad more than #1 Oh la la- Lovely!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vimtowasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breakfast was wonderful”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

All week long we tried like 4 other locations for breakfast but none compared with IMPREVIST. Will continue to have breakfast for the next 2 mornings before we leave back home.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We went twice there, the restaurant is in perfect location with very cute tables outside on a more of a quiet street, at 9 a beautiful singer starts to sing across the little road. Food was amazing, service is good, wine selection was up to our wine loving standards, it's definitely was one of the best restaurants we've been to of our trip to Cancun and Playa. We liked it so much we even booked it for NYE and it sure was a great choice, there was a set dinner of 7 (or even more) courses, and exactly at midnight the singer started to sing some JLo and people together with restaurant staff just started to dance on the street. Quite a special experience! Maybe it's on a more expensive side, but definitely worth the money

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank sashak87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imprevist also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen
 

Been to Imprevist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing